Distance No Object

Hello.

This happy little guy is around 600 miles away at the moment.  Not for long.  His name is Trex.  He is a miracle cat.  By this Saturday night, if the creek don’t rise, he will be here.

All it took was our announcement, last post, that we’d finally decided to get another cat.  Our new friend Andrea commented that she got her kitty Leo from Chrystal, a private rescuer at “Daily Dose of Dogs (a/k/a Cats With Your Coffee),” and distance was no object.  That’s all it took.  Hey presto, kitty manifest-o.

Chrystal, Andrea, me — we all marvel at this.  Read about it from Chrystal’s and Andrea’s point of view.  My face hurts, from smiling.

So this coming Saturday, Teresa and I are going on a round-trip ten-hour 600-mile road trip, meeting Chrystal roughly halfway, and we’re coming back with Trex.

What’s that you say?  There aren’t enough homeless cats around here like locally perhaps?

Ah, but you need to know why Trex sounds like the perfect buddy for Bugs.  Trex’s current sidekick Frosting is into the shoulder-launch maneuver.  Bugs used to specialize in a variation of that, the claw-launch maneuver – but it sounds like both Frosting and Bugs came up in the same ninja school.  Trex, on the other hand, sounds like he’s more from the nonviolent philosophical lineage.  This is the perspective that Bugs needs, if you ask me and even if you don’t.

Trex as a kitten.

Also, Trex is a miracle cat.  Let Chrystal tell it.  How Trex nearly died once – this  may not be Trex’s exact story, but it will give you an idea of what Chrystal and her family do – and twice, in what was surely the Summer of Horrors chez Chrystal.

But if you’re reading this, I’m guessing you don’t need to be told why we’re doing this crazy thing.  If you love life, if you believe that life is sacred, that no life is dispensable, you already understand.  Two lives, actually.  Chrystal says by adopting Trex, we’re making room for somebody else to be saved.

How’s Bugs doing in all this, you ask?

I’m proud of him.  I figured he’d be seriously freaked by the huge convulsions involved in transforming The Hell Room into Trex’s “base camp.”  Not so.  He took it more or less in stride.

He’s sleeping now and I don’t want the flash to wake him.  So here’s an archive picture.

OK so far.

About nadbugs

Anita loves cats. This must be because she, too, has had nine lives. She’s been dancing since she could walk, she was a commercial artist and advertising producer, she earned a third-degree black belt in Aikido, she is a drummer with the Afrique Aya Dance Company, she is an attorney, and she’s a meditator and a devoted student of Nonviolent Communication. She also spent one lifetime sidelined with a devastating back injury in 1992. Since then – FELDENKRAIS METHOD® to the rescue. The FELDENKRAIS METHOD is all about dreaming concretely – thinking intelligently and independently by way of a gracious and kind physicality. The work affords all who study it a process by which to reach, with movement, into the mind and the heart, to make nine lives into one whole being.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

63 Responses to Distance No Object

  1. Oldcat says:

    Good luck with your new kitty!

  2. oh HORRAY and HORRAY!!!! Oh you cannot know how happy I am that you’re getting a Chrystal’s Cat! A cathouse cat! A rescue kitty! You will NOT regret it! We have never regretted the 8 hour each way trip we took to get Leo! I know you’re going further, but still, it’s a great thing you are doing! and you’re right, two lives are being saved, Trex’s and whoever comes along to take his spot! Oh HORRAY!! I could just hug you!!!! and your kitties!

    • nadbugs says:

      Andrea, you are the BEST and the BEST. To know that you have already done something as crazy as this and are happy about it — honestly, I can’t tell you how much that means to me. And you made it happen. Marvelous. (And I think you actually went further than we’re going. You hold the record, perhaps? We should ask Chrystal!) Andrea you are a star in the sky.

  3. Yay!!! Congratulations! The first few days (or weeks?) might be a challenge, but with Jackson Galaxy’s advice you WILL succeed. I’m so excited for Bugs!!!

    I highly recommend donuts for your road trip to pick up Trex. My human gave me a nibble of one today, and it was heaven. And convenient for driving, so you can keep one paw on the wheel. 🙂

  4. How exciting! Enjoy the trip, and the new fur-person!

  5. Carolyn says:

    It sounds like the perfect match for Bugs. Poor little Trex needs a loving home and there you are. Look forward to seeing the meet up. I hope Bugs is ready for a philosopher buddy 🙂

    • nadbugs says:

      We’ll see! I think The Bugster is having second thoughts. He’s definitely acting differently. More needy. If possible. I’m so glad you’re with us in this one.

  6. Dianda says:

    Trex looks absolutely adorable! I hope the meet up between Bugs and Trex will go fine!

  7. Wazeau says:

    Cannot wait to hear more of your trip and your lovely new rescued kitten. He does look like he would be more than a good match for Bugs. Just look at that cattitude in his face! A slightly kooky joie de vivre if you know what I mean. Hope the trip and the acclimation all go smoothly.

    • nadbugs says:

      Oh I totally love the way you put that! Kooky joie de vivre! You rock my friend. Paws crossed about the acclimation. If I could feel less nervous about it, I would. I know it’d help. Unfortunately — nervous. Thank goodness Teresa’s with me.

  8. Cat's Cats says:

    Hi there, we came over from Chrystal’s blog to say congratulations on your decision to adopt Trex, honestly you won’t be sorry!!! Chrystal’s kitties are raised on pure love and are the most easy going, happy and gentle cats you will ever meet. I know this because I have TWO of them, named Jimmy and Kip, that were adopted a year apart (yes I went back for more) and I cannot begin to tell you the joy they bring us. Thank you for not being deterred by distance, we drove down from Canada to get our kitties and it was so worth it! Good luck next Saturday, we’ll be tuning in to see how everything goes 🙂

    • nadbugs says:

      Wow. I have been raving to friends about how there are more people than just me who did this — but your message takes the cake! This is fantastic to hear! You went back again! Amazing! I am so thrilled at what you say! Thank you so so much!

  9. YEAH!!!! We love that you are going to adopt Trex…you will NOT be disappointed. We have helped Chrystal transport before (going east) and love her and all her kitties!!!

    • nadbugs says:

      Wonderful. I am so glad to hear your encouragement, and that you have been Chrystal’s hench-person. It takes a CB village, doesn’t it. This is one of the most heartening experiences I can ever remember — and it hasn’t hardly started yet. Thank you a million for all you do.

  10. Hi! We are fans of Chrystal’s and just read about your upcoming adoption of Trex on her blog. We wanted to come by and say Hi and Congrats! Each and every time one of Chrystal’s kitties gets adopted, there is much rejoicing all over the world (we are in France)!

    Purrs, Woofs, Neighs and Hugs,
    The Chans, Tommy, Vidock and #1

    • nadbugs says:

      I know where you are! I’ve enjoyed your blog (too rarely — you’re on blogspot, I think, and I find the gap kind of big between it and WordPress) — so how wonderful you found your way here, on such a happy day. Felicitations mes amis! mes amies! however you spell that!

  11. The Monkeys says:

    Congratulations on your upcoming adoption!

    We too adopted a miracle kitty from Chrystal last summer (Gabriel) and we are all the way in Montreal, Canada! You won’t be sorry. The love these cats get before they’re adopted out makes an already special being even more wonderful. Chrystal and her family are the best and we know that Trex will make a perfect addition to your home.

    • nadbugs says:

      Honestly?? Montreal?? Heavens! That is really far! Oh I’m just brimming with amazement. You see how many people here are saying something similar, about how Chrystal’s cats are special? I just can’t wait to meet her and Trex. I am SO glad you’re telling me this!

  12. Melanie says:

    Yayyyyy! I’m so glad that you’re taking in a new cat, and that it’s one of Chrystal’s group! I’ve always felt bad that there is no room for one here so now I can live vicariously through you. 🙂

    Trex sounds like the perfect Bugs companion too.

    • nadbugs says:

      Oh, Melanie — all you do — well, there may not be room in your HOUSE, but as I think I said over at your place, your HEART is as big as all outdoors. You think Trex sounds perfect? So exciting.

  13. HIp Hip HURRAH!!! Bugs-n-Trex, sounds like a wonderful breakfast cereal! And I love cereal.

    You’ll be so excited the miles will just fly.

    • nadbugs says:

      Oh Lounger I’m sure you’re right, about the miles flying by. The whole thing is just too exciting. And you had a hand in this miracle! How can we thank you? So many people know about Chrystal, but I certainly didn’t until Andrea told me, and Andrea found me through you — so you are really spreading the joy. And I thought your humor was enough to make my day!

      I know what you mean about the breakfast cereal. I already warned Chrystal that the name *would* morph. She’s cool with that. As with so much else, too, it seems.

  14. Lana G. says:

    Oh, you won’t regret it!! I adopted two of my own from the “Fantastic Fifteen” and they are the best!! In fact, my Jasper and your Trex could be twins. I’m SO THRILLED that you’ve chosen a cathouse kitty. My heart smiles today. Congrats to you and to Trex!! ❤

    • nadbugs says:

      Ah grand, another happy Chrystal fan. This is just tremendous. I hope we stay connected. It’s too amazing you have two. We need to stay in touch. We’re family, after all!

  15. lahgitana says:

    ah, how willing we are to make long trex for our feline friends! can’t wait to hear more!

    • nadbugs says:

      You see how many have done this? Awesome! So glad you’re waiting to hear, Lahgitana. A glad day indeed when we “met.”

      • lahgitana says:

        >:-D Me too, Bean! Happy kitty! Hey, are you getting Trex on Caturday?!

        • nadbugs says:

          Hoots! CATurday! THANK YOU for noticing! It’s a sign! It’s auspicious! Say, Linguist Lahggie? How come auspicious and suspicious and pish tushious are so close yet mean nothing like the same thing? Why is the sky blue? Why is there air?

          • lahgitana says:

            because, Grasshopper!

              • Now now, no need for that sort of language! And, ‘pish tushious’? Pish-tush, I’ve heard… air is something that cat hair floats in, I know that one!

                • lahgitana says:

                  Bean prolly meant pish-TUCKUS! >:-D I don’t know what it means and I’m pretty sure I ain’t gonna ask!

                • nadbugs says:

                  Well, see, Lahgitana is a linguist and so she knows the formalities. Tush is slang for tuchus. Well, I said I wasn’t going to tell, but this is too good to pass up. Look it up, under “toochis” — be sure to enjoy the joke and the audio also, which gives you the exact pronunciation — at: http://www.bubbygram.com/yiddishglossary.htm

                  Thank you very much for clarifying what air is for. Of course.

                  • lahgitana says:

                    that is one excellent site! i call the Big Mister “Bubbelah” and many derivations/variations thereof! Also, my original nickname came from the Yiddish: Oi! It’s a very long, very odd evolution to get to my current nickname, and includes a nod to Oi vey! and Fozzie Bear!

                    I spent many pre-teen years in West Orange, NJ, where a lot of my friends were Jewish–I was the little heathen girl who’d go to Saturday Shul (sp?) and ask questions! Didn’t have enough sense to know I was a guest!

                    now you’ll have hair-air for four! yaaaay Spiders!

                    (I’m perhaps not so much a linguist as confused by the parts of many languages roaring around in my head!)

  16. Conga-rats!! Our Audrey is from Chrystal’s Cathouse as well!! It was just over a year ago that we were meeting Chrystal & one of her daughters at the TN/KY border. I’m so excited!! We suggest Valerian for scenting introductions if you don’t already use that. Wheeee! The Teenage Mutant Ninja Kitty Horde & their Feeders will be napping in your, Trex & Bugs honor! As others have said, you just can’t go wrong with a cat from Chrystal!

    • nadbugs says:

      Gosh so it would seem. You too!! She has fans coming out of her ears! Thanks for the valerian tip — but Bugs seems to feel it’s catnip, and goes accordingly nuts with it. And then drops it immediately. We’re going with Jackson Galaxy’s floral essences. People praise his Peacemakers formulation to the skies. I have an idea we could use a little Peacemaker. Knowing Bugs as I do. Still, I might be surprised. Might heck. Bound to be! Nap on, Horde and Feeders!

  17. We can’t thank you enough for adopting Trex from Chrystal ~ we have been friends with Chrystal for ages and know how hard she and her family work to rescue cats and kittens. We just know Trex has found a wonderful forever home where he can be safe and happy. Sending blessings and love. xx

    • nadbugs says:

      Oh thank you thank you. I can hardly imagine the work. And the grief. I almost couldn’t stand to read about the Summer of Horrors. But I couldn’t stop reading, either. I stayed up way too late with it. I just couldn’t believe it. I’m so glad you’re friends with Chrystal. Bet she is, too. Thank you so much for your good wishes.

  18. Prancer Pie says:

    Concatulations! Chrystal is amazing. Have a safe trip.

  19. MTVA says:

    Wonderful news, and such a lovable little furry face! This is going to be so much fun – for you, the cats, and all of us! I just can’t wait to see what happens when Bugs and Trex meet for the first time. Safe Trip and Happy Trails to you!

    • nadbugs says:

      Isn’t he cute? Chrystal has a number of pics of him and he seems to be grinning in every one. Thank you for having fun with us! We love having you along for the adventure!

  20. What exciting and happy news!

  21. Good Noos. Trex gets a furrrever home, and Bugs gets a cuddle-buddy/sidekick/fellow-plotter.

    Hope the trip goes smoothly and with minimal weather.

    ppuurrrrrrrrrrrrr

  22. kimmo says:

    OMG!!! I love Teddy’s smile. Bugs might need some new pomade- he won’t be the only handsome face anymore! Can’t wait to talk. xxxooo

  23. kimmo says:

    One more thing, Stewie and Meezer are happy to know there will be two boys ….now they can double date. Especially cause they are both sooooo cute!

  24. Pingback: Road Trip! (Trex Is An Angel) | catself

  25. Pingback: My Homepage

Leave a Reply

