To Turning, To Stillness

It’s Yom Kippur, the most serious of new years for those in the Jewish tradition.  It’s a time for reflection, for looking back at one’s actions.  For noticing where a mismatch has occurred, between what one wished one had been capable of – and what actually occurred.

And looking forward, the aspirational idea is expressed in the Hebrew “t’shuvah,” turning.

To me this is about movement.  It’s a feeling-through, into the questions:  Where can the grip of stuckness be eased, loosened?  Where can I realistically call for turning, movement, change?  In myself?  In others?

And it’s about movement’s concurrent – stillness.  Where will stillness serve me, others, better?

What is “stillness”?  Can it be different from “stuckness”?

How much time have I, have others, got left to us to be still? to move?

Bugs contemplates mortality.

Bugs escaped from the harness again.  He got spooked, he got convulsed, he got out of the jacket, and he got straight to the Bolt Hole.  This time it wasn’t so easy to get him out.

Back to the drawing board.

We’re back indoors, in the harness and working on the leash, inside only.  Then I’m scooping him up in my arms and holding him close, just inside, the open door.

When we do that, I can feel his heart pounding.

We’re not going out again, until he is at peace with the idea.

“You got that right, Ma.”

I’m turning away from labeling Bugs generically as Mr. Monster, fearless predator.  I’m turning away from the expectation that he’ll be like that always, in all circumstances – and then being rudely surprised when he’s not.

I’m turning to paying attention to how he is, in the present moment.  How I am, in the present moment.

At the present moment, Bugs is Mr. Monster in the house and Mr. Mouse outside.  At the present moment, outside with him I’m going to be neither calm nor confident.

Bugs is as he is.  And how am I with that?

I want to turn toward what is.  Move with it if I can, stay still if not.

You’re supposed to fast for 25 hours, and greet others with the wish that their fasting be easy, or efficient.  I’ll just say:

Good Yom Tov, everybody.  Good day, good year.

About nadbugs

Anita loves cats. This must be because she, too, has had nine lives. She’s been dancing since she could walk, she was a commercial artist and advertising producer, she earned a third-degree black belt in Aikido, she is a drummer with the Afrique Aya Dance Company, she is an attorney, and she’s a meditator and a devoted student of Nonviolent Communication. She also spent one lifetime sidelined with a devastating back injury in 1992. Since then – FELDENKRAIS METHOD® to the rescue. The FELDENKRAIS METHOD is all about dreaming concretely – thinking intelligently and independently by way of a gracious and kind physicality. The work affords all who study it a process by which to reach, with movement, into the mind and the heart, to make nine lives into one whole being.
This entry was posted in Philosophy-Psychology, Pictures, Things Cats, Humans Do and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to To Turning, To Stillness

  1. Congratulations on this turning. I have no doubt it will lead you both towards stillness, whether it be indoors or out…

    (I do hope you can avoid the 25 hours of fasting, however. I find stillness within myself much easier with a full belly.)

  2. Sir Bugs and his dual personality, he must be confused as well, turning so suddenly. Does he truly want to go outside? Maybe he is better off indoors only, sometimes stuckedness is good.

  3. nadbugs says:

    I will really consider what you say here, Lounger. After all, you know cats! I think Bugs is of two minds about the outside (and about lots of things). Or maybe more than just two. Me, I’ve got him way beat. I’m all over the lot.

Leave a Reply

