Water As Magic

My thanks go out to you who have followed me into the emotional thicket of all that’s come up, over here, from our trip to Replacement Vet.  I’m grateful to you.  You’re easing my progress through the ugly feelings the visit stimulated in me.

I’ve noticed this before; a three-step process.  One:  I fully express what I’m feeling.  Two:  I’m heard, cared-for, as you have heard and cared for me.  Three:  My feelings get more and more space, more relief — more water, is an image.  Then the feeling-seedlings grow, bear fruit, drop to the ground as compost– and I can move on to another season.

So right now I’m feeling worn out, oppressed.  I welcome that connection with emotion.  With care, these feelings move through — and I will wake up on another morning to a refreshed world.

But not this morning.  So I will set aside my intention to write more about the diet issues I have with the vet-visit, until I feel a little more refreshed.  Meanwhile, I look to what else is going on around me, to help sustain me until I feel that refreshment.

This morning I’m contemplating water as magic-maker.

Think of it.  What a miracle.

All this brutal summer, I’ve been pumping water into my moonflowers.  I have three plants, and on particularly hot days I dumped as much as nine gallons on them.

This morning they’re blooming.

They smell like lily-of-the-valley on steroids.

The first thing I noticed in the kitchen was the scent of ripening peaches.

I took this picture, and then I sat down and ate one.  Unwashed, the juice running down my chin, my hand.  Heaven.

I looked at Bugs.  I thought of the water in him.  Thanks to the water in the chickens he eats, thanks to the water I add in the cornmeal-vitamin-mix.  So he gets the water he needs.  Cats have evolved from the desert — they don’t have a sufficient thirst-drive, to compensate if they get dry food only.

I bless water.  I thank the heavens, earth, spirits, for the miracle of water.

Bugs as Man In The Moon.  (In line with the moonflower theme.)

Or, Bugs In A Pie-Crust.  (In line with the peach theme.)

About nadbugs

Anita loves cats. This must be because she, too, has had nine lives. She’s been dancing since she could walk, she was a commercial artist and advertising producer, she earned a third-degree black belt in Aikido, she is a drummer with the Afrique Aya Dance Company, she is an attorney, and she’s a meditator and a devoted student of Nonviolent Communication. She also spent one lifetime sidelined with a devastating back injury in 1992. Since then – FELDENKRAIS METHOD® to the rescue. The FELDENKRAIS METHOD is all about dreaming concretely – thinking intelligently and independently by way of a gracious and kind physicality. The work affords all who study it a process by which to reach, with movement, into the mind and the heart, to make nine lives into one whole being.
This entry was posted in Empathy, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Water As Magic

  1. Marcy Benham says:

    Bugs is peachy!!

  2. typist for JhaJha, the Petite Panther says:

    Ahhh…yummy, yummy peaches! And I don’t know moonflowers but now I love them! I always loved lilies of the valley. And morning glories. Your moonflowers are beautiful! Thank you for sharing!

    Here’s to refreshment!

    We love you two!

  3. lifewith4cats says:

    I got a kick out of the humorous word picture associations. I didnt know moon flowers smelled like that. Maybe I can grow some next year.
    Sorry Im a little late in commenting.

Leave a Reply

