The Next Day

Just a note, dear blog-friends, to say Fang has eaten two meals since last post.  He’s speaking to me again and he seems more chipper.  He and Bugs played a little together this morning.  His eye’s still weeping, and his nose is still crusty — but he’s better in those other so-important ways.

But he seems so delicate, changing so much over such a short time.  I really wonder about this.  And, wondering, I just picked up the phone and Kim was on the other end.  Talking with her now has helped me see what some of you, too, suggested — Fangie’s history has left him with a vulnerability that needs some fundamental support.  The allopathic approach  doesn’t seem to be providing it.

And the Vetericyn might be an important topical assist, but there’s still the missing fundamental element.   Kim swears by homeopathy.  And she knows I’m not up to tackling the thing by myself, book in hand and worrying myself to death.  So here’s a friend:  Kim is giving me a consult with a homeopathic vet as a gift.

Big sigh.  Friends.  Co-parents.

I was so distressed yesterday.  I tried to walk it off in a really special park at the south end of town — tall tall oak trees, bluffs and caves and huge boulders, what I’d hoped would be a cool watery glen.  No dice.  The trail’s deteriorated and been left to grow over, I had to climb over and around and through deadfalls all over the place, and absolutely no no no water to be had anywhere.

But I did come across some wild blackberries.  And there was one, utterly perfectly ripe, sun-warmed.  A symphony in the mouth.  I took it as a sign, a gift, a remembrance.

And when I got home, Bugs was asleep in Top Shelf and Fang was asleep in Bottom Shelf, and all seemed better.  And I read your responses to last post.  And now Kim.  I’m touched beyond measure at all the care that poured in.

Huge thanks to you all.

About nadbugs

Anita loves cats. This must be because she, too, has had nine lives. She’s been dancing since she could walk, she was a commercial artist and advertising producer, she earned a third-degree black belt in Aikido, she is a drummer with the Afrique Aya Dance Company, she is an attorney, and she’s a meditator and a devoted student of Nonviolent Communication. She also spent one lifetime sidelined with a devastating back injury in 1992. Since then – FELDENKRAIS METHOD® to the rescue. The FELDENKRAIS METHOD is all about dreaming concretely – thinking intelligently and independently by way of a gracious and kind physicality. The work affords all who study it a process by which to reach, with movement, into the mind and the heart, to make nine lives into one whole being.
This entry was posted in Kindness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to The Next Day

  1. Ivy says:

    Yay!!! I’m so relieved and happy to know Fangs is getting a little better! I knew he’d get better. Homeopathy is a fantastic source of prevention. Go for it!
    And that blackberry looks really yummy… :-D

  2. lahgitana says:

    yaaaaay! I will like to hear your Adventures with Homeopathy, Bean. Sounds just the ticket for “our” SirFangsALot!

    • nadbugs says:

      I’m seeing SirFangsALot, fixing the tip on his lance and flipping his helmet-visor down. You’d think we’d have had enough with the adventures. But — life is an adventure, right?

      As to that last question — all who are so cynical as not to believe me when I say I really mean that, when I say I didn’t get it off a bumper-sticker or an embroidered wall-hanging or anything like that, it is absolutely positively 100% sincere and original to me — please keep the hooting down to a dull roar.

      What’s that? I can’t hear you.

  3. I’m glad he’s doing better! I dont know if I said it before.. but I wonder if he’s going to have a change in season thing. Star gets a rash at ever spring and fall, she also gets sneezy and some eye issues when the air conditioner starts full time and when it goes off full time. She’s just sensitive to seasons/change. I wonder if with Fang’s start, he might not be feeling the season change too. if it is, homeopathy is certainly a good idea. Build up the little guy. Big guy. Medium sized guy? :)
    Sounds like he’s on the mend, I hope he’s all back to normal before a day or two more!

  4. MTVA says:

    Wonderful to hear the bit of good news about Fang, and I hope he continues to improve. How is Bugs thru all this, does he stay away from Fang and not roughhouse so much? I hope you find a nice place for another healing walk, it always makes me feel better to be around water, something like a babbling brook or river, especially if mountains are near…

    • nadbugs says:

      Thank you for your good wishes, MTVA. And so nice you thought to ask about Bugsie. He is, if anything, even more bolshie than before. He fetched Fang a really good whap across the crown this evening. Course it was prompted by Fangie air-biting Bugs’s ear, for no good reason. Sigh. Boys. Haven’t tried another walk. Too hot today. Water!

  5. minlit says:

    Always here. Always there.

  6. Dianda says:

    I’m happy to read Fang has eaten some already! That’s good news!

  7. Glad to know Fang is doing better!
    Purrs and cuddles to all of you!

  8. Wazeau says:

    So glad to hear Fang is eating and feeling better. Good to see you are remembering to take care of yourself while you take care of your cats – very important.

  9. MelanieJ says:

    Oh, that is what I get for not checking blogs! I’m glad to hear that Fangie is doing better. I know very little about homeopathic remedies, so I will be very interested to hear your reports. I know that it’s so hard to see our babies sick – I’m sure that it is a huge relief to see the little guy eating again.

  10. Anne D says:

    A vet tech told me that when a cat cannot smell its food, it will not eat. So some of Fangie’s refusal might have been due to the nasal swelling as well as the antibiotics making the gut sore.

    • nadbugs says:

      Extremely interesting, Anne D. I’m most grateful for the reminder. I feel somewhat obtuse, actually. I mean, here’s the obvious math: Cats are acute sniffers + Fangie is having sniffer troubles = Think of all the ramifications! Including eating, as you so astutely pointed out! Excellent!

  11. CATachresis says:

    Oh we do worry! We can’t help it!!! Hoping the next post will say Fang is using his fangs again (I saw the comment lol) Anyway so glad he is on the mend :)

    A symphony of blackberry :) Lovely!

    • nadbugs says:

      Oh your worry is companionship, CAT, thank you for it. Thank you for everything, all your presence here. Must drop by yours and see what’s what.

  12. We’re so glad Fang is doing better. We hope the homeopathic vet helps.

  13. IsobelandCat says:

    What an emotional roller coaster. i do hope the vet is right about him growing out of it. It does rather sound as though this is the residue of earlier health problems. I shall keep my fingers crossed that now he is receiving good care from you things will gradually settle down and sort themselves out.

Leave a Reply

