Day Three

What a difference, between introducing Fangie and introducing Barney.  It’s only the morning of the third day Barney’s been here.  No late-night door-excavations, no howling, no hissing – and only two incidents where (sleep-dazed) I wasn’t sure whether Bugsy was thumping on the floor to express his masculinity – or passing by Base Camp and scaring himself.  No matter.  I got a reasonable night’s sleep.

Did I mention that, thanks to Teresa’s wise foresight, I asked Foster-mom to clip Barney’s claws while he was still at ease in his old home?  Did I mention that mom just went at Barnes with the clippers and chop-chop, the thing was done?  Without aid of any fuss, muss, treats, or cajolery?  What a cat this is!

This morning, here’s Bugs, chowing happily (around the stones put there to make him eat more slowly).  You can perhaps make Barney out, just the other side of the grill.  Curtain’s pulled away from the door; Barney in more-or-less full scent and view.  No problem.

Remember Poop Vigil 2012?  On Fang’s arrival, Bugsy so upset he was throwing up for three weeks, nor would he produce the caboose, resulting in an anxious visit to the vet, X-rays, and a threatened evacuation?  Which was avoided only by stool-softeners and intensive I forget what-all else (it all came back when I found the above link . . . . )

Like I say.  What a difference.

Here’s Barnes in Base Camp this morning, on a rare moment where there’s actually space between him and me.  That’s my heel at the extreme left.

Didn’t last long.

And let me close with dear Bugsy.

Not that he isn’t his usual edgy-alert snoopervisory self, on the brink of jumping up to investigate something untoward on Out-TV –

But we also have moments like this.  Relax-a-Cat.

We are going for the site-swap next, and let it be soon.  I want Barney’s big self out of that cooped-up little room, and the boys working things out in the wide open spaces.

About nadbugs

Anita loves cats. This must be because she, too, has had nine lives. She’s been dancing since she could walk, she was a commercial artist and advertising producer, she earned a third-degree black belt in Aikido, she is a drummer with the Afrique Aya Dance Company, she is an attorney, and she’s a meditator and a devoted student of Nonviolent Communication. She also spent one lifetime sidelined with a devastating back injury in 1992. Since then – FELDENKRAIS METHOD® to the rescue. The FELDENKRAIS METHOD is all about dreaming concretely – thinking intelligently and independently by way of a gracious and kind physicality. The work affords all who study it a process by which to reach, with movement, into the mind and the heart, to make nine lives into one whole being.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Day Three

  1. Wow, that all sounds so good. What a difference! I’m pretty sure it is also partly due to the fact that you’re doing this for the second time…. it’s always easier the second time. And this big beautiful boy is helping you a lot!!! Can’t wait to hear about the wide open spaces’ future adventures. Have a beautiful Sunday!!

  2. nadbugs says:

    Sunday’s shaping up, dear Ivy, and I say same to you! And I’m sure you’re right, about my being easier this time. Not to mention Barney the magnificent. And that he isn’t sick. And that the transport (bad as it was) was nothing compared to with Fang. And that Bugs is an older hand now, too. Goodness. What a transit.

    Like my dad used to say: Time wounds all heels.

  3. Wonderful! I think Bugs is eager to meet his new housemate, I imagine he is lonely for a playmate. I know that kitties mourn and I’ll bet Bugs feels Fang’s loss keenly.

  4. CATachresis says:

    It’s all looking good! Positivity abounds 🙂

  5. That is so cool that they are already getting along so well. I predict they will be the best of friends. And I am smitten with Barney because he looks soooooo much like my baby girl Annabelle; she has the black diamond on her nose, too!

  6. MTVA says:

    I can’t wait for everybody to be together in one room!

    I’m wondering about the wall perches…will they stand up to BarnWeight??? Especially if two kitties decide to bunk together…but then, maybe Barney is a feet firmly planted on the floor kind of guy, maybe climbing and leaping is not his thing. Well, all will be revealed as we progress along!

    • nadbugs says:

      Oh lordy . . . . oh dear . . . . well, as you say — we’ll find out! I don’t think we can count on Barnes staying on the ground. At foster-mom’s, I watched as he jumped up to the roost, and nimbly jumped down again . . . . Watch this space.

  7. Anne D says:

    So it is two gents in evening wear-one in a black tux and one is a gray tux.

  8. MelanieJ says:

    Barney sounds like a true delight. I’m sure that his foster mom was very happy that he got a new home (and maybe a little sad that she had to say good-bye, but mostly happy.) I’ll be interested to see how his story unfolds, and how his calmness affects Bugs.

    The gentle giants always make me love them. Lovable lumps. Or something.

    • nadbugs says:

      You who know, you foster-mom you. This foster-mom, though, was nothing but all smiles. I really appreciate her. These big guys, then! I did not know! Your experience too, huh? Amazing!

  9. Wonderful! Sounds like they’re both used to there being ‘other’ cats now and are handling the transition really well. That’s a huge relief!

    • nadbugs says:

      So true, about the relief. This morning Bugsy stood outside Base Camp and it sounded like he was asking questions through the door. Barney made no reply. So I think that’s a hopeful sign, no? Instead of making statements and arguing back? I’ll take that as a “yes”!

  10. That’s wonderful! Looks like they are going to get alone quickly =^.^=
    Purrs

    • nadbugs says:

      Let us hope the getting along happens very quickly now. Because Barnes is showing signs he wants to explore Base Camp more than Base Camp is ready for him — flimsy shelves, don’t you know. Site-swap today . . . . paws crossed.

  11. Wazeau says:

    So wonderful to see the Bugs so close and personal. Cannot wait for the ongoing saga.

  12. Bugsy!
    Check this new guy out thoroughly. I think we could recruit him. I’m sure you can train him well. We sure could use someone as big as a Barn to help us take down some wildebeest!

  13. lahgitana says:

    Barn is so beautiful and his mellowness shows in his eyes. He quite reminds me of our BuddyBoop, who is a Ragdoll we’re pretty sure. Interesting breed: friendly, love everyone, big and FLOOFY. The Ragdoll, too, doesn’t attain full growth for a few years…. BBoop is 15 lb now…. and he’s not quite 3.

    I’ve been wondering how Teresa was doing with Fangie’s sudden death. Seems to me she was a pretty regular part of your lives there. Has she met BarnBoy?

    Hope the site-swap goes swimmingly. Hey, when did Bugsy start to look so tiny?! >:-D

  14. Dianda says:

    I’m really curious how things will go further on! Keep us updated!

Leave a Reply

