Train Under Own Steam; CopyCat Yakk

This morning Bugs pooped.  A decent, respectable amount.  Not the purple mountains’ majesty we had envisioned – but it’ll do for a start.  I’m thinking of it like a local train.

Take your time, Bugs.  No rush.  As long as some freight gets through.

Yesterday was nuts, though.  The Sharks-Jets rumble you know about.  Then time out.  On which point it seems we have some discussion.

In relegating Fang and not Bugs, I think I had the notion that Base Camp is essentially Fang’s safe house and it might be more comforting for him to recover there.

Some of you thought, though, that the aggressor should be the one locked up.  But I think that if the cats are going to rumble to establish position, they are going to rumble.  So it seems they’re both in it together, and aggressor-nonaggressor negative reinforcement doesn’t really make sense to me.  Isn’t that more human thinking than feline?  I’m just proposing here.

Then there was the afternoon hork that had me in the complete cramp from which I wrote last post.  I had assumed then that Bugs was the horker.  As events developed later, however, in retrospect I am pretty sure it was Fang.

Can’t remember how the evening feed went; I think OK.

Then I was glued to “Downton Abbey.”  This was the final episode and unless this house fell down around my ears, I was in England and I just didn’t care what happened here.

The boys took this as an opportunity to raise hell.  They thundered careening around for at least an hour and I successfully ignored everything.  Then, just as Bates was about to be executed, I heard –

That awful sound.

In Base Camp.  This time I know it was Fang, because – never mind.  Take my word for it.

Is there such a thing as copycat yakking?

Or else it was just excitement.  Or else [cue sound of kicking self; insert self-empathy effort; conclude Bean herself has been stressed beyond ability to bear] my issues with my new food mill meant I, in frustration with it, left some lumps in the sweet-potato-oatmeal base, and Fang may have swallowed these when he shouldn’t have.

In Bean’s further defense I would like to point out to the jury that it was no help whatsoever that the blender chose the moment it did to burn out on me.

Never mind.  No need to dwell on injustice here.

Bates got his reprieve; Lady Mary and Matthew finally got engaged; and I was just too burnt-out to lock Fang back in Base Camp.

So this was the first night we all spent together.

I woke up around 2:00 a.m. to find Bugs in his usual place by my feet – and Fang in my arms.  Like the holy family in the manger.

This morning I separated the boys for feeding time.  Bugs got his stool-softener and Laxatone; both boys got super-gentle food.  Bugs choked most of his down –

And I fed Fang in Base Camp.  And here’s an inspiration I’m proud of (at the moment, and let’s just refrain from taking honor for it until we see whether it actually works) – I did t’ai chi with Fang’s string toy, in Base Camp, and we played gently.  Giving both boys some quiet digestion time, and me some quiet time period (naturally I hadn’t eaten my own breakfast yet, what did you think?) before I opened the door for the games to recommence.

So now I’m going to stand back, see what happens, and simply make my visual restatement by republishing yesterday’s picture.

I’ll say no more, but for this to the boys.  The match has been won on decision.  Bugs is the declared victor.  Now:  PEACE.

Lennon wall in Prague, Czech Republic

Editor’s Note:  Just before publication, we found Laura and Taffy’s comment providing a link for us to study up on feline constipation  When time permits, we plan on absorbing every word and graphic there; this is one of the best sites we’ve ever seen — anywhere, but especially on this most-compelling subject.  Thank you Laura and Taffy!!

About nadbugs

Anita loves cats. This must be because she, too, has had nine lives. She’s been dancing since she could walk, she was a commercial artist and advertising producer, she earned a third-degree black belt in Aikido, she is a drummer with the Afrique Aya Dance Company, she is an attorney, and she’s a meditator and a devoted student of Nonviolent Communication. She also spent one lifetime sidelined with a devastating back injury in 1992. Since then – FELDENKRAIS METHOD® to the rescue. The FELDENKRAIS METHOD is all about dreaming concretely – thinking intelligently and independently by way of a gracious and kind physicality. The work affords all who study it a process by which to reach, with movement, into the mind and the heart, to make nine lives into one whole being.
This entry was posted in Things Cats, Humans Do, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Train Under Own Steam; CopyCat Yakk

  1. Excellent news to start the week!

  2. Dianda says:

    I agree with Layla! :)

    • nadbugs says:

      Oh yeah. [I say it that way because I've just stumbled on a piece of net-trivia for me to get exercised about. I went to write Oh yes again, as we are all singing the same tune -- and WordPress wouldn't let me. "Error, looks like you already said that." FOR PETE'S SAKE. This is carrying the nanny-state way too far!]

  3. CATachresis says:

    Ditto – smiles all round.

    I feel there is a book in this. It could be called something like “The Day the World came to an end (or at least came out of Bugsy’s bum!)” Natty, eh! :))

  4. Purple Mountains Majesty–you have made my morning! Bug’s mountains may be molehills for a bit, considering not much was going in the front end. If they are willing to share you on the bed I declare the integration COMPLETE.

  5. I woke up around 2:00 a.m. to find Bugs in his usual place by my feet – and Fang in my arms.

    Just made our day. We suspect you can pretty much declare the integration process over and successful.

    And POOP besides. A good day amongst the cat people!

  6. Everything sounds good! See, we told you it would be alright in the end. :)

  7. So many good things! So very happy for you!!! Waking up with both cats is a dream of mine, my two still arent there, more’s the pity. That yours are so soon is wonderful. and makes me a little jealous, MOL.
    Cat’s hork. that’s just part of life. Not that I’m saying you shouldnt try to figure it out, just dont panic.
    Things really are doing great, I sure hope you know that!! Everyone is so happy for you!
    I’m sure you were just kidding, so I hope you don’t really think people are reading because they are a jury or want to judge you. We like ya and want things to go well for ya! :)
    Bugsy, you keep on keepin’ on there buddy! Let it all out!

    • nadbugs says:

      Thank you for the “like ya,” Andrea. And as for the jury comment? That’s the jury in my head I was talking to. Plus you get to read only so many transcripts of trials and you turn into one, so that’s another reason. In all the time I’ve been blogging, I have yet to run into a reader whom I thought was judging me. And this is one of the most healing things that ever could happen to me. I can’t tell you how glad I am to have this kind of experience, to balance the other. It’s just so grand. And you are one of those. Grand.

  8. Wazeau says:

    Excellent news on the poop, the sleeping arrangements, the somewhat more relaxed blog entry :P Keep relaxing eating and pooing!

  9. Ivy says:

    Oh my, oh my! I take a short 2-day trip and look at all the great progress that happens in my absence! I’m so very happy for the 3 involved (both boys and bean). Bugs was just like a skilled quarterback in those last seconds in a deciding football game: a touchdown in the last second before the vet’s enema! :P
    I agree with the previous comments, I think you can finally relax and consider the integration done. Now it’s YOUR turn to adapt to a new life with 2 cats! Oh Happy day, indeed.

  10. Oldcat says:

    I agree that the less you think of separating the two as punishment for one or the other rather than just relief for all three the better off you will be. Fang’s room should be a refuge, not a jail.

    All three of mine have places that they frequent when they want to ‘get away’ from things, and I help them keep those places free of trouble.

  11. My Mommeh says that feline constipation site has a lot of great information. Since Harley and I eat a raw-food diet, our poopers tend to be small and firm, sort of like olives!

    • nadbugs says:

      Excellent to hear. Raw-food seems so smart to me — we’re not back to it yet, because I want to give both boys’s guts some more recovery time — but I look forward to the day when we can resume. Cheers Daisy Curly Cat!

  12. Laura and Taffy says:

    What a great day!!! So happy for you all. We humans alway want to DO something; when sometimes it’s better to just Let It Be.

  13. Sounds like good news. Introductions are strange things – and I think much harder on most people than on most cats. My theory still remains that if there is no bloodshed, it isn’t that bad. But, then again, I have introduced more cats and kittens into this house than I can count….maybe I just tune it out anymore. :) My only rule is the the little ones can’t be totally beat up – that I will break up – and no beating on the old man cat (17 yrs old). Otherwise, work it out. And it sounds like things are well on their way!!

  14. I’m so excited for you all! You’ve done a fantastic job of introducing Bugs & Fangie, and the fact that they feel comfy enough to sleep on the same bed is a great sign that they’re feeling OK about the whole thing. Yay!!

    I agree that removing one cat from a brawl shouldn’t be thought of as punishment – cats just don’t think that way. When Kitty & I fight, our human breaks us up so Kitty doesn’t get hurt and so there isn’t a clear victor with Kitty losing even more status…

    You’re doing a great job, Bean. Keep up the good work. And don’t fret too much about the puking. Sometimes cats just do that. And about your food grinder – we have teeth and are perfectly able to chew. So don’t beat yourself up over some lumps!

  15. nadbugs says:

    Thank you, mckmf. As ever, I so enjoy our connection.

  16. IsobelandCat says:

    Are you using Feliway or any other stress reducing stuff?
    . You can put Rescue Remedy in water.
    Feliway worked a treat for Cat, but not Not Cat. I have just bought some Serene-UM for the next car trips.
    All the best.

  17. Feliway is great stuff, I have diffusers running 24/7 around here, and the cats let me know when they are running out.

    I think you’ve hit on an excellent idea of separation and quite times post meals, I do the same with my cats (except the kitten, she goes ballistic if I don’t let her out the moment she is done inhaling food) and it cut down on resource guarding fighting as well as stress puking.

    All cats should have a safe zone, Fang gets Base Camp, Bugs gets everywhere else. I never had luck with the lock up the aggressor idea, it just made him more agitated when he came back out and escalated the problem. Once he realized I was protecting the other beast (the dog) and I still loved him things started to get better for us.

  18. nadbugs says:

    “I still loved him” seems really key. See my later post about what my friend Kim said. Glad to hear Feliway helps you and yours. Whatever works, I say!

Leave a Reply

