Earthquakes In Arkansas??

This is how I’m feeling about it!

Bugs himself actually appears to be taking it all in stride.  This is a picture of him in mid-hunt; a fly-by of some ghastly Arkansas dinosaur insect or other.

I was going to wait until tomorrow to write about how loony all this earthquake mess is, in this part of the country I ask you —

But we just felt another one a few minutes ago.

At the same time we are on tornado watch.

A friend asks:  In an earthquake you’re supposed to go outside.  In a tornado you’re supposed to find a closet.  What happens when both are happening at the same time?

She answers her own question:  Find an outhouse.

I have one handy.  Just over yonder.  But I’m not much thrilled with grabbing Bugs and hanging out there.

Confused in Arkansas.

About nadbugs

Anita loves cats. This must be because she, too, has had nine lives. She’s been dancing since she could walk, she was a commercial artist and advertising producer, she earned a third-degree black belt in Aikido, she is a drummer with the Afrique Aya Dance Company, she is an attorney, and she’s a meditator and a devoted student of Nonviolent Communication. She also spent one lifetime sidelined with a devastating back injury in 1992. Since then – FELDENKRAIS METHOD® to the rescue. The FELDENKRAIS METHOD is all about dreaming concretely – thinking intelligently and independently by way of a gracious and kind physicality. The work affords all who study it a process by which to reach, with movement, into the mind and the heart, to make nine lives into one whole being.
This entry was posted in Empathy, Pictures and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Earthquakes In Arkansas??

  1. I vote for the bathtub – minus bubbles and water. For simultaneous tornado and earthquake, you should probably take a bottle of wine and some catnip into the tub when you go… Avoid the outhouse at all costs. (I think the outhouse rule applies even when there are no natural disasters involved.)

    Good luck. Stay safe and sane. Be extra patient with Bugs – he’s probably freaking out on the inside.

    • nadbugs says:

      MaruCanKiss, I so like the way you think. Unfortunately this hovel cabin possesses neither bathtub nor bubbles. Yeah. Well. I try to make fun here — but honestly, this is some scary sh*t. Thanks so much for the reminder that Bugs’s appearance might not tell the whole story.

  2. Have you considered moving?

  3. Orbit says:

    Oh my goodness- what is this world coming to???

  4. Wazeau says:

    Stay in bed. Pillow over the head, curled up around the cat.

    • nadbugs says:

      On my way. Minus cat. He’s on Top Shelf. Which in itself is interesting, considering it’s thundering and lightning-ing at the moment. Before when that happened, he used to stay way low and slink away into the Hell Room and not be seen for a few days. Am thinking I’ll include that fact-let in my next post.

    • Funny – I think you have that a little mixed up. During natural disasters and stressful situations, I prefer to be in bed, curled around my human’s head.

      • nadbugs says:

        Love makes you do crazy things, Pedro. I’m sure you’re right. Nevertheless, my love drives me to great heights. Regardless of the risk to my person catself. For I am : The Bugs.

  5. Melanie says:

    Oh no! Sorry to hear that you felt the quake. It’s really freaky for those of us that aren’t used to it! Glad to hear that Bugs is so nonchalant about it, though. Mine didn’t really seem like they were that worried when we felt the Virginia quake a few weeks(?) ago.

  6. lauowolf says:

    Our last earthquakes (California here) were the first for my year-old tabby guy.
    He went flat on the floor, ears back.
    When things calmed, he checked out the couch, and then decided the arm chair was at fault.
    He stalked it!
    Crept up on his belly and stared at it.
    I went over and talked about things, and patted him, and finally he decided the chair wasn’t doing anything any more.
    For all I know, he’s right.

    • nadbugs says:

      Armchair Menace: The Threat Arrives. Your little guy is the harbinger. Isn’t Hollywood in California? Just saying. Welcome to our twisted world, lauowolf. Sounds like you’re a kindred spirit. Delighted to see you here.

Leave a Reply

