Which Way To Turn

Now that the Bugs-Tested-and-Approved Smoothie Diet Plan seems to be staying down – can I get a witness – I am thinking about thinking.

What do you think about this plan for thinking.

1.    Observe carefully.  “Just the facts, ma’am.”  Focusing, in a Sherlockian integrative manner, on what is right there in front of, around, and behind one’s eyes.  Cultivating the capacity to examine detail on the one hand and, on the other, to take in the bigger-picture context as well.

2.    Observe the principle of Occam’s Razor.  The Law Of Parsimony, Economy, Succinctness.  I love this Wikipedia definition of Occam’s Razor:  From competing hypotheses, choose the one that depends on the fewest assumptions.

3.    In an ever-changing world, observe the principle of the Razor of Maturana & Varela.  Biologist Humberto Maturana and neuroscientist Francisco Varela write: “[W]e must walk the razor’s edge . . . . [between] regularity and mutability . . . of solidity and shifting sand . . . . [We must] adopt an attitude of permanent vigilance against the temptation of certainty. [We must] recognize that certainty is not proof of truth . . . . [T]he world everyone sees is not the world, but [one that] we bring forth with others.”

Our very biological, physiological survival depends on including others.  “[B]iologically . . . without acceptance of others, there is no social phenomenon. If we still live together that way, we are living indifference and negation under a pretense of love.”

So I like this trilogy of desiderata:

1.    Focus comprehensively.  Both narrowly (on precise detail) and broadly (on context).

2.    Observe the Law Of Parsimony, Simplicity.  Razor out as many unwarranted assumptions as possible.

3.    Renounce certainty.  Walk instead the razor’s edge of dialogue, process, and love, arm and arm with others.

Perhaps an example would edify. Take Bugsy’s throwing up.  As it was first coupled with coughing, I posited that hairballs might be the issue.  Treated for hairballs, problem cleared up, problem returned.

Perhaps Bugsy was upset.  Could find no support for that.

Was he sick?  Didn’t appear so.  He was as lively and feisty as ever.

Focus.  Maybe he was wolfing his food too fast.  Observation to bear out this theory:  Bugsy never chews his treats.  Fang chews his treats.  Bugsy inhales them.

Arm-in-arm prong of the analysis:  Many of you chipped in to offer your own “wolfing” experiences.

So apply the Bugs-Tested-and-Approved Smoothie Diet Plan, garnished with rocks to slow things down a tad.

Success.  So far.

So here’s the thing:  The need for the “arm-in-arm” prong emerged especially clearly this morning.

Two words:  Human error.

Yesterday I fed Bugsy his first third and then had to leave briefly.  I was certain I had put the remaining two-thirds in a little cup, capped it with a plastic lid, and left it on the range for my return.  Like this, for example, uncapped for illustrative purposes.


When I got back home and looked for the little cup, though, I couldn’t find it.  I looked everywhere, including in the fridge.  Nothing.

There was a little cup on the range, but it was spit-shined clean and the plastic lid was neatly placed beside it.

The only explanation I could find was that someone must have come in, removed the lid, and eaten the food.

Go ahead.  Laugh.  In view of how long it took for this to dawn on me.  Who-dun-it was obvious:  Fang.  There’s a warranted assumption for you.  Right in character.  The little scamp.

So this morning, after feeding Bugs his first third, I stashed the remaining two-thirds in the toaster oven.

Then I forgot I did that, and turned on the toaster oven.

Here is the result.  Purée of turkey, sweet potato, and oatmeal – finished with a light plastic infusion.

So there you have it.  When we reach the point, as I did this morning, where we simply do not know where to turn –

maker

We must walk arm-in-arm with each other.  And just hope and pray that the time has not yet arrived to petition for appointment of the guardian.

About nadbugs

Anita loves cats. This must be because she, too, has had nine lives. She’s been dancing since she could walk, she was a commercial artist and advertising producer, she earned a third-degree black belt in Aikido, she is a drummer with the Afrique Aya Dance Company, she is an attorney, and she’s a meditator and a devoted student of Nonviolent Communication. She also spent one lifetime sidelined with a devastating back injury in 1992. Since then – FELDENKRAIS METHOD® to the rescue. The FELDENKRAIS METHOD is all about dreaming concretely – thinking intelligently and independently by way of a gracious and kind physicality. The work affords all who study it a process by which to reach, with movement, into the mind and the heart, to make nine lives into one whole being.
This entry was posted in Philosophy-Psychology, Things Cats, Humans Do, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Which Way To Turn

  1. lahgitana says:

    hahahhahahahah i’m so sorry hhaahahhahaahah! of course somebody came in and ate it! hahahahah hahahahhaha stashed the stash in the toaster oven hahahahahah turned on the toaster oven hahahahaha oh gawd hahahaha

    i’m so sorry to laugh. I haven’t laughed like this in a while–started with a little giggle, then got bigger and bigger until I was laughing out loud!

    No guardian. You sound perfectly OK to me!

    • nadbugs says:

      I am so thoroughly glad that this post made you laugh. I love that!

      Can you imagine what kind of a world this is fast becoming, with our generation increasingly prone to this kind of thing due to . . . oh well, it really doesn’t bear thinking about. Much much much better to keep laughing. Where possible.

      • nadbugs says:

        Oh and hey. I can’t recall where you suggested the phone book, lahggie, but it’s a great idea. Already implemented. Don’t care if we’re so old we actually remember “phone book.” I’ve always liked phone books. Ridiculous but there it is.

        • lahgitana says:

          Big Mister doesn’t like phone books, but I do! I keep one stashed in the car for when I’m in search of something–like where I am!

          Phone books are like dictionaries and encyclopedias–all that LIFE there in those flimsy pages!

          I forgot that elevating the food bowl is especially good for digestion and the not wolfing it down is the bonus. Hope it gives the little dude some relief and actual enjoyment in his breakfast on the way down, where it should stay, poor guy!

          I feel apologies in the air for the moment you have to use the phone book! hahahahaha!

      • lahgitana says:

        Yes! And WHO shall be the guardians of this generation? hahahahaha those poor children of the world who feel obligated to look after us, but are always as annoyed as hell because of the weird (to them) things we proclaim and the oddities we show!

        I didn’t have kids, but I see I may not miss out on the inter-generational torture! muhahahaha

  2. Oldcat says:

    It probably would be easier just to put a big bowl over the top of the food bowl to keep Fang from eating it all up.

  3. CATachresis says:

    Ditto hahaha! Good grief Nad, Have a heart for your readers! Expecting penetrating philosophical analysis, settling back with my coffee and dictionary and what do we get? wayhey … toasted plastic!! And how did Occam insinuate himself? The reason I ask is because I have just mentioned him in my next not-yet-published blog post and now I am spooked big time. lolol

    Oh and nice one, Fang >^,,^<

    • nadbugs says:

      Your following me so accurately through what I intended with this post is just simply heaven, dear Austin-Mom. I am never sure the writing chicken-scratch actually conveys what I hope to — and I really am not sure about this Intellectual-Meets-Mr.-Magoo persona I seem to be developing here (if you know that bumbling and near-sighted character from the cartoons of my childhood). So for you to track along with me, as I feint right and go left — SO satisfying! Thank you so much, dear CAT. I rely on you!

      That really is spoooooky about the synchronicity. And didn’t it just happen before, with Austin hurling his breakfast too? What is going on here?

      • CATachresis says:

        Dear Nad, I am such a fan of free, non-sequential-in-con-sequential thought, it delights my soul :) Why do you think I am CATachresis ??? lolol Intellectual-Meets-Mr.-Magoo is purrfect. We can walk the razor’s edge of dialogue courtesy of Mr W of Occam (Ockham?) and renounce poetic extravagance, embrace literary parsimony ….. and I jolly well wish a certain Mr J Joyce had never read Homer. My school days would have gone a lot quicker. Just saying .. lol

        • nadbugs says:

          Heh heh. Right there with you, CAT — I never will forget the first time I tackled Mr. J. Joyce, I didn’t know what hit me. But oddly enough, I was listening just yesterday to a Radio 4 Woman’s Hour podcast, and they read a bit from the Mollie Bloom soliloquy and I must say . . . . something . . . I can’t even.

          • CATachresis says:

            Another very odd example of synchronicity!!! And I don’t even listen to Women’s Hour!! Can’t get over you listen to BBC Radio 4!!! Podcasts!! Of course! Why didn’t I think of that? Easy to listen to anything, anytime, at one’s convenience! Will go fill up my pod with casts right now.

            Re: Molly. I wish she’d said “No”!

  4. What a little goober! If indeed, Fang is the culprit.. The evidence, as it is on my post today against Leo, is circumstantial. Couldn’t it just as easily have been Bugsy, tired of waiting for his next third, helping himself? Of course, the little scamp being fingered for the crime is his own fault for being, well, the little scamp. MOL
    The large, heavy, bowl idea from Old Cat sounds like a perfect solution. Or the fridge?

    • nadbugs says:

      This is what happens with reputation (goober) evidence. You can be convicted on it. (Not really. Just here in this blog.) So Fang is it. Even though the Bugsy explanation is perfectly possible. After all, when there was only one cat in this house, SOMEbody pulled a heist much like this one. So by process of eliminating, that SOMEbody would have been Bugsy.

      I still think it was Fang. Not enough to convict on, though. Unlike you with Leo.

  5. FeyGirl says:

    Oh noooooooOOOOOO! But thanks for the chuckle…. I’m still snickering!!!

  6. I was reading your post and going “oh, no! oh, no! oh…. Ha ha ha!”. Gee… it happens to all of us at one point or another. Human error. So we might as well just have a laugh about it. Loved your post. I sometimes wish I had a blog so I could share similar experiences. Who knows? Maybe one day.

  7. nadbugs says:

    Misery loves company, Ivy — human error indeed. Hey!! You get that blog started!! Where do I subscribe? I would love to read your blog.

  8. Pingback: Circumstantial Evidence | catself

  9. kolytyi says:

    Ad 1: Do not forget that the context is always (potentially) infinite.
    Ad 2: Razoring something out may turn out to be a mistake, too. Thus, revision of earlier decisions should be left open.
    Ad 3: YES!!! But: do not get lost in uncertainty, either. Find the balance and the tools for managing uncertainty.

  10. Dianda says:

    Haha, I couldn’t help but to laugh. I’m sorry!

  11. Wazeau says:

    Can’t stop watching the gif…. and I’m way past needing a guardian of my own.

Leave a Reply

