Pangs Of A Headbanger

Dear readers, by popular demand, here is Round No. 10,587 of the Territorial Tourney.   You all are a bloodthirsty bunch.

Would it make you feel small if I told you that we sustained yet another green-paper bloodletting trip to the vet, this time because Bugsy’s eye started a nasty discharge and he began shaking his head and I feared a scratch to his cornea?

Would it?

Say yes!  I insist!

The vet said Bugsy had probably hit his head, just over the eye — she saw some swelling there and (bless Barnster) no claw-wounds otherwise — so “watch and see” was her advice, and no $18.00 eye-ointment.  This time.  Yet.

So if you grovel first, then I will show you pictures of Match No.  10,587.

OK.  Apology accepted.

Biggify if you want to get a good look at Barney sticking his tongue out.

Bugsy at arm’s length.

Uh-oh.  Ears Of Doom.

Body-slams and head-bangs back and forth.

Time out for OutTV.

DING!!  They’re back in there.  Note the scalped bits to the right.

Scalped bits.

More scalped bits.

Barnes appears to be his usual copacetic self, after.  I’m not so sure.  His eyes have never been completely clear and now one appears somewhat worse.  Vet thinks maybe it’s a fight-related wound like Bugsy’s — but I’ve been so busy hauling Bugs’s horrible gray butt in and out, I haven’t collected enough green papers to have Barnes looked at.  He’s next, asap.

Fight?  What fight?

About nadbugs

Anita loves cats. This must be because she, too, has had nine lives. She’s been dancing since she could walk, she was a commercial artist and advertising producer, she earned a third-degree black belt in Aikido, she is a drummer with the Afrique Aya Dance Company, she is an attorney, and she’s a meditator and a devoted student of Nonviolent Communication. She also spent one lifetime sidelined with a devastating back injury in 1992. Since then – FELDENKRAIS METHOD® to the rescue. The FELDENKRAIS METHOD is all about dreaming concretely – thinking intelligently and independently by way of a gracious and kind physicality. The work affords all who study it a process by which to reach, with movement, into the mind and the heart, to make nine lives into one whole being.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Pangs Of A Headbanger

  1. Arg! They should not be hurting each other! No damage! You hear me, Boys!?! Don’t make me come over there!

  2. Ai Carumba! Or maybe–Ai CaRUMBLE!!! Have you considered claw clipping? It cuts down on injuries here tremendously. With each other. Mommy generally is mauled during the process…
    EXCELLENT tussling pix!!

    • nadbugs says:

      I knew you’d enjoy, Lounger. Good one, caRUMBLE. I love your nimble mind. And yes, claw clipping is mandatory. Done. Vet took care of Bugsy (who’s a production); I did Barnes (who’s so easy. Honestly. What a cat.).

  3. I’m not sure those are ‘fights’ as much as tussles and boys will be boys getting rough. They’re obviously friends between bouts of wrasslin’! That’s what counts. Nerve wracking for the human probably.. but they don’t seem like they have a problem with it.

  4. Whoa, yes to wrestling, no to drawing blood. We agree with Katnip Lounge.

  5. IsobelandCat says:

    So rather rough play and some fighting when it gets out of hand?

  6. Basil says:

    I do hope they are only play fighting and not properly going for it!!

    • nadbugs says:

      Well, Basil, I think your hope is justified. Those more in the know than I reassure me this is not “properly going for it.” For that we’d need serious vocalization & we don’t by and large have any of that. Thank heaven. Talk about nerve-wracking!

      • Basil says:

        I hope you have a referee shirt handy!! Maybe it is their way of showing love? I know sometimes I drag Walt around by the ears to show him all the exciting things cause I don’t want him to miss out

  7. Ha ha… a bloodthirsty bunch! I didn’t request the pix but.. .er… yeah… they’re pretty cool! 😀

  8. Marilia says:

    You´re so funny babies!

  9. CATachresis says:

    Hmmmm? I do believe there were a couple of holds there that Austin and Tigger need to incorporate into their repertoire! Good gif work there! I won’t admit to being bloodthirsty , just interested from a technical viewpoint you understand!!

  10. Anne D says:

    I think like Andrea–Boys will be boys. And in my experience, there is a lot more fur ripped out in a serious battle.

  11. Pingback: Bugs’s Skin : Help! Avert Steroids! | catself

Leave a Reply

