Fire And Water

Those two elements have emerged as important currently over here at the home-place:  Fire & Water.

Fire first.  The bottom has dropped out of the temperature here and I mean it feels cold.  There’s a freeze advisory and come on! seems like we go from inferno to deep freeze in the space of one week.

So the other day, on this temperature merry-go-round, finds Barney eating breakfast in Base Camp when the furnace kicked in.  (The furnace lives in Base Camp.)  Poor old Barnes.  It took him a while to get my attention and by the time I finally heard him meowing (most uncharacteristic; Barnes is as silent as Fang was an opera-star), I opened the door to find him shaking like a leaf.  He streaked out and hid under the bed for two hours.

I then spent the day with the furnace off.  Freezing my butt off.  This situation could not last.

But with operant conditioning — by that I mean liberal application of treats, and playing with Bugs where Barnes could see we weren’t being devoured by the Evil Roaring Monster — it didn’t take long before Barnes could cope and I could shed my hat and coat.

True, he has gone from under the bed to hiding under the table in my grandmother’s needlepoint chair.

And gouging the hell out of the lovely needlepoint chair-back.  Needles to say.  Has anybody noticed how perfect needlepoint is to hone one’s scimitars on?

Small price to pay, though, to have Barnes out from under the bed.  And me no longer subthermic, if that’s a word.  The WordPress red-pencil elves evidently don’t think so.

In any case.  That’s Fire taken care-of.

The Water is in my most recent big adventure into blog-dom.  I have just launched another blog.  This one is about what in tarnation the relationship could be between the FELDENKRAIS METHOD® of movement awareness and realizing unavowed dreams.

I’m calling the blog “Dreams Incognito.”  Dear Cat-friends, if you would just do my stats a big favor and check out the first two posts and the “About,” I would love you even more than I already do.  Which is heaps.

So — see you over there?  Or, if not, back here soon.

And not to neglect Bugs.  Goodness sakes, Cat-People, these felines are a handful.  Bugsy has developed a mild case of feline acne under his chin.  I now realize he developed the same thing when Fang first got here.  Stress, I’m thinking — or another fight-wound plus surrounding acne.

He can’t even watch OutTV, to which he is addicted, without looking over his shoulder.

Still.  You can see by the photo, the acne’s not too bad.  And with Fang it cleared up eventually.

Never a dull moment.

About nadbugs

Anita loves cats. This must be because she, too, has had nine lives. She’s been dancing since she could walk, she was a commercial artist and advertising producer, she earned a third-degree black belt in Aikido, she is a drummer with the Afrique Aya Dance Company, she is an attorney, and she’s a meditator and a devoted student of Nonviolent Communication. She also spent one lifetime sidelined with a devastating back injury in 1992. Since then – FELDENKRAIS METHOD® to the rescue. The FELDENKRAIS METHOD is all about dreaming concretely – thinking intelligently and independently by way of a gracious and kind physicality. The work affords all who study it a process by which to reach, with movement, into the mind and the heart, to make nine lives into one whole being.
This entry was posted in Feldenkrais, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Fire And Water

  1. lahgitana says:

    your scimitar tag cracks me up! I was TRYING to make a loving statement about Bugs and Barnes, but was laughing instead!

    So, then, laughter it is to them and to you.

  2. Who KNEW such evil lurked in the Domain of Barney? After eight years Felix is still boycotting the laundry room for reasons unexplained.

    I use a soft nail brush on Kona’s chin to loosen up the blackheads. She LOVES it.

    • Oldcat says:

      I’ve used a soapy washcloth to clean them and a damp corner to rinse. I haven’t needed any special medication for them yet.

      • nadbugs says:

        Bugsy is so averse to being handled — I’m just hoping he calms down & the thing clears up by itself . . . It did when Bugs was in knots about Fang . . . . I do sympathize with Barney, especially now that he’s got over himself, tho I was really vexed too of course at the idea of us freezing until he got a grip . . . . but honestly, who wouldn’t be scared of such a monster. Heck I’m scared of it. Scared it’ll quit working, that is. Happened once. NOT good!

    • nadbugs says:

      Lounger, you are the best. Two days of treatment with a soft nail brush & Bugs has significantly improved. Many, many thanks!

  3. Never a dull moment, indeed. I’m now paying attention to the tags just because of you, dear Anita!
    So funny. Also, loved having updates on Bugsy and Barney, even if it was a bit scary for Barney. Hugs to the three of you!

  4. Dianda says:

    Stress can be a reason for the feline acne! Ugh, acne is nasty in general, For felines, and for humans! I hope Bugs will get rid of it asap!

  5. CATachresis says:

    We’ve got one of those evil monsters in the garage! Austin has yet to make its acquaintance! Will pop over to Dreams and boost your stats :)xx

    PS Scimitars made me grin too!

  6. Oldcat says:

    The warm air coming out of the monster may make him feel better about it when it really gets nippy.

  7. Dear Bugs, I know you’ve had a lot of stress lately, and that’s been known to cause the unsightly chin blemishes you’re currenly displaying. I recommend A LOT of self grooming (stopping short of baldness, naturally), some nice, long cat naps near the toasty furnace, and some Indian leg wrestling with your new roommate cat. That should clear up your skin in no time… Relax and enjoy Barnes. I bet you’ll decide he’s a cool cat. (And I wouldn’t be surprised if you found he was my distant cousin!)

    • nadbugs says:

      I thought you must be related! I thought that the first time I saw Barnes, actually. Right down to the black goatee. You guys are the hippest things going. I of course am chrome-perfect, but I can still recognize hipness when I see it. I must tell you, though, I am still a bit chapped about all this whoo-hah. But just between you and me, Pedro, I think I might get used to the guy. Eventually. No sense letting him know too early, though. He must learn and re-learn many times who is boss around here. It is I, Bugs, who speaks.

  8. Wazeau says:

    Hell of a cat woman to turn off your furnace for Barney 🙂 My Nekoka gets cat acne too (must be a guy stress thing cause Sass never gets it – either that or he’s just too lazy to lift his chin off his food dish). Hopefully as mentioned by others, the warmth put out by the furnace will more than counteract whatever noise it is making!

    • nadbugs says:

      Really, Wazeau, I did have to ask myself if I wasn’t carrying the cat-woman thing just a teensy bit one step too far. But I just can’t help myself. Interesting about Sassie not getting the acne. You really make me wonder whether it might be a gender thing — sebaceous glands under the chin, and males and their territorial thing . . .

    • Oldcat says:

      I’ve had both girl and boy cats get acne, although neither until they were teenagers.

  9. Goodness, how did I miss this? Boy can I picture Barney and the evil furnace! MOL. You should have seen Leo fraek out the first time he saw the TV get turned on.. and that was QUITE early in his life here.. He’d never seen one, of course, being feral and then living in the cathouse at Chrystals. He got over it and occasionally even watches it now! Barney should appreciate the warmth soon!
    Acne, silly Bugsy, you’re not a teen! MOL Go rub that acne area on ol’ Barns.. let him know what he’s done to you! 😉

    • nadbugs says:

      Great idea, Andrea. That guy needs learning. Imagine being scared of a furnace. [Bugs now hiding under bed due to thunder. But that’s confidential.] Signed, Bugs

  10. I’m quite late in! Sorry head is in the clouds as you know. Glad the brushing helps with the zits! Barnes doesn’t LOOK scared, but somehow I think he always keeps his cool like that 🙂

Leave a Reply

