Weird FeatherBall

Now this was a real mystery.  Early one morning I stepped out to find this, right in the middle of my doorstep.

The Most Perfect Cat Toy Ever.

I dreaded to touch it, though.  I was afraid it was a dead baby chicken.

It wasn’t.  It was just what it looked like:  A perfectly intact swirl of feathers, attached I don’t know how.

I brought it inside.  Of course I did.  What would you do?  I thought so.  OK, now we’ve got that cleared up.

What is that, bro?

If I groom you, will you let me play with it?

No?

AbsoLOOTly not.

I offer you the Paw of Doom.  Take that, Weird FeatherBall.

And that!

Ma?  Why is he like that to me?  I was only born to love and be loved . . . .

I don’t know, dearest Barnes.  He is — The Bugs.  That is all.

I vant to be alone with MY Weird FeatherBall.  Mine.  I relocate to Base Camp.

:: SWAT!! ::

:: FLIP!! ::

:: DEADLY BUNNY-KICK!! ::

Is that Barney I hear coming?  Out, Barney, OUT!!

:: CHOMP!! ::

I am The Bugs.  Before me, there is no other.

The only thing is . . . immediately after I took that last snap . . . the Weird FeatherBall completely vanished.

Both Bugs and I — Bugs mewing inquisitively (I not mewing, no, not even a little bit) — together we searched Base Camp from top to bottom.  I even broke out the flashlight.  Nope.  We could find not the slightest trace of Ye Weird FeatherBall.  No, none.  Nevermore.

Quoth the Raven, Nevermore.

About nadbugs

Anita loves cats. This must be because she, too, has had nine lives. She’s been dancing since she could walk, she was a commercial artist and advertising producer, she earned a third-degree black belt in Aikido, she is a drummer with the Afrique Aya Dance Company, she is an attorney, and she’s a meditator and a devoted student of Nonviolent Communication. She also spent one lifetime sidelined with a devastating back injury in 1992. Since then – FELDENKRAIS METHOD® to the rescue. The FELDENKRAIS METHOD is all about dreaming concretely – thinking intelligently and independently by way of a gracious and kind physicality. The work affords all who study it a process by which to reach, with movement, into the mind and the heart, to make nine lives into one whole being.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Weird FeatherBall

  1. Rumblepurr says:

    Well, it was a cool weird featherball for as long as it lasted… just keep an eye out to see if anyone burps out any feathers, that will solve the mystery!

  2. rena1021 says:

    *giggle* It’s amazing how your cats actually show their faces in photos! My furrball usually turns away in the exact moment I try to snap a picture. Always. So, in not just that respect: wonderful post!

    • nadbugs says:

      Oh thank you. And truth now, I think my furbies would like to turn away — they’re just tired of me by now! They have given up! (Because I take 9 million pictures for every one I use.)

  3. We want one! Is it possible someone ate it? Just sayin’ Purrs to the boys.

  4. Herman says:

    Then through the silence he meowed that one word that I shall hear forever more. Nevermore.

  5. cute cute cute cute!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  6. Basil says:

    How strange that it appeared and then vanished so suddenly, looked like you had some great fun tho!

  7. CATachresis says:

    Lordy! I should check his poop for feather attachments!! So funny 🙂

  8. Marilia says:

    Oh my God… one Nelson shorthair!

  9. Dianda says:

    Barney didn’t look impressed, hahaha!
    Aah, toys go missing here too, i can search the entire place without finding it. And to find it again a few days later… Weird.

  10. methinks someone swallowed the feathery fun.. Poor Barney never got a turn! I wonder what it was, or what it was part of…

  11. Oh, the fun! Oh, what a delightful post! It even ends in mystery, keeping readers at the edge of their seats wondering what destiny might have been given to the weird featherball! Signed: Ivy, who’s sending hugs to the 3 of you in hopes that you have a magnificent Sunday.

Leave a Reply

