The Yin Of It . . .

I admit it:  I’m biased toward taking the edge off Bugs’s intense energy.  So I’m going to start two companion posts — The Yin Of It, And The Yang — with the yin.

I decided I’d give Jackson Galaxy’s flower essences a try.  I had a long phone conversation  with a most kind, patient, and obliging person.  She, after hearing Bugs’s presentation, recommended  the STRESS-STOPPER formulation.

http://spiritessences.com/

You guys should see what’s in this thing.  An ingredients-list as long as your arm.  Here’s a representative sampling:

Pennyroyal

I remember this from my heyday as a hippie.  I’m sorry to say, back then the use I’d heard of for pennyroyal was as an abortifacient.

Cat’s-claw

Don’t you just love how that little flower in the upper left looks just like the very thing?

Mimulus

picture by Stan Shebs

I love what the Bach-flower system says about mimulus:  “Fear of worldly things, illness, pain, accidents, poverty, of dark, of being alone, of misfortune. The fears of everyday life. These people quietly and secretly bear their dread, they do not speak freely of it to others.”

I can so relate!

http://www.edwardbach.org/therapy/remedyplants.asp?pagenameid=PP1MIM

Now imagine my delight when, after only one day, this was the effect:

And this:

And this:

The heat probably had something to do with this gay mad abandon — but on the other hand, it’s been hot like this for around 40 days, and this is the first time ever that I’ve seen Bugs with this much of his belleh open to view.  Maybe now these two little pimples he’s had for ages, just where his back legs join his belly, can resolve themselves. 

[Editor’s Note:  This writer doesn’t know what she’s talking about.  Pimples indeed.  Calls for another post, to straighten this out.]

I also noticed that his paws feel bigger.  Before when I touched the tops they felt knobbly.  Now they’re flatter.  Maybe if he’s less stressed, he might have let go a little of the white-knuckle-type death-grip.

The first day, he was pretty much a cat-puddle.  Now he’s bounced back a bit, to more his “normal” style — so, next . . .

The Yang.

About nadbugs

Anita loves cats. This must be because she, too, has had nine lives. She’s been dancing since she could walk, she was a commercial artist and advertising producer, she earned a third-degree black belt in Aikido, she is a drummer with the Afrique Aya Dance Company, she is an attorney, and she’s a meditator and a devoted student of Nonviolent Communication. She also spent one lifetime sidelined with a devastating back injury in 1992. Since then – FELDENKRAIS METHOD® to the rescue. The FELDENKRAIS METHOD is all about dreaming concretely – thinking intelligently and independently by way of a gracious and kind physicality. The work affords all who study it a process by which to reach, with movement, into the mind and the heart, to make nine lives into one whole being.
This entry was posted in Pictures, Things Cats, Humans Do and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Yin Of It . . .

  1. MelanieJ says:

    I’ve been very curious about how these flower essences work… but too much of a cheapskate to find out myself… I’ll be tuning in anxiously to hear the rest of the story!

    • nadbugs says:

      You and me both, Melanie. It definitely seems to have taken a serious edge off Bugs. But, still, he is still The Bugs. See next post. Of course, this morning a mitigating influence could be rumbles of thunder. Could we be getting rain? Nah. It’ll never happen.

  2. VERY interesting! How did you administer the dose?

    and….those lil’ pimples might be kitty titties!

  3. lifewith4cats says:

    speaking of your pimple confusion… In younger days I picked up a puppy and exclaimed with glee, “Oh look what a cute little belly button!” My friend embarasingly explained my mistake. It was a boy puppy.

    Now if only you could teach Bugs to lay like that in winter time, you’ll have a perfect draft blocker doorstop.

  4. nadbugs says:

    This anatomical confusion is quite hilarious! And about the draft-blocker? How many cat-people would buy such a thing, do you think? Millions? I definitely would. An idea whose time has come? It could single-pawedly revive the economy? I’ll alert Catsparella. She’s plugged-in to that kind of thing.

  5. nadbugs says:

    Oh yes. And we have you to thank!!

Leave a Reply

