A Thousand Words

I have a picture for you that I think you will agree is worth a thousand words.   More than that, if we’re talking my words.

When I showed Teresa this picture, she advised I should just post it and no more need be said.

I think she was making the point that I should post immediately and not let this enormous (nonincome-generating) monster theatrical enterprise I’m helping produce stand in my way.  Teresa reckoned without, however, that it is moi, The Bean, about whom we speak.

Not too long ago, I looked up this word:  Loggorhea.  It describes one of my several, nay, numerous afflictions.  It does sound like a social disease, doesn’t it.  It is pretty much an anti-social condition, I must admit.

So there’s just no chance I’m going to post this picture without lots and lots of words.  I intend to stay up late if I have to.

In fact, I want to gin up quite a few words that will be completely unnecessary and immaterial and redundant.  Just to delay the reveal.  Because this moment is so delicious, it should be savored.  You should not be given this moment free gratis and for nothing.  See? Five words, where one would do.  I should be paid by the word.  You should have to work for this moment.

And also the picture is not as good as it could have been.  Because every cat-person alive who tries to take a picture of a cat knows:  You got to be mighty quick on the draw.  And if it’s one thing us loggoreehicks are not, drunk or otherwise, it’s quick on the draw.  It’s a left-brain-type affliction, you see.

OK, OK.  I’ll set the stage.

Despite the harmony conveyed in last post’s picture, the Long Bed in the bedroom is frequently the scene of sharp disagreement between the boys.  Never mind that I foresaw this problem.  Back when I sprung Fang from Base Camp, I bought him his very own New Short Bed.  And I velcro’d it down right next to Long Bed.  I pictured my two boys slumbering side-by-side in peaceful amity and harmony.

[snort]  I can hear you Cat-People experts making that noise, so why don’t I just join in.

Never mind that New Short Bed is the self-same model as Old Short Bed that both boys thoroughly enjoy in Top Shelf.  (See Bugs modelling Old Short Bed in Top Shelf – scroll down past the words to the end, of course – here.)  Irrelevant.  Immaterial.  Because why, you ask?  Because New Short Bed is in a different place.  It’s in the bedroom.  Not Top Shelf.  So of course not one boy will set paw in New Short Bed.  No, not one single claw of either cat shall venture forth into New Short Bed, no, not ever.

Reminds me of what happened when I bought Bugs his first Long Bed – the one that’s now the bone of contention.

Anyway.  Where was I.

Right.  Teresa.  So in today’s Tellington session, Teresa worked on persuading bribing both boys into New Short Bed.  And it really did look like the first Long Bed incident, there for a while.  Not for long, though.  Where treats are involved.  Bugs Mr. Treat-Monster was first on the draw.

Fangie followed suit.  I like how the light in this one makes the quest look almost devotional.

Here’s Teresa’s hand, making the point.

And so on.  It didn’t take long at all before Bugs collapsed in exhaustion at my feet on the bed, and Fangie placed his hiney, willingly, where we were trying to get it to go, i.e., into New Short Bed.  Unfortunately the Bean dropped the ball on the photographic record, so you have to take my words for it.  Yet again.

Anyway.

Teresa is convinced that Fangie is one sharp cookie.  She’s sure he figured out what she was asking of him lickety-split.  I too am also convinced that behind that goofy “what-me-worry” sidekick-type thing he’d have me believe is the real him, Fangie is one sharp cookie.  So Teresa and I agree on that, as we do on so many other things.

Anyway.  Where was I.

Oh yes.  More words.

So Teresa and I left the boys sacked out – Bugs on the bed where my feet had been and Fang in the Long Bed, what the hay, he worked for the privilege.  Much like you’re having to work to get to the picture, come to think of it.  Anyway.

We stood by the outside door, Teresa and I did, and we had quite a thrilling and exciting conversation.  Might you enjoy having a transcript of this conversation, before seeing this picture I keep going on about?  I thought not.

Anyway, so Teresa and I finally concluded our thrilling and exciting conversation and I walked her out the door, on account of how it was just a spectacular day and I wanted some fresh air.  So we looked in the window for Fangie in Long Bed, and he wasn’t there, and so we figured he’d had his little cat nap and had bounced up and I don’t know, probably jumped onto the play mat for yet another rousing four hours of Shoelace of Eternal Delight. I said ‘bye to Teresa and went back inside, and – no Fangie.

So I tiptoed into the bedroom.  Thereupon I became so excited by what I saw, I did not grab my camera like any intelligent blogger would do in my place – no, I dashed back outside to catch Teresa before she pulled away, so I could tell her – remember, I must have words – what I had seen.  And then I dashed back inside and tiptoed back into the bedroom and deliberately did not look at what I had been so excited about, no, very calmly and coolly I reached across for my camera and I did manage to snap off a quick one before Fangie ruined the moment by jumping up and trotting over to the play mat for, oh I don’t know, another rousing four hours of Shoelace of Eternal Delight.

What I saw at first was much better than the picture I did end up taking.  I saw:  The two boys, asleep in each others’ arms.

I must take a break in which I now hyperventilate.

Better now.  Oh.  Are you still here?  Are you ready now?  To see the inferior picture, because it’s less good, and not as excellent?  Because Fangie woke up and spoiled the precious vibe, with his “yuk yuk what’s for dinner” act?

OK.  Here it is.  Stand back.  Regard, in silence.  Use your imagination.  Try to see what I first saw.  And not this inferior less-good not-as-excellent thing:

About nadbugs

Anita loves cats. This must be because she, too, has had nine lives. She’s been dancing since she could walk, she was a commercial artist and advertising producer, she earned a third-degree black belt in Aikido, she is a drummer with the Afrique Aya Dance Company, she is an attorney, and she’s a meditator and a devoted student of Nonviolent Communication. She also spent one lifetime sidelined with a devastating back injury in 1992. Since then – FELDENKRAIS METHOD® to the rescue. The FELDENKRAIS METHOD is all about dreaming concretely – thinking intelligently and independently by way of a gracious and kind physicality. The work affords all who study it a process by which to reach, with movement, into the mind and the heart, to make nine lives into one whole being.
This entry was posted in Tellington Touch, TTouch, Things Cats, Humans Do and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to A Thousand Words

  1. lahgitana says:

    awwwwww! is that a down comforter they have commandeered?! >:-D

  2. Ivy says:

    Oh, the picture is excellent enough for me! It did say the thousand words and your many words were appreciated too. Isn’t the tiptoeing thing similar to a cool and exciting game? I have so much fun trying to get 1,000-word-shots like that. Good job with the short bed endeavor!

    • nadbugs says:

      Thank you! We’re persevering. This morning I got both of them set up the way I wanted them: Bugs in Long Bed and Fang in Short. That lasted approximately 1.5 minutes. Both boys then jumped up and left the room. For somewhere else, anywhere, just as long as it was not where I wanted them to be. Cats.

  3. Ok, I’m not doing a lot of commenting today because I’m way too loopy from pain meds… but I had to here! YAY!! how cute! awesomeness! I love your boys!
    Ok, I’m gonna check my spelling and words about a dozen times then post this..

    • nadbugs says:

      You did great, Andrea. This is a skill worth practicing. Being as coherent as you are while ripped on meds. No-one need know. You’re doing great.

  4. Humans THINK they outsmart us by bribing us with treats, but we’re actually training YOU to give us treats for doing things we were gonna do ANYWAY! heh heh heh

  5. CATachresis says:

    Blimey! First of all there are Loggorhea Anonymous groups you know! Trouble is, the sessions tend to last for years!!

    Happily, before I lost the will to live, I made it to the end and squeeeeeed, Oh yes I did. I saw it!!!

    You do make me laugh :D

  6. Dianda says:

    AAAAAW! That is adorable! My cats never/barely sleep like that!
    And hey, the word ‘Gratis!’. ;)

  7. You realize they’ve been doing that from day one. Your witnessing was a horrible oversight on their part.

  8. Wazeau says:

    I kinda liked all the words, I think they go hand in hand with the pictures to makes your blog as wonderful as it is. And Katnip knows of what she speaks :P

  9. Yay!!! The boys seem to be REALLY doing well together.

    And I’m rather fond of your words, so write on! I do not mind the loggorhea in the slightest!

  10. kimmo says:

    Those two boy kitties sure do love each other!! I too agree with catnip- this is not their first snuggle.
    LOVE the words Adore the words.Your photos and your words are like ice-cream and cake.

  11. kimmo,spiveroo,stewie and smeezer(our real names have been changed to protect the guilty) says:

    Decided since we are being wordy that I would change my name (or at least add to it) so I can have a kool name like the rest of your dear bloggers.

    • nadbugs says:

      And of course, your comment went straight into the WordPress file marked “dangerous spam do not open call in the bomb squad.” Sorry WP. I knew this was not spam! I opened it! And lived to tell the tale tail.

  12. Anne D says:

    On logorrhea–Boudreaux had died and his wife went to the newspaper to place the obituary. she asked how the paper charged and was told that it charged by the word. so she decided that the obit would only say “Boudreaux died” . The clerk told her that that seemed a bit abrupt and wouldn’t she like to add more. She sighed and said , “OK, put this in the paper ‘Boudreaux died, boat for sale’ “.

  13. nadbugs says:

    WHOOT. Hilarious.

  14. littlemiao says:

    Awww. *melts* wow.

Leave a Reply

