Zen Cat

Shh.  I am meditating.

Sitting quietly

Looking at nothing

The essence of emptiness becomes clear.

[Editor’s Note:  Does anybody know why cats do this?  Bugs sat like this, apparently looking at nothing, for at least five minutes.]

About nadbugs

Anita loves cats. This must be because she, too, has had nine lives. She’s been dancing since she could walk, she was a commercial artist and advertising producer, she earned a third-degree black belt in Aikido, she is a drummer with the Afrique Aya Dance Company, she is an attorney, and she’s a meditator and a devoted student of Nonviolent Communication. She also spent one lifetime sidelined with a devastating back injury in 1992. Since then – FELDENKRAIS METHOD® to the rescue. The FELDENKRAIS METHOD is all about dreaming concretely – thinking intelligently and independently by way of a gracious and kind physicality. The work affords all who study it a process by which to reach, with movement, into the mind and the heart, to make nine lives into one whole being.
This entry was posted in Philosophy-Psychology, Pictures, Things Cats, Humans Do and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Zen Cat

  1. Well, Cats can see things Humans can’t, and evidently they are quite amusing!

  2. nadbugs says:

    I feel so left out.

  3. lifewith4cats says:

    He heard something tiny fluttering in the motor of the air conditioner, and thought it might be another yummy bug in there, so he watched and thought. Having happy memories.

    p.s., I cant remember the last name of your cat guy on tv. I need it to recommend him to someone, so Im gonna dig around to find that post where in you mention he answers emails. My mind is drawing a blank for some reason today.

  4. nadbugs says:

    I like that “happy memories” bit. Makes me laugh.
    Here are the links to Jackson Galaxy.

    You need a FaceBook account to post questions at:
    https://www.facebook.com/JacksonGalaxyCatDaddy

    Here’s a sample of one of Jackson’s Q&A sessions. There are more after this:
    http://jacksongalaxy.com/2011/07/26/cat-daddy-qa-volume-3/

    He works with a vet, who writes advice at:
    littlebigcat.com

  5. MelanieJ says:

    My freaky cats do this too… and I’ve heard so many other people talk about theirs doing the same thing! What truly gave me the creeps, though, was when my college apartment-cat fixed visually on a spot just to the right of my shoulder, stared at it in horrified/rapt attention for about 5 minutes, then fled as if the hounds of hell were after her. (?!?)

    My current theories are that

    1) They do in fact see into the spirit world

    2) They replay little movies of good moments in their minds. Or else they’re creating movies in which they take over the world. Either one, really.

  6. nadbugs says:

    I like your supposing that Annie’s using you for her personal growth. It gives me a thought about your apartment-cat moment. She was doing the same thing? Facing down her worst fears? HAR! Hey listen, if these guys DO see the spirit world, never mind Wall Street, maybe it really is time to be afraid. And yes, either one in (2) above. What’s the difference? Maybe we should just let them have the world. They would do a better job with it than we.

  7. Eleanor says:

    I had a cat who became obsessed with one particular spot on my bathroom wall. He’d sit and stare at it when I was having a soak in the tub, home alone at night. I started to get really paranoid! We had a house with a pedestrian pathway running alongside it (and the bathroom was on the ground floor) – I started getting paranoid that there was someone lurking out there at night – outside my bathroom! 😦 I was creeped out for ages!

    • Oldcat says:

      Cats don’t usually watch people. Now, a mouse behind the wall, that’s something to pay attention to.

      • nadbugs says:

        Oh. Gosh. This could damage Eleanor’s self-esteem? Ellie! I’m sure you’re worth paying attention to!

      • Eleanor says:

        He’d sit on top of the toilet and stare at the wall (about head height!). Not at the window wall, but at the side with the pathway. I eventually decided that there really was nothing there, but he had me going for a while.

        It was one of those really old terraced houses with single skin walls, so any noises from outside were really clear and I never heard a thing when he was having one of his moments. Maybe he was just sitting in judgement of the botched paint job!

  8. Wazeau says:

    Yep yep, my cats I am sure see ghosts. I prefer that theory to the one where they are staring at nothing just to play with our heads.

  9. My guess is that he was communicating with a spirit. My cat does this all the time, in the same spot. It’s like they have a special “meeting spot” to catch up.

  10. Jaime says:

    My kitties do that also. I really do think it’s a form of meditation. That is the cutest picture!

    • nadbugs says:

      Well! Then Bugs is in good company, indeed, because your kitties are spectacular! I’m glad you relate to the cuteness in this picture. I thought it was just me. Every time I see Bugs’s little shoulders set like that, and his little tail wrapped round so neatly . . . . I thought I was just weird. Now it’s you and me together, I don’t feel so alone.

  11. Jaime says:

    I’m loving all of the different responses to your picture! I would like to believe that cats are very mystical, mysterious beings who have super powers we are unaware of. I believe they are a connection to the spiritual world as they seem very spiritual. I think that any human that shares a loving connection with one of these wonderful beings is truly blessed and should learn some lessons from them. I feel so lucky to have my two beauties and am fascinated with them. I truly can spend hours just watching their movements. They mesmerize me!

  12. Jaime says:

    I love my Coonies so much but, I suspect, I would love any feline that crossed my path! My Coonies totally live up to their reputation of being intelligent, funny, playful and “dog-like” in that they meet me at the door when I return home and they play fetch!

  13. Pingback: 21 Terrifying Things That Can Happen When You’re Home Alone | sooziQ

Leave a Reply

