All Things Must Pass

Remember Hootie?  A present from a dear friend for my birthday.  The one I may have promised I’d keep away from Bugs.

I turned my back on him for one moment and this happened.

I put the house through a sieve looking for body-parts (beak, wings, and the entire white belly).  Vanished.

I could only conclude that Bugs ate them.

I waited for them to pass.

And waited.

No sign.

Two days ago, they – or maybe it was a portion of they – arrived.  On the kitchen floor.  (Front-end-loaded, in case you’re wondering.)

But really, I was truly grateful.  Not on the duvet, not on the area rugs, not on the play mat – on the lino.  I mean, the kid has an eye out for the housekeeping.

In case you’re wondering, I did not take a picture.

Now I’m asking:  What kind of digestive system would hang on to that stuff for almost three weeks?  I know about hairballs, but come on!  Imagine the volume!  How could anything get past that?

And there may be more to come.  This morning he did not touch his breakfast.  First time ever.  And then around 2:00 this afternoon he got very chippy with me (no free-feeding here; two times a day and that’s it (except for treats) (and more treats)), when Teresa and I were trying to work with him, so I had to feed him right then and there and that was the end of our session.

Now he’s crashed out again so I get a chance to write this.

You can see from the pictures following, though, my hope that Bugs is as copacetic as he looks, and that Hootie truly has passed.   We’re on vigil over here.

About nadbugs

Anita loves cats. This must be because she, too, has had nine lives. She’s been dancing since she could walk, she was a commercial artist and advertising producer, she earned a third-degree black belt in Aikido, she is a drummer with the Afrique Aya Dance Company, she is an attorney, and she’s a meditator and a devoted student of Nonviolent Communication. She also spent one lifetime sidelined with a devastating back injury in 1992. Since then – FELDENKRAIS METHOD® to the rescue. The FELDENKRAIS METHOD is all about dreaming concretely – thinking intelligently and independently by way of a gracious and kind physicality. The work affords all who study it a process by which to reach, with movement, into the mind and the heart, to make nine lives into one whole being.
This entry was posted in Pictures, Things Cats, Humans Do, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to All Things Must Pass

  1. Marcy Benham says:

    “Anticipation….anticipation is making me wait…..it’s keeping me waaaaaiting.” Been there, done that. Mine was with a very looooooooooong string from an unraveled carpet. Extremely worrisome. Once it started coming……well, let’s just say I was terribly relieved when the other end popped out. Could have been life threatening, could have required gut surgery. Whew! Be sure to let us know how this tail ends. 😉

  2. nadbugs says:

    Hoots! Argh! I’m very relieved to hear of your happy ending. What they get up to! Unimaginable. Myself, I’d rather chew aluminum foil.

  3. lifewith4cats says:

    Awesome post! I must say that I was shocked by the photo. That poor owl is mutilated beyond recognition. He doesnt even have dental records to go by. hmm Bugs, you are a pretty wild guy! Now I know there is more to you than just cuteness in the sun. Anitas piggies under the sheets must live in fear.

    and you Anita, copacetic? I had to google the new word to see what it means. Did you put in the big word because I picked on your language skills? I laughed a lot as I typed in the words, ‘define copacetic’ into my browser. 😀 LoL

    Make sure bugs drinks as much liquid as possible, (just in case).

  4. nadbugs says:

    Dental records! What a concept! And oh you got that right, about the piggies. Or bed-mice, as I’ve heard them called.

    I am not quite yet copacetic (I hope I spelled that right), — but I am definitely on my way, thank you for asking.

    Great tip about the water. I’ll make a special effort to remember it.

  5. OMG I cannot believe he ate all of that!!!! You are truly extremely lucky! I can’t believe that he did that!! Thank goodness he seems to be ok! xoxo

    • nadbugs says:

      Gosh Caren you’re echoing how I felt when I saw the mess. Really — my brain had difficulty processing it. What? is? that? it went. Belief dawned but slowly.

      Yeah and relief is taking its time too. Pretty scary.

  6. Eleanor says:

    It’s so worrying then they go munching on non-edibles. Keeping a close eye on him is probably the best thing you can do. I love the pictures of him sunning his belly – what a great way to relax. I’d do that too but it might scare my neighbours!

    @lifewith4cats – ‘dental records’ Hahahaha. Poor owl.

  7. nadbugs says:

    I specially liked the one where he makes sure he catches some rays in his armpit. The tan has to be even.

  8. Christine says:

    I used to have a cat named Bezoar…medical term for a fur ball! Thought that was a cute name, but he left a lot of his namesakes around, especially in the spring.

    Bugs; pink toes, AND nose…wow!

    • nadbugs says:

      Bezoar! Sounds like some deeply obscure Babylonian deity! [Or a character in Worlds of Warcraft. Or whatever. You know. Vid-games.]

      Pink is very big this year. Think: Accessories.

      The Lips of a Stranger.

      In the remote case that anybody else might have wandered into reading this: That last is a reference to the Great Mississippi (or is it Georgia) Fashion Sage Bailey White. Writing about her experience with lipstick. She also writes about her mother and mud and pantyhose that don’t fit and — what was it? something about a tick getting up under there? It’s the Bailey White Experience. Don’t miss it!

  9. lifewith4cats says:

    I just loved the way you wrote, “Reeely?” on my blog. I could just picture you making the same gesture a cat makes when they hear the can opener or hear the treat bag rustle. Head goes up, ears forward, eyes big,… Reeeely? You are so cute.

    Now I see in one picture here bugs has a spot on his lower lip. I suppose its debris? He is such a messy little boy. Just like in the awesome pic of him upsidedown with head squished into the books (an earlier post here)… If you look closely, you can see a smattering of kibble color all over his chin.

    • nadbugs says:

      Missyhiss 4Catsssss. I must remind you that I. Am. Not.

      Repeat. NOT.

      a — WHAT did you say?

      MESSSSSY BOY???

      I will have you know

      Oh no. I just have to hide my head in shame.

      That spot on my lip?

      That is a — pause — zit.

      I AM A TEENAGER. GIVE ME A BREAK. YOU ARE NOT SUPPOSED TO NOTICE THOSE THINGS. And if you do, common courtesy requires that you DO NOT SPEAK OF THEM PUBLICLY.

      You missedhissed what really was debris. On my chest. And that was no ordinary debris. That was part of Mr. Plant, I wear him proudly. He exists for my gustatory delectation (look it up) (poor English skills my FOOT. Paw, that is).

      And I don’t know what you’re talking about, kibble-color around my chin. If there’s food in a two-mile radius, it is GONE. I do NOT leave food, nor even its merest color, within that radius. Let alone right under my nossssse.

      That color around my chin? Born that way. And proud of it. Yo mama.

      [stalks off into the other room, head and tail held high]

      • nadbugs says:

        Bugs. Get back in here.

        You know VERY WELL that you leave food unconsumed around here ALL THE TIME. What about yesterday’s breakfast? Hmmm?

        Answer me.

        I thought as much.

      • lifewith4cats says:

        grabs her ball and goes home. (looks for worms to eat along the way) sniffle..

  10. Oh boy! Bugs, that’s what happens when you eat things you’re not supposed to. Glad your tum tum survived. And what a GOOD boy you are for not throwing up on a rug. My Aunt Beatrice really could learn a lot from you! PS- Thank your marmie for not taking a picture for us to see.

  11. nadbugs says:

    Dear Link, thank you for the kudos but please don’t give her ideas about those pictures. I lay my head down for some decent REMs and next thing you know she’s all clickclickclickclickclick

    She’s all Diane Arbus or Avedon, all darling! you look so gorgeous! oh yes! do it! that’s it! yes! blahblah!

    Insincere? Manipulative? Exploitative, even? I sense this.

    The white umbrellas and rock music and wind machine will be next, I can see it coming.

    Whoever invented those digital things where you don’t have to care how many you take?

    They should be put out of our misery.

  12. lifewith4cats says:

    I googled ‘enlightened inner high school student’, and found an old wordpress blog entry as a result. The photo prooves that it is possible to have a wide eyed look (treat bag) AND have a smattering of kibble on the chin while STILL looking cute and lovable. http://edwardsaugstad.com/2007/07/03/prisoners-of-thought/

    Dear bugs, sorry bout all the clickclickclickclick you must suffer. You have my empathy now.

  13. nadbugs says:

    Nadbugs says: Awwwww 4Cats! C’mon back! No need to eat worms! Fat or otherwise! As Eleanor pointed out on your blog, I’ve been trying to plumb the mysteries of my inner high-school angst for a lifetime — and your link solves it in one. All is forgiven.

    Bugs says: Hah. Can dish it out but can’t take it. Plus I don’t buy the empathy bit.

    Nadbugs says: Bugs. Be nice. Go on back to sleep. I like you better that way.

    • lifewith4cats says:

      ok people, lets all have a moment of silence for Hoooty. Geeze… family gatherings… like a bunch of children we are….. now, wheres the buffet? All this laughing has made me hungry. (discards apettizers of nefarious origin)

  14. nadbugs says:

    Right. We kind of lose focus on what we’re gathered for. Which is to remember Hootie of blessed memory.

    What. You don’t like the Cheez-Whiz?

  15. melody says:

    Hi Bugs…Marley here..you make some awsome pics. I too like to bask in the sun in the sunroom. I bet you like the birds outside like I do. I love to chatter at the humming birds. Have a nice weekend!!

    • nadbugs says:

      Marley! Why hello there. Let me move over for you. How’s that. For you, we share the sun.

      And we can appreciate those birds together. Sounds like you need to come over here, if all you get is hummers. They don’t look like much of a mouthful to me. Good workout, though. Those babies move fast as bugs. Bugs! My name! I meant the other kind.

      But I’ve been wondering — is your human a bird? A very very big bird?

      I only ask because of the name.

  16. lifewith4cats says:

    I am here to inform you that wordpress thinks you have misspelled the name of your blog. Everytime I write catself, wordpress gets out its big red marker and underlines it. Tee Hee.

    Oh yeah and Yay for surprises! go to http://lifewith4cats.com/awards/to pick up your award.

  17. nadbugs says:

    Spang! Toilet jokes always welcome.

    And I notice WordPress red-marks its own name, too — so no worries. CatSelf is in distinguished company.

    • lifewith4cats says:

      I didnt understand your comment at all till I clicked the link I gave you. I have absolutely NO IDEA how that happened. But It was almost 4am when I left that comment so I guesse my brain went to sleep on me. Thats the wronge link!!!

      this is the correct link. http://lifewith4cats.com/awards/

      But it is kinda a coincidence that my mistake was right in-line with the theme of this ‘coming out in the end’ post. heheh

  18. nadbugs says:

    Gasp. Now this is the kind of coincidence that is truly hard to swallow. Hoot. Hootie.

    GOT to work. Got to, got to, NOW. Just, for now, a huge hug to you, dear 4Cats. This is wonderful & so fun. THANK YOU.

  19. Mischievous? Certainly, but handsome guys like this know they can get away with it. Just remember, this too shall pass.

  20. Eleanor says:

    @nadbugs – I didn’t keep those photos. If I ever get a good one again I’ll post it. The problem is that I don’t usually take my camera to the loo!

    @Sara (ah! Now I know your name!) – That situation sounds most uncomfortable. Why do they always choose the worst times to ask for attention?

  21. Lila says:

    Oh goodness…I’m late to this party again clearly but WOW…he is SO gorgeous. And fierce! I guess every once and a while they have to remind us that they have Great Cats as their ancestors and we need to RESPECT. (Sometimes hard to remember when they’re being so adorable.)

    • nadbugs says:

      Honey, you are right on time. Your noticing the ferocity, next to the adorableness, has really got me thinking. As I said about your other comment, your perspective is so inspiring to me. I simply must write more. Looking for the time! So — please do keep showing up. On time, late, whenEVER. I am thrilled thrilled to meet you whenever you appear.

  22. Pingback: The Honor Is Ours | catself

  23. Pingback: Will You Still Need Me? | catself

Leave a Reply

