Bugs Hones His Skills

Here Bugs reviews the route plan for his next assault on Karakorum.

He’d just read this, from the Society for Neuroscience:

“[C]areful studies in both humans and animals. . . provide clear evidence that sleep is indeed important for at least some types of memory and learning. In particular it seems to secure memories, termed procedural memories, which help people learn skills. Thanks to procedural memories, you can master a video game, a gymnastics move or a melody on the piano.” http://www.sfn.org/

Now if he can just belay around that big rockslide at 30 degrees left. . . .

 

 

About nadbugs

Anita loves cats. This must be because she, too, has had nine lives. She’s been dancing since she could walk, she was a commercial artist and advertising producer, she earned a third-degree black belt in Aikido, she is a drummer with the Afrique Aya Dance Company, she is an attorney, and she’s a meditator and a devoted student of Nonviolent Communication. She also spent one lifetime sidelined with a devastating back injury in 1992. Since then – FELDENKRAIS METHOD® to the rescue. The FELDENKRAIS METHOD is all about dreaming concretely – thinking intelligently and independently by way of a gracious and kind physicality. The work affords all who study it a process by which to reach, with movement, into the mind and the heart, to make nine lives into one whole being.
This entry was posted in Philosophy-Psychology, Pictures and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Bugs Hones His Skills

  1. OMC so funny!! Sleep seems to be the solution for everything! xoxo

  2. lifewith4cats says:

    pink nose, ear all squished. Is he the cutest grey guy in the world or what?! I can see he has been studying hard. Full immersion, I say.

    Lets see, he gets a personal massage attendant. Is soon to be surrounded by exotic scents (honeysuckle) I don’t think he will be running away anytime soon. Although he might start asking you “if you have any grey poupon.”

  3. lifewith4cats says:

    Dear bugs,
    You are an inspiration to barefoot hikers everywhere. Of which I am one.
    I have to say that some of us have to settle for smaller summits than Karakorum.
    One hurtle I often face on my climbing grounds is this: Big Fat Slugs. They come out when it rains and in the morning too.
    When I accidentally feel s-q-u-i-s-h, my resolve is truly tested.
    If during your downtime You can be persuaded to muse on my predicament perhaps you can offer me advise? How can I be more observant and so avoid these squishy buggers? Is hop-scotch the only solution?

    • nadbugs says:

      Bugs had to sleep a little while on this poser of a question. When he awoke he came up with this:

      Dear 4Cats, I have to say I admire your perky hop-scotch idea. Next time I’m out, I’ll try it. I myself, though, have learned to seek these out, as long as I remember to bring the salt-shaker with me. Remember: It’s all about condiments.

      These guys, while indeed terrible to step on as you say, can be quite delicious if you can catch yourself before your foot goes down. Sprinkle them liberally with salt — garlic salt, if you prefer. A bonus is that way, they curl up into little bite-sized nuggets. Perfect for when you’re out on the trail.

  4. lifewith4cats says:

    Dear bugs,
    You are truly a connoisseur of all that is fine and essential in this life.
    I shall have to tell Wikipedia to update its definition of G.O.R.P.
    sincerely, 4cats

Leave a Reply

