Blogging Explained . . .

. . . by New York Times and Wall Street Journal best-selling author Dan Pink.  When, for the vast majority of us, blogging makes no economic sense whatsoever, why do we persist regardless?

One: Purpose.

Two:  Autonomy.

Three:  Mastery.

Here’s Dan Pink in a short and illuminating cartoon. “The Surprising Truth About What Motivates Us.”  He explains why the traditional corporate model makes economic sense – only to reward mindless, rote behavior.

Why the world’s going to hell in a handbasket, in other words.

What’s this Bean’s purpose, in writing this blog and following others?

Love . . .

. . . and Connection.

What’s yours?

About nadbugs

Anita loves cats. This must be because she, too, has had nine lives. She’s been dancing since she could walk, she was a commercial artist and advertising producer, she earned a third-degree black belt in Aikido, she is a drummer with the Afrique Aya Dance Company, she is an attorney, and she’s a meditator and a devoted student of Nonviolent Communication. She also spent one lifetime sidelined with a devastating back injury in 1992. Since then – FELDENKRAIS METHOD® to the rescue. The FELDENKRAIS METHOD is all about dreaming concretely – thinking intelligently and independently by way of a gracious and kind physicality. The work affords all who study it a process by which to reach, with movement, into the mind and the heart, to make nine lives into one whole being.
This entry was posted in Philosophy-Psychology and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Blogging Explained . . .

  1. Dan Pink is brilliant. He was one of the few author’s who kindly reached out to me after I reviewed his book at my other blog. Blogging for me is about making a difference in the lives of people and their pets.

  2. nadbugs says:

    Which you do in this household, Layla! And, it’s interesting & gratifying to hear that Dan Pink is a responsive human being.

  3. Ivy says:

    Oh, wow, I love these posts that get me thinking about cool stuff, Bean! I am a clinical psychologist, so I enjoyed the video very much. I don’t blog, but the reason why I follow yours and other people’s blogs is the same reason why you blog. Love (in a universal, broad, fraternal, free kind of way) and connection. In other news, I can tell you’re already a little better, huh? That’s great!

    • nadbugs says:

      Oh hail Ivy well met, you thinking / feeling / friend you. I’m so glad to know a little snip more about you. As for better? Who knows, on this wild roller-coaster ride of a life, unregulated as it is by the corporate over here. Excitement follows loss follows destabilization follows yearning — so who the h*ll knows what’s what any more! Except : I know this : I’m *always* glad to see you. Always.

      • Ivy says:

        ~blushing~ That is so sweet… See? Connection is something that feels so good. Even if it’s just virtual. It’s the reason I keep coming! Teehee…
        I agree – life is just a wild ride. Hang on and try to enjoy as much as possible, that’s it. Great Saturday for you and your boys!

  4. Wazeau says:

    Very interesting video. I look at it and I see my company – riding that hot air balloon of profit, with those predictable results. Why do I blog? Purpose – atonomy – mastery – could very well be part of why. Connection with those with similar interests – absolutely. Love – definately. Expressing myself, and trying to leave something out there of myself and those I love – some kind of permanance. A record – an onlne diary. Why do I read others blogs? That need for connection and a huge curiousity about others and how they live and how that compares to me and how I live.

    Thanks for the post and the link. And the lovely photos.

  5. We always enjoy the love and connection we feel over here at your place! Thank you for sharing your kind, insightful, brilliant self with the world!

  6. We want to share our handsome man-cat-ness with the world, of course!

    We read other blogs because we’re so happy to find others out there like us 🙂

  7. Building the fan base, and nothing more… Except maybe that I like some of you bloggy people. But mostly the other thing.

  8. rumpydog says:

    That’s what motivates me. My paying gig is demotivating.

  9. Hello, i think that i noticed you visited my weblog so i came to go
    back the desire?.I’m trying to to find things to improve my site!I suppose its good enough to use some of your concepts!!

Leave a Reply

