Fine Feline Fettle

Some of you have asked what raw diet I’m using.  To keep the boys fit and in fighting form.

This looks like it could be fun and affectionate.

The raw diet I use depends on three essential elements:  One, organic ground chicken.  Two, a recipe that calls for a homemade sweet-potato-oatmeal base.  Three, powdered nutritional supplement.

But the prediction is, this will only end in tears.

The first ingredient is raw free-range organic ground chicken I get frozen in tubes from my local health-food store.

Fang tries to stave off the inevitable with the ugly-face.

The sweet-potato-oatmeal recipe comes from Rebecca Remillard, DVM, at PetDiets.com.  To study up on the question according to her, go here. (Please note:  No payola has changed hands, from any source mentioned in this post; this is just info FYI on what I use.)

Next Fang tries the stink-eye.

Decide whether you want to buy a recipe from Remillard – or whether you’d prefer first to visit with the excellent folks at the University of California at Davis School of Veterinary Medicine.  They were unbelievably generous in answering my myriad questions over the phone.

Now here’s the head-crush technique.

The last, essential ingredient in the raw diet is “BalanceIt” powdered nutritional supplement.  This is mandatory, not optional.  Scroll down here, past “canine” to “feline,” and have a look what’s in this stuff.  You might want to buy one of their recipes instead of Remillard’s.  Find their recipes here.

The boys are in fine feline fettle.

Bugs, éminence grise, retains his dignity to the end.

About nadbugs

Anita loves cats. This must be because she, too, has had nine lives. She’s been dancing since she could walk, she was a commercial artist and advertising producer, she earned a third-degree black belt in Aikido, she is a drummer with the Afrique Aya Dance Company, she is an attorney, and she’s a meditator and a devoted student of Nonviolent Communication. She also spent one lifetime sidelined with a devastating back injury in 1992. Since then – FELDENKRAIS METHOD® to the rescue. The FELDENKRAIS METHOD is all about dreaming concretely – thinking intelligently and independently by way of a gracious and kind physicality. The work affords all who study it a process by which to reach, with movement, into the mind and the heart, to make nine lives into one whole being.
This entry was posted in Things Cats, Humans Do and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Fine Feline Fettle

  1. Boys… boys… boys…. LOVE ONE ANOTHER! You’re brothers.
    The above is what my peep says to us when… you know… What a peep!

  2. Dianda says:

    Maybe I should give it a try what you’re doing.
    I give my cats raw meat, special made raw meat that contains meat of 5 animals, organs and stuff.
    But it doesn’t stay inside with Hiro.

    • nadbugs says:

      Ah ha, Dianda. Wonder what could be the problem. Do check out the recipes. I think you’ll find the meat quality is super-important — but you’ve got that covered. Maybe you need the bulk of the sweet-potato-oatmeal. Plus, I believe the latter is very important, not just for bulk but also to feed the friendly gut bacteria the cat needs. Hope things work a little better. Can you call the Davis people? (I know it’d be an international call; maybe you have a closer school of vets that knows something about nutrition?) There unfortunately seems to be very few who know about that specialty . . . . Maybe your vet would be willing to put in a call for you?

      • Dianda says:

        I’m planning to give my vet a call later this week or next week, when Hiro is still giving trouble with the food. I’m just not sure if he’s supporting the whole “feeding raw” thing.

        I think I can call the David people, but it would be really expensive. But maybe I can mail them instead?

        • Harley and I eat a raw food diet, and for some reason, I cannot tolerate any red meat. I throw it up within a minute or two of eating. I do well on chicken, turkey or rabbit but can’t eat beef, bison, venison.

          • Dianda says:

            I know there is beef/red meat in it.
            It could be an allergy, but it’s going to be tricky how to find out what he’s allergic for. Because when I give him raw chicken, he doesn’t seem to have any trouble.

            • nadbugs says:

              I have heard that, about the red meat, that some cats are allergic. Maybe that’s the problem?

              • Dianda says:

                Could be! The meat consists out of Fish 20%, Bovine 30%, Lamb 35%, chicken 15%.
                He has no problem with chicken or fish. I gave it to him before. Bovine and lamb is a different story tho.

  3. Ah, brotherly love is the best.

  4. Aw, look at them play like little boys! yeah, boy cat play can be rough! (so can girl cat, but somehow they always seem daintier to me…) but no one looks seriously harrassed, just tough fun playful! Boys will be boys right?

  5. CATachresis says:

    Oh boys! Kiss and make up will ya. It will be easier in the long run lol Love the pictures. I hope you are surviving ok?

  6. Ivy says:

    Oh yeah, such fun post! The pictures are delightful. The info on the raw food, insightful (Oh, my, I’m rhyming! LOL).
    Anyway, thank you so much for the explanation. Here in Brazil we are sooooo behind on all of the raw food stuff. No supplement powder to buy, difficult access to ground organic chicken. We don’t even have gain free options to buy! I worry and wish I could find an alternative. Later I’ll read the recipes more attentively, see if I can research a little more about the subject down here.
    I echo Catachresis… Are you doing ok?

    • nadbugs says:

      Wow, Ivy, thank you so much for telling this! In Brazil! Gosh. Seems so difficult . . . . and the supplement powder does seem so very important. You could perhaps buy it on-line? If you have the funds? A little goes a very long way . . . . And thank you so much for your concern. It has been a really rough ride — but hopefully smoothing out? I hate to say that. Seems like every time I do, we backslide. Still. As of today, fun was had. One day at a time, right?

      • Ivy says:

        I know, everytime we say things are better it seems something else happens, right? So let’s leave it at that and see how it goes with your boys. I saw that I had a typo before, I meant grain-free options (I’m sure you understood it, I just wanted to confirm it). And the thing with the chicken is that you can find all kinds of chicken here… just not organic. Yet. I’m sure we’re going to have all of this in time, the trend of organic food is starting to pick up around here so that’s a natural next step. What I’m currently doing is alternating the regular dry cat food with some raw beef and chicken. I’ll keep studying and improving that. As you said, one day at a time!

  7. Mary Wiesner says:

    I also feed my cats a raw diet, but I do not add any fillers like rice, vegetables, etc. (Sorry… I’m just not a supporter of that since cats “in the wild” wouldn’t come into contact with it anyway.) My recipe comes from http://www.feline-nutrition.org. They have a great article on “Easy Raw Feeding for the Busy Person”. I purchase 5 lb tubes of ground meat, bones, and organs (turkey or chicken) from Hare Today, Gone Tomorrow and mix it with the list of supplements they give on the site. I’ve recently started adding Guar Gum because one of my cats has a problem with constipation once in a while. My cats love it and have been doing great on it. I highly recommend switching your cats to raw if possible. 🙂

    • nadbugs says:

      Thanks for the link, Mary — looks really good. So there’s a difference of opinion about the oats and sweet potato — but even given that, my boys seems to do well on the BalanceIt approach. Raw seems right to me . . . .

      • Mary Wiesner says:

        Raw is definitely right (in my opinion anyway). If you choose to add other items to it, I don’t think that takes anything away from the benefit of raw feeding. 🙂

  8. littlemiao says:

    At some point I hope to start making my miaos their own food. Thanks for the ideas!

    Also, I enjoyed the photos, especially the 2nd to last one with Fangie’s fangs and feet displayed so well.

    • nadbugs says:

      Cheers, lm — making the food is satisfying for me, because of the control over the ingredients. Plus I just like paying attention to the process. I actually enjoy the work. And I imagine that’d be true for you, too, my friend — given that I’m still totally enjoying your sesame-noodle recipe. And I’m so glad you like the photos. That means a lot, coming from you.

  9. happycatgirl says:

    So happy to read that raw food is working out for you! I feed Blue raw too, and have learnt that store bought ground beef has more potential to cause tummy upsets. A quick read on how that stuff is ground in the supermarket ( separate parts ground together increasing opportunity for bacteria growth) was enlightening. Since then I have bought low end fatty shoulder steak and grind it myself with no more problems. On the whole grains debate, I actually had to increase the rice I mixed into her food because too much meat was making her fat, but less food = non satiated cat = cranky cat. she just loves sweet potato so there is a lot of that too. I’m still tweaking the ratio around a bit but I think Blue is an especially greedy little bugger. Would love to hear updates on how your diet is working out!

Leave a Reply

