They Played!

Yesterday we had an unscheduled site-swap and meet-and-greet.  The boys had been getting along so well through the door that I got a little too relaxed and left the door open wide enough for Bugsy to slip in.

At the time, I was playing feather-wand with Barney in Base Camp.  I was astonished when all of a sudden he took off running behind me.  He screeched to a halt just shy of running Bugs completely over – who was backed into a corner.

Bugsy hissed.  Gently.  Have any of you ever seen this?  A gentle hiss?

I, in a resulting snit, threw treats under Barney’s nose and bless my boy, he dropped and ate them.  I hoped Bugs would take that opportunity to flee – but he didn’t!  He picked his way with great care around Barney and proceeded to inspect Base Camp top to bottom, litter-box included needless to say.  And then he left.  All was reasonably calm.  Or maybe I should say the stress appeared to be at a minimum.

I figured what the heck, that’s as close to a “real” introduction as I ever hope to see.  So this morning I went for broke.  As before, leaving the door wide enough for Bugs to get in, I started playing with Barney in Base Camp.  As before, Bugs came in.  The boys touched noses, whoop!!  And from that point forward it was let the games begin.

They played!

Hunt and chase, play-whaps, at one point Bugsy jumping several feet straight into the air and hurtling over the bed, trying to catch poor Barney under the bed where I think he had taken refuge for a brief time out –

They played!

Only two tense moments I could see – both when Bugsy had flopped onto his side in a play invitation and then, I guess, got freaked by the looming bulk of His Hugeness.  Those times he hissed and I would not call these gentle.  But gentle-giant Barnes was unfazed, graciously overlooking the inconsistency.

Can I hear you saying “cut to the pictures already, Bean?”  OK, OK, here we go.

Barney before the games began.  In characteristic cuteness-overload mode.

Bugsy before the games began.  In characteristic cuteness-overload mode.

Bugsy in characteristic bitey mode.

Bugsey in characteristic tidying-up mode.

Both, for the first time, enjoying OutTV together.  Cue applawse!!

My sweet boys.

Whaa?? A paws in the action.

The nerve!  Bugsy hiding in Barney’s cave!  Cue play paw-whaps bigtime.

No, Barnes, I really don’t think you can fit in there.

Barnes checks out the next dimension; Bugsy follows.  Those white longjohns and paws slay me every time.

Getting tired.

And now, quiet.  As games drew to a close, Bugsy climbed up to examine Fangie’s old bed in Top Shelf – first time since Fangie’s passing I’ve been aware he did that.  Climbed down to Bottom Shelf – but ultimately opted for his now-usual Bookshelf Bed.  Barnes is asleep in Base Camp, and I’m writing to you now in the hiatus.

Perhaps a missed opportunity for us to enjoy my moonflowers in their glory.  We in northwest Arkansas are expecting Storm Isaac tomorrow and these may be pounded flat after two days of that big show.  Good thing I did the intro today.  I wouldn’t want to be fooling with that peaceful coexistence stuff while the storm rages around us.

Paws crossed; may everybody stay safe and dry.

 

About nadbugs

Anita loves cats. This must be because she, too, has had nine lives. She’s been dancing since she could walk, she was a commercial artist and advertising producer, she earned a third-degree black belt in Aikido, she is a drummer with the Afrique Aya Dance Company, she is an attorney, and she’s a meditator and a devoted student of Nonviolent Communication. She also spent one lifetime sidelined with a devastating back injury in 1992. Since then – FELDENKRAIS METHOD® to the rescue. The FELDENKRAIS METHOD is all about dreaming concretely – thinking intelligently and independently by way of a gracious and kind physicality. The work affords all who study it a process by which to reach, with movement, into the mind and the heart, to make nine lives into one whole being.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to They Played!

  1. Marcy Benham says:

    It’s funny, but Barney & Bugs don’t really seem to be that different in size when photographed together. Maybe it’s just your camera angle. Either way, I’m THRILLED they had fun & played together today! Good boys! Whew! Huh, Anita!

  2. Herman says:

    Hey that’s good news. I’m happy for you.

  3. FeyGirl says:

    Aw, adorablenesssss!!!!

  4. CATachresis says:

    Look at Barney’s tail!! It’s magnificent! So glad things are going well, but really am hoping that Isaac passes you by!! Stay safe.

  5. Awww… this post fills my heart with Joy! Yay, they played! Barney is really an old soul, huh?
    So glad the games began and basking in the adorableness of the pictures and the flowers!! May Isaac be very gentle, stay safe. Hugs to Bean + Boys!

  6. starlight says:

    that’s great.. my favorite photo is the 5th one.. barney and bugsy side by side looking at the door.. aww.. so cute!

  7. It was all good after the nose-to-nose sniff. You no longer have to worry, really! Thank you for the photographic evidence.

  8. I’ve seen the gentle hiss thing before. it’s kind of funny actually. Like, I’m hissing, but… I only sorta mean it..
    I’m glad their meet and greet and play is progressing so well!
    Paws and fingers crossed that mean ol’ Isaac leaves you unscathed!

  9. lahgitana says:

    I smiled all the way through! And GASPED at the pic of them at the front door. Fangie’s legacy–helping Bugsy be a brother. ahhhh! and awwwww!

    • lahgitana says:

      Oh gee–nearly forgot. I’ve been wondering about Isaac sending wind your way as he headed north, but yikes, to hear he’s gonna stop in. Egad. Be safe. Please let us know you’re safe, girl.

      • nadbugs says:

        We are so totally safe, so far, dear Lahgitana. Thinking of Fangie, too. I do feel him still here. You know?

        • lahgitana says:

          I’m glad Fangie is still there–how could that spark be removed from the atmosphere so quickly? I’m pretty sure I know–sometimes I’m positive my kitty of yore stops in and I just greet her by name…. >:-D Ghost kitty doesn’t scare me!

  10. Thirteen giant HURRAHS from all of us! And may the trains continue to run on time…

  11. They are both very beautiful Mancats (Mencats? MOL).
    On the pics they seem to already be pals!
    Purrs

  12. Wazeau says:

    So many wonderful memories in those pictures! So glad to see them interacting playfully!

  13. Anne D says:

    The storm has passed down here (Baton Rouge) and you all will get gusts and lots of rain–the kind of weather that makes you glad that you have the cats. Electricity just came back up. What a gift!!!

    • nadbugs says:

      Isn’t that so, dear Anne — when we’re without power, we learn how wonderful it is to have it. I’m so glad you’re OK. You were right in the thick of it, weren’t you, pretty much. And the cats — so cozy inside. Yum.

  14. looloo says:

    Hello, Anita,

    It is a joy to see these pictures and to read your story about them!
    I noticed Bugs has a beaufiful deep pink nose and Barney has a black one, this seems rather special, no?

    Try and keep Isaac out of your neighbourhood! 🙂

    Smoochies to the boys,
    looloo

    • nadbugs says:

      I think it’s pretty special, but then I would. So it’s super-great to have you notice that, dear loo. And Isaac is actually welcome, as long as his manners remain in place. So far so good. Hugs to you.

  15. HOORAY!!!! What good boys, I’m so happy to hear they’re getting along so well!

  16. Dianda says:

    Yess! Goal achieved! That looked good!

  17. So glad they are getting along. As I said before, I really think they will become the very best of friends. It sure sounds like they are on their way!!

    • nadbugs says:

      You know, Julia, it really does seem that way. You know what I’d love to see? The cats walking in parallel, so close they look joined-up. shhh — I saw them do that this morning!!! How exciting is that????

Leave a Reply

