Getting Down

Not in a good way.  In the way Jackson Galaxy talks about in his new book Cat Daddy.  “Getting down” as in being driven to one’s knees.  That kind of down.

I’m borne up, though, by Jackson’s attitude – and also Brené Brown’s – that being driven to one’s knees can be a salutary experience.  For that, it seems necessary to salute the following realities:  I do not have all the answers, I do not have even a few of them.  And, if I should yield to past pattern and practice, and try to stay cool and unaffected in all this mess – and keep myself to myself – I will end up really down.

So I am devoutly happy to report that I have “given out” about this, as I believe the Irish say about being affected and self-expressing to others about it — and I am not alone.  I’m not on my ass.  Just on my knees.  As of yet.

I’m not alone thanks to Kim, who has paid for a long-distance consult with a homeopathic vet for Fang’s upper respiratory issues.  The vet thinks Fang has herpes, a condition Fang picked up before I got him and which is apparently now chronic. The vet said it isn’t so bad; we can control it with the homeopathic remedies. Yesterday was the first day I administered same.  Part in Fang’s mouth, most all over the play mat.

Is he better today?  Maybe?  Kim warns that with homeopathy, sometimes things get worse before they get better.

And there’s the computer crisis.  A computer virus infection has gobbled up $320.00, and four days of my life, so far.  My laptop is apparently beyond hope; my ancient desktop is unbearably slow.

As this miserable progress has unfolded – it has taken from Thursday to Sunday, with repercussions still percussing as I write – Bugs began throwing up.  At first I persuaded him to hold down minute amounts of watered chicken baby-food and slippery elm powder.  By today he’s eaten two half-portions of a new cooked-chicken diet . . . and we’ll see.

And with all this, I’m having to shift over to a new photo program on this ancient desktop – which means a whole new learning curve and probably finally tackling Picasa, which I’ve been resisting precisely because I don’t want to strain my poor brain with it.  Now I must; the Windows program on this old machine just won’t cut it.

But as I said, I’m not alone.  A dear friend referred me to an independent computer person, who has helped me save almost all my back files.  So here I’m able to post the last few pictures I edited on my now-defunct laptop.

And yet another dear friend has provided a money gift to sustain me over this frightening dead-zone of no reliable income – so I can pay for food etc., and computer repair, as I continue to dig for more employment.

I’m not alone.  And I’m still able to share cat-pictures with you.

So as long as both are true, “down” is merely relative.

Here’s Bugs looking positively winsome, after a session with the nip.

And here’s Fang, also winsome despite health glitches.

And here’s what’s starting to crop up in the farmer’s markets round here:

Life Is A Peach.

I still feel that way.  Thanks to dearest friends who’ve got my back, thanks to you dear readers – and as ever, thanks to The Cats.  And let us pray that Bugs’s immune system is healthy and strong enough to permit this next close association, and still stay good — looks like Bugs may have his doubts:

About nadbugs

Anita loves cats. This must be because she, too, has had nine lives. She’s been dancing since she could walk, she was a commercial artist and advertising producer, she earned a third-degree black belt in Aikido, she is a drummer with the Afrique Aya Dance Company, she is an attorney, and she’s a meditator and a devoted student of Nonviolent Communication. She also spent one lifetime sidelined with a devastating back injury in 1992. Since then – FELDENKRAIS METHOD® to the rescue. The FELDENKRAIS METHOD is all about dreaming concretely – thinking intelligently and independently by way of a gracious and kind physicality. The work affords all who study it a process by which to reach, with movement, into the mind and the heart, to make nine lives into one whole being.
This entry was posted in Philosophy-Psychology, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Getting Down

  1. lahgitana says:

    Aw, gee, Bean. That’s WAY too much at one time. Just give it out if you land on your bum, girl. Besides, if you’re on your knees or bum, you are missing the higher-level projectiles, which is helpful.

    You know that I was forced to live only the basics and that has been a lesson in itself. But forget lessons here, and know that it is a good thing to duck sometimes. You are in my thoughts and so are your fuzzy friends who are tangled up and blue.

    • nadbugs says:

      Totally smiling at the “head-down” point you make, Lahgitana. I’m digging the foxhole as we speak. Although I did start to feel like the mole in Whack-a-Mole, there for a while . .

      • lahgitana says:

        oh I HATE that feeling whacked every time you just try to be! (I would have commented much sooner, but WP has given up on notifications. Sigh…. Had to come searching for you!)

        And, just because laughter is usually hard to come by in these times, try this:
        –walk through your house any direction.
        –at some random moment, vociferously exclaim “Duck!”
        –then say: “quack, quack, quack!”

        Guaran-damn-teed to quack you up for a few seconds. And make those cats wonder… !

  2. Awww…big hugs for all of you. Extra love and peace for y’all. Oy.
    We’ve been crawling through it over here, too. Fleas, mites, not sure what else. So you’ve got our understanding. And you have so many folks who love you. You are so amazing and easy to love, Bean. Just like those fuzzzzy li’l fellows who adopted you. May all that love surrounding you help to ease those scraped-up knees a bit.

    • nadbugs says:

      You have to wonder what The Plan was regarding fleas and mites. Also ticks, which this season we have in joyful abundance round these parts. The Deity was having an off-day, must have been. Dear typist — may we all weather these trials together. You are salve to the wounded knees.

  3. Anne D says:

    My daughter’s cat has Herpes. she keeps it under control with Lysine

  4. Oh hugs hugs hugs! What a whole bunch of problems all at once!
    Those two look so sweet when they cuddle! We’re purring and praying that Fang gets feeling better really fast and that Healthy Bugs stays healthy!

    • nadbugs says:

      Thank you, Andrea. So glad to have your company, through these tough times. So far Bugs is well and Fang seems vigorous despite the thing. Paws crossed for continued improvement.

  5. CATachresis says:

    You don’t need to knead your knees, your knees need to be unkneaded!

    All is relative. Don’t look down!! xox

    PS Love the pics, especially the last one >^oo^<

  6. Sending you lot and LOTS of purrs that you get the perfect job soon, and that things start to look up for you. *RUMBLEPURR*

  7. Dianda says:

    Oh man, sounds like you’re having a tough time. And $320.00?! Holy cow, wow. I’m so sorry. :(
    I hope both Fang and Bugs will be feeling better soon, so you won’t have to worry much about them. I’ll be sending healthy and happy thoughts your way!

    Also, have you read Galaxy’s books yet?

    • nadbugs says:

      Dianda, thank you for your kind and healing thoughts. They do seem to working. I did read Jackson’s book — has he written more than one?

      • Dianda says:

        That’s good! I hope everything turns out well for you. (and fangs and bugs ofcourse!)

        Well, his new book. I can’t think of the title actually.
        I’ve been dying to buy it, and I’m sure it’s a good book. I just couldn’t find any good reviews, haha.

  8. MTVA says:

    And how about yourself – are you looking winsome, too? After such a heap of problems hitting you all at once, probably wistful might be today’s look – wistful for some of the good old days. Be winsome, and not wistful, because you have all of us who deeply care about you and the furry boys. Purrrrs and purrayers for things to get better. And enjoy those luscious peaches!

    • nadbugs says:

      Ha ha, MTVA, me winsome? Hmmm. Not an adjective I’d use . . . but my self-image has always been something of a problem. Those good old days — if I could only have known how good they were at the time they were happening! Peaches definitely help the process, though. Hope you have one too. Or more than one.

  9. FeyGirl says:

    ♥♥♥ to you and your little ones… I’ve been there (still am? who knows?), and as hokey as it sounds, keep the faith. you’re definitely surrounded by much love, as are your babies — adorableness. sending lots and lots of good vibes your way!!

  10. Pingback: Slippery Elm | Landscaping - Gardening

  11. Ivy says:

    Oh, boy, it seems like it all happens at once, huh? I’ve had a couple of tough days myself down here. Doing my best to keep the positive focus. That’s why I’m so late to tell you that I’m sending you the best of vibes for quick improvement in all departments! Keeps us posted, will you? Much love!

    • nadbugs says:

      Oh Ivy, doggone it, why doesn’t the world just line up straight for the people I love? Thank you for the vibes. I return them at you with interest (all kinds). Still working on little Fang’s condition, plus some job activity hooray (your vibes are working), so a little short on the update at the moment. But I’ll write news as soon as I have it. Take good care, hear?

  12. starlight says:

    bugs and fang, you are so adorable..

  13. Melanie says:

    Sometimes I do have to wonder about the timing of everything, and why everything has to dump on one person all at the same time… I’m sorry to hear that you’re going through it right now. I don’t know if it helps, but we’ve all been there, and probably will be again in the future.

    I hope that you are able to get Fangie’s health under control quickly. I saw one of the comments mention Lysine, and I know that I’ve also heard of that as a treatment for herpes – which I have ALSO heard is pretty common amongst cats that are out on the street on their own. (Which I think is what Fang was rescued from?) I know that we were giving Romeo lysine for the red goop he always got in his eyes – you can buy it in powdered form from Doctors Foster and Smith, on their website. You just sprinkle it on their food, and Romeo, anyway, loved it.

    Hang in there. We’re all pulling for you!

    • nadbugs says:

      Dear Melanie, never rains but it pours, it seems. I know you’ve been through it too, and that helps so much, to know that. It’s life, after all, isn’t it. Not for sissies!

      Thank you so much about the chiming in with Lysine. I have an e-mail request in to the vet, about how that would work with the homeopathic remedy he’s prescribed. Hope he answers.

Leave a Reply

