Meet-and-Greet and Site-Swap

Yesterday Teresa came by and we did a meet-and-greet and site-swap with the boys.

But before I get into that, essential news that some might file under Too Much Info – but those who remember what we went through with the Fang introduction, you who have your priorities straight, you will appreciate this:  Both boys produced exhibition-quality poops.  I’m very proud.  Be glad no picture.

Now to the meet-and-greet.  Here’s the best shot I could snap off.  Hopeless to get any quality; too much movement and not enough light.  What you’re seeing is Bugsy playing with his treat-ball and Barney observing.

That’s to say, Barney actually yawning, as reader OldCat points out.  How rude!

Bugsy is interested in paw-to-paw contact.  Barney is not.  It’s astonishing. Bugsy puts a fairly gentle paw through the door-crack, which paw lands on Barney’s head – and Barney basically ignores him!  Bugs was possibly getting a little frustrated by this lack of respect . . . .

Barney himself appears almost entirely people-centered.  I’m not sure but my guess is, he’s still a little anxious.  Whatever’s going on, every time I enter Base Camp, he expresses himself by engulfing me.  There’s just no other word for it.  I think if he could get his paws around my entire body he would, and then he would draw me to his breast and devour me.  This might be how it feels to be dined-on by lions.

Plus, being the biscuit-dough to Barney’s kneading feels like going ten rounds with Muhammed Ali.  I have to put on several layers of clothing, including a sweat-shirt from my Hampton Junior High days.

Come on, Bean, you know you love it.

The site-swap involved putting Bugs in Base Camp, and Barney into Bugs-Land (the rest of the house).

Here’s Barney’s first sight of OutTV.

Here’s Barney deciding he’s had enough of OutTV.  Too much else in the house to be getting on with.  You will probably get bored very soon with me pointing out his great size – but do it I must; please bear with me until I get it out of my system (might take some time). Notice how he fills the entire chair.

Here’s Bugs inhaling in Base Camp.

And here’s Bugs after the excitement was over and Barney was safely back in Base Camp.  I missed the money-shot – Bugs completely stretched out, belly up stem to stern, occupying two beds.

No shot possible of Barney – he retreated into the Base Camp cave I built for him.

This morning, while the cats were active, has been challenging.  Bugs took forever to settle down.  If I had to say, I’d call him nervous and jumpy and butt-in-a-fluff.  Running from window to window to door and back again, complaining loudly, settling down to brushies with a little purring, and then back up again, playing with treat ball and then back to the window, no, not that window, the other window, then Base Camp door, then back again – you get the idea.

And about 4:45 this morning Barney himself re-excavated Base Camp door . . . .

And I had myself a humdinger of a nightmare.  Fantasies that, when executed into reality, turned into slime-filled horror shows.

This too shall pass.  Right?  Sure it will.

About nadbugs

Anita loves cats. This must be because she, too, has had nine lives. She’s been dancing since she could walk, she was a commercial artist and advertising producer, she earned a third-degree black belt in Aikido, she is a drummer with the Afrique Aya Dance Company, she is an attorney, and she’s a meditator and a devoted student of Nonviolent Communication. She also spent one lifetime sidelined with a devastating back injury in 1992. Since then – FELDENKRAIS METHOD® to the rescue. The FELDENKRAIS METHOD is all about dreaming concretely – thinking intelligently and independently by way of a gracious and kind physicality. The work affords all who study it a process by which to reach, with movement, into the mind and the heart, to make nine lives into one whole being.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Meet-and-Greet and Site-Swap

  1. Seems like Bugs wants to meet his housemate, and now, thank you! Sorry about the bad dreams, they leave me fuzzy and confuzzled the next day, too.

  2. FeyGirl says:

    Adorableness! You’re so funny with your words, I love it. This too shall pass! Sometimes sooner, sometimes later… 🙂

  3. lahgitana says:

    Another thought about the Ragdoll breed: they don’t care much about other cats, but LOVE human contact. Barns sounds like his last name could also be Duvay!

    • lahgitana says:

      Oh! Also, in the early days, Calpurrnia would whack BBoop over the head and he’d just look at her. !! Could Mr Barn be Ragdoll-ish?!

      • nadbugs says:

        Yes. In a long line of the famous Duvay clan. I seem to recall your Calpurrnia is also a member in good standing? Could be, about the Ragdollishness — but I just read a vet pooh-poohing usn’ns trying to discern pure-bred strains in our strays . . . . Specifically Maine Coon, as it happens. Spang! to the vet. Who else could have baseball-mits for paws? Surely not a garden-variety domestic long-hair . . . . our babies are special. And woe betide the naysayers.

  4. Oldcat says:

    Looks like Barney is yawning in that picture.

  5. Anne D says:

    Talk about how big Barney is all you want!. My son’s cat is 18 lbs and this is a wonder to me. He would like to be a lap cat at times, but he cannot fit. There is a narrow bench that overlooks a window and he overlaps it when he stretches out.

  6. Oh, the adventures! I just love to hear about them. Boys seem to be doing really well, poop included. Keep up the good work and… this too shall pass, indeed!

  7. Them big boys, so much to love, right? Leo is twice Star’s size, so much love to give! Yay for the poops, but so glad you didn’t feel the need to share pictures, MOL!
    Bugsy running around might mean he’s excited to have a new playmate now that he knows how much fun one can be? Looks like he wore himself completely out sniffing around base camp! I’m glad things are going well. Except for the nightmare.. Shoo nightmare! Go away and dont come back! Hugs!

  8. CATachresis says:

    Have you managed to weigh Barney yet? Be interesting to know how much he is!!

    Old Bugs must be getting used to the interlopers now. Old hand and a bit die hard to boot!

    Austin is a serial kneader. It’s a cross between shiatsu and acupuncture and he has such big paws/claws!! Glad things are going well, but sorry about the nightmares. They kind of stick around, unlike pleasant dreams which you forget the next day! 😦 xx

    • nadbugs says:

      I haven’t got Barnes weighed yet. I sure will be interested to know right along with you, dear CAT. You’re right, Bugsy is much more at ease than before — but he is still an edgy little guy, I tell you. Austin the therapy-cat. How much does he charge? I think Barnes might need some educating on the degree of intensity of touch. He tends to lean into it . . . . Now why is that, we forget the good dreams? Just does not make sense. Course, I take notes on my bad dreams. It’s the only way I can keep track of the seismic rumblings of my subterranean psyche. Gotta keep an eye on that bad boy, dontcha know. Stand back! It’s gonna blow!

      • CATachresis says:

        Thanks for the warning! *takes cover* lol

        Austin needs some updating on his shiatsu skills. I say to him,that causing me to leak the red stuff is a sign of overzealousness! 🙂

        • nadbugs says:

          And what does he say in return? Toughen up, lady, some-a that red stuff must be spilled, along the lines of — Can’t make an omelet without breaking eggs?

  9. Exhibition-Quality poop? Felix is SO jealous…

    • nadbugs says:

      Aw. We have some to spare, if Felix would like that . . . . Nah. I’m remembering the nine pounds of the stuff over your place. Just a thought. Not a good one.

Leave a Reply

