Premature?

Bugs hardly ate last night.  This morning he threw up all of the tiny amount of baby-food and tuna oil I spoon-fed him.  Reader-Amy and my friend Christine say to worry; I am worried.  We’re going to the vet later today.

As I wrote to Amy, when I was prepping just now for the visit, reviewing the blog and taking notes, I now see with intense concern that Bugs has been off his food pretty much since Fang arrived on January 28.  That is one hell of a long time!  I am now chewing nails at the coincidence that led me to assume — hope — that this was behavior-related because of the introduction and that things would settle down. Now I see they’ve got worse.

I am flummoxed.  But for not eating, Bugs seems fine.  Ears and nose cool and he beat the beejeesus out of Fang several times this morning.  Plus he’s been using the facilities commensurate with the (tiny) amount of fluid and food he has been able to hold down —

What could this be?  The only thing I can testify to is that when I was spoon-feeding him last night, a little of the ground chicken, I noticed he was chewing a little funny and making odd movements with his head.

I don’t see how I can make it til the vet at 2:00; I’m pretty much beside myself.  I hope your comments come in soon.  I’ll be glued here waiting — I’m good for nothing else.

About nadbugs

Anita loves cats. This must be because she, too, has had nine lives. She’s been dancing since she could walk, she was a commercial artist and advertising producer, she earned a third-degree black belt in Aikido, she is a drummer with the Afrique Aya Dance Company, she is an attorney, and she’s a meditator and a devoted student of Nonviolent Communication. She also spent one lifetime sidelined with a devastating back injury in 1992. Since then – FELDENKRAIS METHOD® to the rescue. The FELDENKRAIS METHOD is all about dreaming concretely – thinking intelligently and independently by way of a gracious and kind physicality. The work affords all who study it a process by which to reach, with movement, into the mind and the heart, to make nine lives into one whole being.
This entry was posted in Things Cats, Humans Do, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Premature?

  1. Anya says:

    “Chewing funny” and making odd movements makes me think it might be a tooth or gum problem. That is relatively minor and all required would be a good teeth cleaning. “Easy for you to say”, poor Bugs may respond. Keep us posted and best of luck.

    • nadbugs says:

      Oh I do hope you’re right! But why throw up? I could understand if this morning’s food required teeth at all — but I was focusing on gastric trouble and so it was totally mooshy. You could have sucked it through a straw!

  2. Dianda says:

    If cats are healthy, they can survive a day or two (maybe even more?) without food. – My cats didn’t ate for a day, because they were too picky to eat the meat.

    But it’s a good thing you noticed tho -since it’s been going on for a while. And a good thing you’re going to the vet! Maybe it isn’t that bad as you might think it is. He does seem fine, but cats are masters in hiding pain. I can’t explain the weird movement with his jaw/head tho. 😦 But he did eat when you fed him, just weird that he threw it up in the morning.

    I hope it’s behavioral, and when everything has settled down, he’ll eat again. If not, I hope the vet has a solution.
    I’ll send healing thoughts your and bugs way! Keep us updated! Stay calm, and don’t forget to breathe!

  3. nadbugs says:

    Thank you! I am indeed fighting for breath. All last night, too, come to think of it. It’s the dehydration that I’m really worried about. It is the durndest thing, isn’t it, how they are with pain.

    • Dianda says:

      I can’t find anything in my books about it. 😦
      But I agree with Anya, it could be a tooth or gum problems. and vomiting, that could be so many reasons.
      Does bugs drinks enough water? If he’d be dehydrated, he’d be tired too.
      How long do you have to wait, til you can go to the vet?

      • nadbugs says:

        Yes, it’s the uncertainty-anxiety that I seem to be fighting. He used to drink plenty. I haven’t seen him drink in a couple of days. He doesn’t seem tired. Three hours before vet. They’re going to be long ones.

        • Dianda says:

          You can check if he is dehydrated by grasping his scruff, and gently pull it up. If he would be healthy and hydrated, the skin should spring back immediatly, if not, the skin will be slower to retract. Or check his gums, if his gums feel tacky and not slippery, he could be dehydrated.

          And maybe the food you gave him the past few days contain moisture too. (is moisture the correct word?)

          Try to relax a bit? Its understandable that you’re stressed out about it. But Bugs might know and act weird too.

          • nadbugs says:

            Thank you for the tip about the skin and gums. I will keep it in mind for future reference — and let the vet do it this time. Bugs has retreated to Top Shelf and I’d like to let him to rest and just be until the dreaded visit. His food, being raw meat and home-cooked base with water, has always had moisture (perfect word, by the way, yay you). I am doing my best to relax, nonstrivingly. Quite a challenge.

  4. IsobelandCat says:

    If he’s dehydrated you can tell by lifting his skin between thumb and forefinger.
    How are his teeth.
    Hope it’s something minor, but you are right to get him checked out. Fingers crossed.

    • nadbugs says:

      Last time the vet said his teeth are great. I haven’t checked lately (must remember to do that regularly in future). Thank you for your well-wishing, Isobel.

  5. Fingers crossed. We know how nail-biting it can be to worry. You’ll be at the vet soon. The best thing you can do for him is to stay calm. Cats pick up on our feelings. If we’re worried, they pick up on our stress. Keep us posted. Our vet came today to see two of our boys and we’re so grateful he comes to our house in his mobile clinic.

  6. I know it sucks when we don’t know what is going on with our babies! JhaJha and I are holding you both in love. Well, honestly, she would probably hiss at you and say something like, “Enough already! My Bugsy needs some wildebeest! Or at least let him eat that little intruder.” She doesn’t realize what a sensitive being Bugs really is. Once you get through the vet visit and rule out all the bad possibilities, you will both feel much better. In the meantime, I agree with the gang…BREATH! And go heavy on the flower essences or whatever your remedy of choice is.

    hugs

    • nadbugs says:

      Thank you so much, typist, great to see you back. Please tell JhaJha that she needs to eat the wildebeest for Bugs, because as matters currently stand the only thing he’s good for is a teensy spot of yoghurt. Who could imagine it’d be a cause for joy, to see him nibble on yoghurt and it stay down.

  7. minlit says:

    I also agree with Anya, but you know what? He’s probably under a lot of stress. His whole universe just turned on its head. he’s not the only cat in the world now. And he probably doesn’t much care for that notion. Stress can do all kinds of weird things to a body. Still, as everyone says, better safe than sorry. xx

    • nadbugs says:

      The way I was thinking exactly, dear minlit. Actually this helps a lot to get me back self-connected. So I have been thinking just as you’ve written, exactly that, all along — the only thing that’s changed now is, we’re going to the vet to rule out stuff. Right? That’s not so scary.

  8. My aunti once did something similar… stopped eating and then made funny head movements. She had eaten a bug and when she swallowed it, its ectoskeloten (what do you expect regarding the spelling thing… I’m a cat!) scratched her throat. A shot of antibiotics did the trick.

  9. Marcy Benham says:

    Breathe with me now….inhale – come on now, deeply…exhale…..inhale…exhale…couple of more times now, inhale…exhale. There. Now, Bugs wouldn’t be playing and swatting and beatin’ the bejeesus out of Fang if he was feeling punky. Being off one’s feed is entirely different from not eating at all. My Uma goes off her feed from time to time, barely finishing breakfast or dinner, my portions get smaller…next thing I know, she’s up on the counter snacking on the dogs food which I keep in an open measuring cup there. Portions go up, she’s back on her feed again. It’s usually about the time I’m ready to take her in to the vet that she gets normal again. Sigh. I don’t understand it but it happens. Everyone’s right, though, about you relaxing so that Bugs doesn’t get upset any more than he already is by his world changes. You KNOW we’re all holding positive thoughts for you and your crew! Trust, Anita. Trust. Love to you!!

    • nadbugs says:

      This is a priceless answer, dear Marcy. I’m actually smiling in the midst of all this anxiety, thinking how clearly I “hear” your voice in what you’ve written. Terrific. So heartening. Thank you!!

  10. Oldcat says:

    No problem in checking it out. Maybe he’s just occupied.

    Julius is a funny eater. He spits up every so often, is so uninterested in food that when I get home he wants to go out rather than eat, and will let any of the other cats eat from his plate if they come up. It seems like he never eats, but he’s a big cat and healthy.

    • nadbugs says:

      Very good to know, Oldcat. Bugs looks the same as you describe Julie — in the pink of health. Despite that he’s pretty much starved himself for three weeks now. A mystery. Like there aren’t enough mysteries, with cats.

  11. Waiting is hard! But you’re doing the right thing (of course!). It could be anything, or nothing – the vet will know.

  12. sheesh. If it’s not another, it’s one thing!
    Fingers crossed for Bugs–The fact that he has energy to play and be interested is a good sign; miserable kitties (in my experience) tend to hide and be asocial. My crew has been barfing a bit more lately due to spring shedding–I bought Cat grass the other day and started the petromalt to “ease” things through. Let us know how Bugs does, not much longer to go.
    xx Trish

    • nadbugs says:

      Thank you thank you, Trish — seems you’re right on target in our case. The vet actually said cats need the grass-fiber they get, in the wild, from eating rabbits’ innards. Lovely stuff we contemplate, with our babies, isn’t it so.

  13. Anne D says:

    Bad tooth?? My son’s cat which he had had for a couple of years was tame but not affectionate. We noticed that his teeth were really grungy (he was eating). The vet did the dental, took out a bad tooth, and he is a different cat now–loves laps, purrs all the time.

  14. lauowolf says:

    (((Hugs)))

    No clear idea, except that the fuzzy guys can be incredibly stubborn about food, can barf anytime the think about it, and can take your heart in their pointy little paws and mangle it at times.
    I hope the vet has something useful and unscary to contribute.

    • nadbugs says:

      Dadgummit, Lauowolf, your comment went into spam and it took me forever to find & retrieve it. I wish I’d seen this at the time. I would have appreciated your remarks totally then. Stubborn and mangling. PERFECT. And isn’t it wonderful that we didn’t need the vet after all. So far. My very very best to you.

  15. Ivy says:

    I’m late in commenting but nonetheless worried! Let us know how it goes at the vet!

  16. Purrrrrrring that the V*T visit went well, with minimal pain for Bugs, the V*T or the bean.

  17. Wazeau says:

    Hoping for good news from the vet. Just don’t castigate yourself over anything and remember to eat something yourself!

    • nadbugs says:

      Wow, thank you so much, Wazeau. Of course I was castigating myself. Of course! About letting things go so long. And again, you nailed it. I haven’t eaten anything. Let me just finish these wonderful comments and then I shall. You’re a good mama.

  18. I wonder if he got a touch of whatever it was that Fang had… I’m sure you’ve been to the vet and are back already, I wish I’d seen this earlier but we had a very busy day today. We’re purring and praying that he’ll be just fine really fast!

    • nadbugs says:

      Thank you, Andrea. I was afraid he’d caught Fang’s thing, but as you can see from next post, it wasn’t that. It was Fang-related — but not in quite that way. Whew.

Leave a Reply

