Uproar, Return To Normal Please

Tsunamis to the west, hurricanes to the east – things are roared-up all over the place.  Though I hesitate to compare here to there — here too.  After working from home most every day since getting Barney end of August, with the mediation happening last weekend I was spending 16-hour days away.

The cats responded with un-wellness.  Bugs’s skin problems under his chin got really ugly, bleeding and inflamed.  And Barney ate the comforter, threw up, and turned into flat-cat – he wouldn’t eat and wouldn’t move.  Scared the beejeebers out of me, after Fang.

So on Monday I had to duck out of the proceedings and fork over more green papers to the vet.

Things are calming down.  After an anti-nausea shot and a worm pill just to make sure, Barney’s back to himself.

And Bugsy’s chin is improving, though it’s taking time, with a calendula rinse and Vitamin E applied topically twice a day.

Also, Bugsy makes sure to get his greens.

Ma.  Could you possibly get me some fresher stuff?  These are for the birds.

No, Bugsy, they’re for the goats.  You know.  The goats.  They eat anything.

Here are a few shots from before all this un-wellness-fest.

Bugsy leads the way.

Barnes follows.

And one from today.  You know, I just realized.  We haven’t had a fight for at least a week now.  As far as I’m aware.  How about that.

About nadbugs

Anita loves cats. This must be because she, too, has had nine lives. She’s been dancing since she could walk, she was a commercial artist and advertising producer, she earned a third-degree black belt in Aikido, she is a drummer with the Afrique Aya Dance Company, she is an attorney, and she’s a meditator and a devoted student of Nonviolent Communication. She also spent one lifetime sidelined with a devastating back injury in 1992. Since then – FELDENKRAIS METHOD® to the rescue. The FELDENKRAIS METHOD is all about dreaming concretely – thinking intelligently and independently by way of a gracious and kind physicality. The work affords all who study it a process by which to reach, with movement, into the mind and the heart, to make nine lives into one whole being.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Uproar, Return To Normal Please

  1. lahgitana says:

    so nice to have you back….

    hope YOU are well with all the busy-ness!

    • nadbugs says:

      Doing fine. And hoping you’re well, too, Lahgitana.

      • lahgitana says:

        Oh I”m so pleased to hear that!

        I’m on my roller coaster but most days are just fine. Which then makes me wonder what part of the ride that might be, those fine days? Is it that moment hesitating, momentarily weightless, at the top with the view of all creation? Or is it as the coaster cruises into port, hair blown everywhere? Hmmmm??? Perhaps it is occasionally the 3G-pulls around the corners?

        • nadbugs says:

          Brings to mind that picture of the roller coaster in New Jersey, torn to bits and thrashing around in the surf. Thank goodness your roller coaster is still open for business, right?

          • lahgitana says:

            I’ve ridden that very roller coaster I think–was it in Palisades Park?! (I’ve missed most of the news, but knew the East Coast was hit hard.)

            My roller coaster is open for business, but has spotty hours! <:-\

            • nadbugs says:

              Actually, I think that roller coaster was somewhere else on the Jersey shore and not the river . . . . Something about the town where the TV show was shot? I don’t really know, I try to keep my TV intake to PBS . . . As for your roller coaster’s uneven hours, well, it has a mind of its own, right? Like all true carnies. Troublemakers. I recall an episode . . . wow. The danger of dark alluring carnies, and susceptible good girls at risk. Scary. But I digress. As you would say.

              • lahgitana says:

                I certainly hope you’re dancing around as you digress. Infinitely satisfying, that musical addition to musings!

                Yes, I still have the ticket for this roller coaster–never know what the ride’s gonna be like.

                Most importantly: DARK ALLURING CARNIES?! SUSCEPTIBLE GOOD GIRLS?! Git writin’ THAT story, A-Bean! (and because my ride is multi-faceted, I kept reading that not as “carnies” but as “canaries” and it made perfect sense!)

  2. Work Busy = Not Happy for All

    But it’s good that the boyz have each other when you’re gone so long. Paws crossed you’ll be home (more) soon!

    • nadbugs says:

      Your good wishes have worked, dear Lounger, although this morning must jump up and dash over to car-dealer to find out why (and more to the point, how much it will cost) my elderly vehicle refuses to put out heat. Interesting to try to drive with frost on the windshield. As RoseAnn Roseannadanna used to say . . . . It’s always something.

  3. Melanie says:

    It’s so stressful when our kitties are feeling under the weather… I’m glad to hear that things seem to be getting better. Take care of yourself! I know how those long days can really zap it out of you.

  4. IsobelandCat says:

    Amazing how the cats pick up on your stress and exhibit these behaviours and symptoms. They really are tuned into you, aren’t they.

  5. CATachresis says:

    It is so true that cats pick up our stress. We’ve had a bit of a week last week and Austin was behaving quite differently .. and was more loving, wanting to get on my lap much more than usual! Hope the tsunami and hurricane don’t meet in the middle. It all looks horrifying on the tv!!! xx

  6. Basil says:

    I am sorry you have not been well, I hope you will continue to get better!

    Stay safe my pals!

  7. I agree with Isobel, they really are tuned into you and what you’re going through! But I’m glad to hear from you anyway. Hope everything keeps getting better.

  8. ashley47 says:

    Looks like you need to update the sign on your door from one cat to two.

    • nadbugs says:

      I kind of dread to do this. I was on the point of doing it with Fang, when disaster struck . . . . and so now feel superstitious.

      • lahgitana says:

        It’s probably a good thing in the end to change the sign, girl. Barnes needs to know he isn’t temporary. They can count, you know! Besides, how awful would it be to have only one kitty searched for in an emergency?!

        Apparently, living with cats, is NOT about us!! hahahahaha! Why don’t they come with operating instructions that fit the human bean mind?!

        Maybe make it a *fun* exercise in dread–use your photos of those boys on top of the door, or Barnes in the garbage…. or that header photo!! That’ll make you smile every time you open the door.

  9. Dianda says:

    I see something hanging on the door that says ‘cat inside’!

    ohno, are the storms and such coming your way too, or not? Oh god, I hope not.

  10. Apparently the goats AND Barney eat everything. I hope you aren’t cold since he ate your comforter! 🙂

Leave a Reply

