Divergence of Mood

This morning I’m tired; finished two projects and even got the billing done too.  So I’m ready to receive gladly a friend’s FaceBook post:  “Every day holds its share of simple pleasures; we must only open our eyes to see them.”

I did wonder, though — what is a “simple pleasure,” really?  One that doesn’t involve money, or stuff, or travel?  It’s just there in front of us?

I’m thinking things like that aren’t necessarily “simple.”  Take Bugs’s back legs, and the scientific analysis of same, from yesterday —

Still.  I take the meaning.  I’m content, not-striving, willing just to enjoy Bugs’s effortless beauty.

Bugs’s mood, though, was a little different.

He’s sleeping now.  Thank goodness.

About nadbugs

Anita loves cats. This must be because she, too, has had nine lives. She’s been dancing since she could walk, she was a commercial artist and advertising producer, she earned a third-degree black belt in Aikido, she is a drummer with the Afrique Aya Dance Company, she is an attorney, and she’s a meditator and a devoted student of Nonviolent Communication. She also spent one lifetime sidelined with a devastating back injury in 1992. Since then – FELDENKRAIS METHOD® to the rescue. The FELDENKRAIS METHOD is all about dreaming concretely – thinking intelligently and independently by way of a gracious and kind physicality. The work affords all who study it a process by which to reach, with movement, into the mind and the heart, to make nine lives into one whole being.
This entry was posted in Pictures. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Divergence of Mood

  1. lifewith4cats says:

    OMgosh snarf grumble grapp chomp. Bugs has no idea he is becoming famous. If this picture was on a box of weaties, I would be eating weaties right now! I am not kidding. You have such a way with the camera and Bugs loves to be photographed.

  2. Eleanor says:

    This is something that I have been thinking a lot about lately. Since we resigned ourselves to the fact that we really are poor, my husband and I have been finding a lot more pleasure in the simple things. It’s true, we often talk about how lucky we are even though, at the moment, we have little material wealth. Everyday simple pleasures for me include: the adoring gazes of my little beasts during cuddles, the ecstatic morning greeting I get everyday from Spock, the taste of that first sip of coffee in the morning, the fact that my hubby makes me that coffee in the morning, the knowledge that I am safe and secure and have a home (even if there’s nothing in it), the taste of hot buttered toast…and many more. This is what it means to me anyway. (Sorry, this comment ended up an essay.)

    • nadbugs says:

      See this is what I love about blogging. I get to hear all y’all’s voices. And they are all so different. I’m just so happy we get this opportunity. I salute your happiness and I rejoice in it.

  3. MelanieJ says:

    I think that there is not a single picture of Bugs that I have ever seen that implies submissiveness, least of all this one (referring to a conversation held elsewhere.) Though you can definitely say he has oodles of personality!

    • nadbugs says:

      What a concept in the same room — Bugs & submissiveness. It’s to laugh, that we should be talking like this on a day when Bugs takes a picture like this. Oh yes. NO shortage of personality over here!

  4. Marcy Benham says:

    That picture is SCARY!! I’d hate to meet Bugs in a dark alley on one of his bad days!

  5. lifewith4cats says:

    So, my theory is: Someone makes us feel bad about her ripped drum and kitty scratches, But I think its a case of ‘Transference?” Could it be that Anita is just as big a troublemaker adventurer as her housemate? Like hangs with like after all. I am onto you. Both of you are troublemaking kitties but only one of you can type.

    I still love this picture. Its got such action and spells FUN with a capital F.

  6. lifewith4cats says:

    I like bad kitties. ha ha. I am glad you play along with me.

  7. lifewith4cats says:

    Hiss!

Leave a Reply

