Synchronicity

There are several “coincidences” I want to report at this point.  Maybe you’ll share with me the nip of amazement I feel when I notice them.  To me, they stand for the vast universe of what I don’t know.  A sense of mysteriousness, magic.

First, when I moved away from Detroit around fifteen years ago, I left behind my dearest friend Kim and her husband Brian.

Imagine the distance now between us. Michigan –> Arkansas.

Then are you not amazed to know that Kim and Bee have two cats who could be Bugs’s litter-mates? Look at Stewie (Emma) and Meezer (Madeline), plus Stewie with Ivy (too cute to resist):

And now re-look at Bugs:

Are you not amazed?

Second, when I graduated from FELDENKRAIS training in 1998, the very first thing I did – and I do mean first; I literally drove from graduation in Bronxville, New York, straight to the Omega Institute in Rhinebeck (just by Bard College, from which I graduated in 1970 – yet another coincidence).  Omega was offering a weekend workshop in hands-on work with animals, related to FELDENKRAIS, called TELLINGTON TOUCH.

And I wanted to learn how to do that kind of work in the worst way.  Nothing came of it, for me, but I remained fascinated by it.

So now, all these years later, here comes Bugs.  And all the challenges he represented – continues to represent – for me.

Not long after Bugs showed up, one of my FELDENKRAIS clients brings me a book and wants to know have I heard of this thing.  TELLINGTON TOUCH.

And now here comes Mother Teresa.

Plaque dedicated to Mother Teresa, Wenceslas Square, Olomouc, Czech Republic


Teresa also came to me for FELDENKRAIS work – but when she lived in New York, she was an assistant trainer in TELLINGTON TOUCH.

So now she and I do a trade.  We do FELDENKRAIS hands-on together, and she does TELLINGTON TOUCH with Bugs and me.


Talk about a compassionate universe!

About nadbugs

Anita loves cats. This must be because she, too, has had nine lives. She’s been dancing since she could walk, she was a commercial artist and advertising producer, she earned a third-degree black belt in Aikido, she is a drummer with the Afrique Aya Dance Company, she is an attorney, and she’s a meditator and a devoted student of Nonviolent Communication. She also spent one lifetime sidelined with a devastating back injury in 1992. Since then – FELDENKRAIS METHOD® to the rescue. The FELDENKRAIS METHOD is all about dreaming concretely – thinking intelligently and independently by way of a gracious and kind physicality. The work affords all who study it a process by which to reach, with movement, into the mind and the heart, to make nine lives into one whole being.
This entry was posted in Feldenkrais, Tellington Touch, TTouch, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Synchronicity

  1. Pattie Williams says:

    the whole evolution of the story keeps getting better and better as you continue to connect to the Mystery. That you give testimony to that via Bugs and you of course satisfied me deeply. The visuals again stun me with their beauty in and of themselves as well as the connection to your words.

  2. Pingback: Ivy and Stewie (Emma) have been Brushed! « heretherebespiders

  3. Pingback: Return From The Dark Place | catself

Leave a Reply

