Why Jackson Works For Me

Jackson Galaxy, host of the Animal Planet show My Cat From Hell, has inspired me from the first day a reader put me onto him.

I like Jackson because he advoCats connection.  Relationship with our feline friends.  Empathy.  Exercising one’s imagination for what it would be like to walk a mile in the other guy’s paws.

He calls this “cat mojo.”  He explains more fully here.

As my post-grad studies in the University of Bugsdom have progressed, I’m glad Jackson has helped me learn not to be in the least worried about the kinds of moment depicted following. Bugs was going to go for the feather wand that lurks below.  Not my foot.

Sometimes he goes for my foot, though.  The important thing is to know the difference.

 And act accordingly.

About nadbugs

Anita loves cats. This must be because she, too, has had nine lives. She’s been dancing since she could walk, she was a commercial artist and advertising producer, she earned a third-degree black belt in Aikido, she is a drummer with the Afrique Aya Dance Company, she is an attorney, and she’s a meditator and a devoted student of Nonviolent Communication. She also spent one lifetime sidelined with a devastating back injury in 1992. Since then – FELDENKRAIS METHOD® to the rescue. The FELDENKRAIS METHOD is all about dreaming concretely – thinking intelligently and independently by way of a gracious and kind physicality. The work affords all who study it a process by which to reach, with movement, into the mind and the heart, to make nine lives into one whole being.
This entry was posted in Empathy and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Why Jackson Works For Me

  1. We’re a happy he’s been able to take his message mainstream. For all the cat whisperers/behaviorists out there who speak cat (and always have) he’s made it easier.

  2. I love Jackson Galaxy! When the 2nd season of his show started in the US, I sent many emails to Animal Planet’s representative in Brazil to ask them to broadcast the show here (our cable TV has the Animal Planet channel). Guess what? They did! They’re still broadcasting the 1st season, but we’re getting there (meanwhile the internet helps me a bit, as it did while the show wasn’t broadcast here… *wink*)

  3. minlit says:

    Ooh! Cat Mojo. I have one of those :)

  4. Dianda says:

    Jackson is a big inspiration for me. :)
    I always watch his show in full awe.

  5. We love love love that show! It’s helped us with out kitties and understanding how the dear sweeties perceive things!
    Glad you know the difference, keep those toes safe! MOL

  6. CATachresis says:

    Better not put your foot in it with Bugs around!!

    Mr Galaxy has just about made it over the pond. I think there were a couple of shows I caught, but have to keep checking the channel. He’s definitely one of the good guys, even if he does have more hair on his chin than his head!!!

    • nadbugs says:

      Bet you his fashion-forward sense is one reason he got picked . . . Thank Cod he backs up his style with his sense. So now he’s world-famous. I bet that could be disorienting, to go from what he’s been through in the past, to this hoopla now . . .

  7. We LOVE him!! He’s gotten the lazy Rumbleparents to play with us more!!

  8. Hey, cuzzin Bugs. We do look a lot alike, don’t we?

    We can’t get Jackson here (no cable, and Dad is too cheap to buy a dish). But we hear he is great.

  9. Sheba's life story. says:

    Hi i’ve just come across from Pet Blogs United. I will have to look out for my cat from hell on Animal planet.

  10. Brian says:

    Howdy gang, I saw you over at PBU so I thought I would come by. That Jackson is one cool Dude!

  11. Jackson’s got our vote, too! He’s even helped the mom with some of the cats at the shelter where she volunteers! (and we get more playtime too now that she knows better – SCORE!)

Leave a Reply

