Small Sense of Home

One advantage to the flood clear-out: A new box for Bugs. Here he is inspecting the open house.

A friend writes with a great disaster-idea from her family in Virginia.  There the tornados were nowhere near as bad as elsewhere.  They took out a school nevertheless.  I want to pass this idea along to you pretty much as my friend told it to me.  I couldn’t improve on her writing.  Here it is, in its entirety:

“The tornado in Virginia was so mild compared with AL and other states. My family is OK, but there was much devastation in a town down the road . . . . A graduate student of education doing an internship in Gloucester (where the tornado hit) went to work – no school there anymore . . . .

“She did however have a fabulously creative idea. Perhaps you might want to share with your blog-friend in AL. A great way to have national support via a broader friends & family network . . . .

“Of course, I don’t even know where you would start with entire sections of towns gone, but I suppose someone closer to the event might know . . . . When my brother lost his house in the CA wildfires, I sent boxes of clothes and also random things that bring back some small sense of home – framed pictures I had of us, mugs with coffee and tea, books, toys and activity sets for the kids, specialty food items, hair accessories, cookware, even bras & underwear . . . you won’t usually get from FEMA or charities. They were shell-shocked for a long time, but I think those things make a difference. Overwhelming to consider on the larger scale, but perhaps easier when smaller groups get together . . . .”

So, friends, I had a look around the Amazon website.  It looks like what happens is, you set up the registry.  Then you shop around the Net and add stuff to the wish list.   Friends then access the list and buy you the stuff.

This is the sequence of clicks, if you want to check it out for yourself:   Amazon.com –> Gifts and Wish Lists –> Wish List (or also wedding or baby registry, I’m not sure which is best to use).

And remember the small sense of home.

I’ll close this with snaps of Bugs getting used to his new small home.

The purrenial favorite plaid-ball stood up to the challenge.  Remember the plaid-ball from a while back?

Still good for some carnage.

Is something going to happen?

What a question.

::WHUMPH:


:WHACK WHACK SNARE:

::The prize is mine::

About nadbugs

Anita loves cats. This must be because she, too, has had nine lives. She’s been dancing since she could walk, she was a commercial artist and advertising producer, she earned a third-degree black belt in Aikido, she is a drummer with the Afrique Aya Dance Company, she is an attorney, and she’s a meditator and a devoted student of Nonviolent Communication. She also spent one lifetime sidelined with a devastating back injury in 1992. Since then – FELDENKRAIS METHOD® to the rescue. The FELDENKRAIS METHOD is all about dreaming concretely – thinking intelligently and independently by way of a gracious and kind physicality. The work affords all who study it a process by which to reach, with movement, into the mind and the heart, to make nine lives into one whole being.
This entry was posted in Empathy, Things Cats, Humans Do, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Small Sense of Home

  1. Marcy Benham says:

    I TOLD you cats love boxes! My Uma is STILL lovin’ her 8.5″ x 11″ box! She barely fits in it but LOVES to swat at scratchy noises (generated by me) on the outside of the box while she’s laying inside the thing, the source of the noises totally out of sight. Her paw, like Bugs, darts out from inside the box trying to “capture” whatever is making that enticing noise from outside. She flops around inside like crazy and looks up at me, begging with her eyes for lovin’ and scratches under her chin and on her belly. Once she’s had enough, she nips my fingers gently. I hope you didn’t want to put anything inside that box because, if Bugs is anything like Uma, it will stay a preferred hiding / playing location for a while! 🙂

  2. Dakota says:

    these were wonderful ideas. I just tweeted them and posted this on Facebook as well!
    xoxo

  3. melody says:

    Thank you so much for the Amazon info. I will call my church and give them the info too.

    Now to Bugs! Bugs you are so funny. I like the picture where all you see is the toy and your cute little paw. Bugs you bring me a lot of Joy. I always smile when I visit you.
    We Love You,
    Jude the dude,Poo,Babybella,Piper & Marley

    • nadbugs says:

      Oh YAY! Will you let us know if this Amazon thing works for you? Please do — because as you may have seen, Caren tweeted and posted to FB, and so maybe we could get a big thing going here. . . .

      And Bugs returns your love five times, plus one for the Bean. x0x0x0.

  4. Hey, Bugs! You got some good lovin’ beans over here!

    And a great box! Carnage and boxes — the best! Well, maybe raw turkey is the best. Or wildebeest. But boxes are always fun.

    Yeeeowl!
    JhaJha

  5. nadbugs says:

    I want it all. All.

    Yeeeowl back atcha, JJ.

  6. lifewith4cats says:

    Super spiffy kitty cave! Your training mom so well.

  7. MelanieJ says:

    Kitties and boxes… I fear for my life if I ever throw out a particular box. So if people are ever over here and ask about the random empty box, I have to educate them.

    That’s a great idea to help those affected by all of the bizarre weather this year. I can only imagine what it must feel like to have lost everything.

    • nadbugs says:

      Yes, I really rang to the idea. I just couldn’t hardly believe what I was reading about the disasters. The many disasters.

      By this time, I think anybody who comes over knows not to ask about the state of the house. Boxes, plural, are only the beginning of the chaos. Bugs owns the place, not me. Well actually neither of us do. Bugs inhabits the place and I pay the rent. That’s it.

  8. Eleanor says:

    The gift list is a really nice idea. Our thoughts tend to go straight to the big stuff (they must have lost their sofas, beds, TV etc) but so many little homely things gone too. It’s a lovely idea to help friends and family to replace some of those things that really matter, those little things that really make a home.

Leave a Reply

