The Honor Is Ours

We and a bunch of others have been awarded the Versatile Blogger prize, thanks to MaruCanKissMyFurry. . .

Bugs dictates the following response.

Pedro my man, this is indeed an honor.  Especially coming from you, whom we greatly admire over here.

As I recall, we got another award too, a while back.  From the esteemed “LifeWith4Cats.”   My Bean was too lame to respond properly that time.  She’s still lame, as you no doubt are aware.  Nothing has changed.

This award requires her to identify fifteen other blogs she likes.  Unfortunately, MaruCanKiss named almost all Bean’s faves.  And the ones he didn’t name that Bean also likes have probably already been awarded this prize.

So what can I say.  I can only comply partially with the requirements of this award.  Please understand the limitations I’m working under.  The Bean, you know.  Sad but true.

So here are the requirements, in order to accept the award:

1.  Thank the person (cat) who gave you the award and link back to them in your post:  Done.  “MaruCanKiss” totally rules and you all need to know that.

2.  Share 7 things about yourself.
Only seven?  Oh all right.  See below.

3.  Pass the Award on to 15 recently discovered blogs and let them know about it.
Well, here’s where the Bean’s lameness comes in.  I’m unable to comply.  The best I can do is to come up with six possibles and most of those have probably won already.

So here’s a blog-pal of mine I hope nobody’s tagged yet.  She is my partner in devious crimes and plots (which involve melting things and planning lethal flank-attacks on cult leaders).  She is quite the cohort.

I give you:  JhaJha!!
[insert thunderous deafening applause]

I urge you to drop by over there and see why JhaJha is quite so armed and dangerous.  Tell her to post more, too, while you’re at it.

And there’s CatWhisperer.  Her stunningly peaceful and elegant and gorgeous posts are balm, a welcome haven from my life of crime.

And there’s House of Carnivores This writer has a heart as big as all outdoors and she also gardens in it.  (Outdoors.  Not the heart.)

And OK Cats.  We love these good neighbors and friends for lots of reasons, but the one that really stands out is:  These guys brought to our attention Jackson Galaxy and Animal Planet’s My Cat From Hell.  Ahhh Jackson.  We are so indebted to OK cats for this wonderful guy.  Thank you so much Fuzzy and Zoe.  (And then come to find out, when we just visited them, we see they won yet another award.  Hmm.  Hope this isn’t too much adulation going down.)

And surely Katnip Lounge and the crazypants Catio has already won fame so richly deserved.  Go there for big yucks every time, and I do mean big and every.  And you have just got to see the picture of the smiling damselfly.

And surely Catsparella has won every award in the book by now.

So.  That is it, I’m afraid.  Plus “LifeWith4Cats” as already cited, of course, but she’s got like 93 comments on her “Home” page so you can see her draw to the great world.

Now.  About Moi.  About time.

I am truly not in the least bit concerned when I break things or cause other damage to the physical plant.

I have an iron stomach.  This pawsome organ permits me to devour things that would give lesser cats irritable bowel.

My essential nature expresses the yin of angels and the yang of demons – simultaneously.

The damage theme again.  Loss of sleep involved in this one.

Damage again.  Loss of life here.

(Sorry.  Run out of pretty colored creation-theme numbers.) 

I have tried my paw at interior decorating.  Thanks.  I like it too.

I am a tremendous athlete.  Yet despite enjoying that elevated status, I renounce the product endorsements that go along with it.  I disdain such bourgeois mercantilism.

Oh all right.  I can count.

And so, friends, readers, blog-pals all:  Thank you.  We are thrilled.

[Editor’s Note:  The next paragraph is now obsolete, thanks to dear wise and generous reader OldCat, who took pity on Bugs and gave the Bean instructions so simple she actually could follow them.  Cats totally off to OldCat.  This person is a born teacher and Cod knows the household over here sorely needs that kind of educational input.  You can tell from the photo following.  OK.  Now here’s the post as written — again, obsolete and hooray for OldCat.] 

Also lame is how she puts up links.  Notice how long and cluttered they are.  She can’t figure out how to put up the kind that are really short, in like just one word.  This seems to be within the range that most beans are able to achieve.  Not mine.

[Editor’s Note:  For the next work-out, this time with the widget thing, again all thanks and credit go to OldCat.  But unlike the one-word link thing, here Bean’s success is only qualified.  She stumbled into it, gracelessly and after numerous failed attempts only.  It is, therefore, extremely unlikely that she will ever be able to duplicate the results in the future.  This is not true learning, and Bugs’s negative assessment of Bean’s limitations remains.  Thank goodness, because otherwise the photo would have to change and we don’t want that.  Read on.]

The Bean remains lame.  It seems many other beans have no problem figuring out how to get the widget thingy into the margin.  Not this Bean.

We do our best, constrained by the limitations within which we must work.

About nadbugs

Anita loves cats. This must be because she, too, has had nine lives. She’s been dancing since she could walk, she was a commercial artist and advertising producer, she earned a third-degree black belt in Aikido, she is a drummer with the Afrique Aya Dance Company, she is an attorney, and she’s a meditator and a devoted student of Nonviolent Communication. She also spent one lifetime sidelined with a devastating back injury in 1992. Since then – FELDENKRAIS METHOD® to the rescue. The FELDENKRAIS METHOD is all about dreaming concretely – thinking intelligently and independently by way of a gracious and kind physicality. The work affords all who study it a process by which to reach, with movement, into the mind and the heart, to make nine lives into one whole being.
This entry was posted in Pictures, Things Cats, Humans Do, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to The Honor Is Ours

  1. Bugs!
    Dude! Congratulations on your award! Amazing what you have accomplished despite that lame Bean of yours. Well done, my friend!

    But, hey…do we really want everyone to know about our devious crimes and plots?!?

    And speaking of melting things…we just got power restored after a small electrical fire the other night, so I might be able to get my lame bean to publish some of my many posts I keep dictating. You have your Bean trained well. Keep up the good work, Bugs!

    • nadbugs says:

      Thank you, JhaJ. I am pleased that my travails are recognized. You can see from that last picture the toll it takes. I cannot always remain optimistic. So support helps a lot. As for the crimes and plots, I just thought I’d throw out some hints, just to strike fear into you-know-who’s hearts and minds. DANG!!! A small electrical fire??? Are you safe? Did you spit on it?

      • Yeah, Bugsy, we are all fine. We are still waiting for the power company to hook us back up so now we just have a few lights but no hot water or appliances. I did not have a chance to spit on the fire — Mama whisked me into my tent and threw me in the car away from all the commotion. I’ll tell you though, I’ve got new (secret) ideas on how we can use your melting-things-superpower with your hands of light.

        And last night I was so excited to be nominated for this great Versatile Blogger Award I had to run around screaming! But then I discovered that Pedro (from Maru Can Kiss My Furry…) nominated me for the One Beautiful Blog Award! Oh, geez! I was howling and running laps all night! Nobody slept. But the humans don’t look too happy for me this morning. Crazy beans.

  2. lifewith4cats says:

    Bugs my man, that picture is worth a thousand words. Anita, your so funny, Im glad you finaly accepted the award. I did wonder there for a little bit. 🙂 lol

  3. Congrats on your award, and it was nice to read more about you with your 7 things… I’m familiar with most of the blogs you names but not catwhisperer – I checked her out and her recent post was great! Thanks for letting me know about another kindred soul who loves flowers and cats. =^..^= Happy Furiday to you. Come visit me sometime!

  4. We are deeply honored, Bugs…as well as sympathetic. Our Bean is so pathetic it requires many many many of us just to keep her up to snuff! thanks for the award!

    also, we about wet our furry pants over your raison d’etre comment–living to bite!

    • nadbugs says:

      Helps to spread the labor. Now there’s a concept. Let me see if I can persuade Bean along those lines. I doubt it, though. Knowing her, more than one of us and we’d probably starve. As for the award, please never stop. We would be desolated if you did.

  5. Catsparella says:

    I’m always trying to get my cats to write posts, but somehow I’m also stuck doing the work! What am I doing wrong??

    Concats on your fabulous award, and thank you muchly for passing it along to me! Tis an honor and a privilege to be in such esteemed company 🙂

    • nadbugs says:

      Maybe it has to do with how much work your posts take. Research, keeping up with things, things like that. We don’t lift our whiskers to that extent. Probably only a bean would. But other beans sure appreciate your efforts, Catsp. We are all glad together for that, my friend.

  6. Anya says:

    It took me a while to figure out what this was all about but when I did – oh my goodness – I do feel honoured and deeply touched. Sometimes I feel like packing the blog in – “who cares, who knows” frame of mind – like Eeyore – boggy and sad….and then something like this happens. Thank you so very much!

  7. Oldcat says:

    Putting the image into the margin –

    On the widget page, select an Image WIdget and drag it into the spot you want it. Then put a link to the image in it.

    Getting a link to “Hide” under a word in the text – in the editor, select the word or phrase. Then go to the top and click the “add link” button – fill in the URL of the link and the line under that is the hover text.

  8. Eleanor says:

    Congratulations Bugs & Bean on your award (and on figuring out the sidebar!).

  9. nadbugs says:

    Well yes of course I completely deserved it. The Bean? Don’t make me laff.

Leave a Reply

