Our Anniversary

Tomorrow it’s two years!

I’m posting this now because our friend Wazeau has given me an idea for another post — and Monsieur is actually asleep at the moment.  For the next five minutes hopefully.  And then the show must and it will go on.  And on.  And on.  Until one of us or the other falls out.  Briefly.  And then begins again.

What was that about cats needing 16, 18 hours of sleep?  Bugs needs about four and he’s jumping up and good to go.  Again.  And again.  And again.

Here he is, celebrating a day early with a spray of catnip.

I don’t know, maybe it’s the B&W vibe, but this snap reminds me of Clark Gable.  Something about that dashing, devil-may-care attitude.

Clark Gable, 1956

 “Frankly, my dear, I don’t give a damn.”

About nadbugs

Anita loves cats. This must be because she, too, has had nine lives. She’s been dancing since she could walk, she was a commercial artist and advertising producer, she earned a third-degree black belt in Aikido, she is a drummer with the Afrique Aya Dance Company, she is an attorney, and she’s a meditator and a devoted student of Nonviolent Communication. She also spent one lifetime sidelined with a devastating back injury in 1992. Since then – FELDENKRAIS METHOD® to the rescue. The FELDENKRAIS METHOD is all about dreaming concretely – thinking intelligently and independently by way of a gracious and kind physicality. The work affords all who study it a process by which to reach, with movement, into the mind and the heart, to make nine lives into one whole being.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Our Anniversary

  1. Now I know why he’s named Bugs! Great pic, such a lively expression.

  2. nadbugs says:

    Well — I just realized in an edit somewhere, the essential reference to catnip fell off. Explains the lively expression.

  3. lahgitana says:

    I see those pupils dilating! Run, Bean!

    Only 4 hours of sleep! Never heard of that! No wonder you were concerned about Spiders living with her, er, lively teaching-kitty for 9 YEARS!

    • nadbugs says:

      No sh*t!! (Altho the “four hours” might be a titch exaggerated. Whatever. I do keep waiting for him to slow down. Just a little. That is NO exaggeration!)

    • Aw, now, Spot is just too smart. He sleeps the requisite amount. Until he isn’t sleeping. Yeah, at nine he’s not slowed down much, but he’s a Bengal – part Asian Leopard Cat – so he will never be a typical housecat.
      I have a silly question – is it Bugs’ “mom” that is called Bean? Wondering because that’s my friend Socks’ childhood nickname.

  4. rangewriter says:

    Oh my. I was spinning through someone else’s comments when your gravatar caught my eye. That’s my cat, I thought! Well, it is, but for the the tiny black nose, which REALLY makes my little Poppy resemble Mr. Gable, now that you mention it! Gotta love a furball.

  5. Wethinks you doth protest too much about four hours of sleep. SURELY you mean fourTEEN!! That, or Bugs is seriously in need of species re-assignment.

    • nadbugs says:

      Oh Lounger, I definitely protesteth too much; you know me. I do think it is around fourteen. But I also think we might look at the species-reassignment concept. Crocodile? Scorpion?

  6. Siena says:

    Happy Anniversary!!!!

  7. littlemiao says:

    Awww, happy anniversary!

    Chun and I completely sympathize with the 4-hour sleep issue. For the first year and a half, he gave me the worst insomnia because of course his 4 hours of sleep were during the daytime. Then Sprocket came along and now he appreciates every moment of rest he can get! I figured that people with a new human baby rarely get much sleep, so what I had to endure wasn’t much different from that. 🙂

    Bugs is such a handsome kitty, definitely a movie star! I see his catnip crumbs.

    • nadbugs says:

      Yah, LM. That baby parallel seems so apt. Head-butts. Wanting to hop over and see how you are over at the LM household this morning. Will do so. x0x0x0xx0 Bugs & Nadbugs

  8. Wazeau says:

    A very happy two-year anniversary to you! Bugs does have a very Gable-esq thing going on there.

  9. Melanie says:

    And somehow I didn’t wish you a happy two-year anniversary! Many apologies. Too many balls, not enough air. Wait. That didn’t come out quite right. Bah.

Leave a Reply

