We Knew Him When

Today my usual weekly visit to one of my dearest friends was especially tasty.  I love this friend.  She is a botanist by training who, with her physician husband, shower me with  all things important in life – extraordinary friendship above all, plus greens from the garden, eggs from the chickens, medical care in time of dire need, and homegrown strawberries the likes of which beggar description.  No photographs – the berries are a distant dream.

My friend told me she got ahold of five seeds of a chinquapin tree.  She’s just planted the seedlings on her property.  The cinquapin is a species of American chestnut that teeters on the brink of extinction, having been all but wiped out by blight that struck in 1904. Wikipedia says that within forty years, the near-four billion-strong population in North America was devastated; only a few clumps of trees remained in California and the Pacific Northwest.

Here’s what the bark looks like.  Amazing, no?

That’s my friend.  To the rescue, healing what’s been almost lost.  Trees.  And me.

My friend has two phenomenal sons.  One had a hand in making a video I want to share with you.  This video is of another member of the family, Sasha.  Sasha is a conscientious and helpful cat.  You can see why in the video.

I’m very excited about this young man.  He is a truly extraordinary cartoonist.  I hope to be getting together with him very soon, maybe even this Sunday, to do what little I can to help him get started with his own blog.  I will let you know when his blog is up.  I dearly hope he will make some cartoons of cats.  But no matter what he chooses to draw, mark my words, we need to give him due props and recognition right now.  This guy is going places.  I for one want to be able to say, years hence or maybe tomorrow, “Ah, but I knew him when.  We could tell he was a genius, even at such a tender age.”  (He’s just finishing the fifth grade.)

Please put your paws together for my dear friends – and Sasha the conscientious and helpful cat.  Look closely for the little note at the end.  The video is mom’s, I think; the song is the son’s addition – and I’m thinking the note at the end is his too.  It has that witty twist I think I recognize.  Click here to enjoy.  Remember.  We knew him when.

About nadbugs

Anita loves cats. This must be because she, too, has had nine lives. She’s been dancing since she could walk, she was a commercial artist and advertising producer, she earned a third-degree black belt in Aikido, she is a drummer with the Afrique Aya Dance Company, she is an attorney, and she’s a meditator and a devoted student of Nonviolent Communication. She also spent one lifetime sidelined with a devastating back injury in 1992. Since then – FELDENKRAIS METHOD® to the rescue. The FELDENKRAIS METHOD is all about dreaming concretely – thinking intelligently and independently by way of a gracious and kind physicality. The work affords all who study it a process by which to reach, with movement, into the mind and the heart, to make nine lives into one whole being.
This entry was posted in Things Cats, Humans Do, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to We Knew Him When

  1. CATachresis says:

    Hate washing lettuce! Do you think Sasha would take on contracts elsewhere?

    Looking forward to the youngun’s new blog :))

  2. If your young man can train MY cats to wash lettuce I will hail him as a genius as well!

  3. MTVA says:

    Now that is a busy little cat! I wish I had some of that energy! Hope to see more from your very talented friend.

  4. crugenhaller says:

    Check out the Ozark Chinquapin Foundation’s website to find out more about the folks doing the REALLY wonderful work to save these incredible trees: http://www.ozarkchinquapin.com/

    • nadbugs says:

      This is completely wonderful. I’m so proud to welcome this heartening and inspirational site here. Everybody — take a look! Especially admire the manly men being nurturing. What a great thing. Thank you dear Christine.

  5. lahgitana says:

    Cats are primed to take over–and we thought it was going to be robots!

  6. Ivy says:

    So adorable!!

  7. Dianda says:

    Hahahaha, That was adorable! What a helpful cat!

  8. Pingback: A Dream Coming True | catself

Leave a Reply

