Will You Still Need Me?

When I’m 64?

Hang on a minute.  I am 64!  Today!  I remember when that Beatles song first came out, and me thinking — 64?  Unimaginable.  Well — I’m 64 today.  Hilarious.

Here is a picture of my African drum-teacher and me a few summers back, to give you a partial visual of what we did today : Play drums for 500 children at a local elementary school.  True!  500!  What a party!  Pawty, I guess, as we say here in blogland.

blockst-2011

So, welcome to the pawty.  So many things to celebrate.

bday13 001-crop

The boys want me to notice that the spring peepers have piped up today.

Pseudacris crucifer

We’ve heard from them here and there already this year — but today, on my birthday, is the first day they’ve been at it all day long and into the night as I write this.  Thank you, peepers.  Happy birthday to you, too.

bday13 003-crop

Bugs is feeling his oats.  Where did that evil feather go?

bday13 002-crop

Bugs levitating up the chair-back.  Where is it?

bday13 014-crop

Evil feather, subdued.  Bugs may be reflecting on what he did to my birthday present Hootie, a year or two back aways in our relationship.  Will you still feed me?

bday13 011-crop

The very thought still gives him indigestion.

bday13 009-crop

What a “tail” of woe, Ma.  I myself would never do such a thing.

bday13 015

I dine only on the gigantic fluffy pea.

Here is what the Bean will be dining on, this coming Thursday when next she goes into town.  A Bliss cupcake.  Strawberry cake topped with strawberry buttercream, both made from strawberry purée.

bliss-cupcake

Aptly named.

catrun

About nadbugs

Anita loves cats. This must be because she, too, has had nine lives. She’s been dancing since she could walk, she was a commercial artist and advertising producer, she earned a third-degree black belt in Aikido, she is a drummer with the Afrique Aya Dance Company, she is an attorney, and she’s a meditator and a devoted student of Nonviolent Communication. She also spent one lifetime sidelined with a devastating back injury in 1992. Since then – FELDENKRAIS METHOD® to the rescue. The FELDENKRAIS METHOD is all about dreaming concretely – thinking intelligently and independently by way of a gracious and kind physicality. The work affords all who study it a process by which to reach, with movement, into the mind and the heart, to make nine lives into one whole being.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Will You Still Need Me?

  1. Herman says:

    Happy Birthday my dear girl. Can you hear me right now? I’m singing a song for you! Bowie says “Meow!”

  2. Happy Birthday Anita! 64 and there’s so much more. May your day be like filled with purrs of joy!

  3. rena1021 says:

    Happy Birthday! 🙂

  4. minlit says:

    64….so if you were a cat, you’d be 9. Is that right, yes, 64 divided by 7 = 9 (and a bit, but what’s a bit between friends). In any case, in your prime. Happy birthday!

  5. Dianda says:

    Happy Birthday!! 😀

  6. looloo says:

    Happy birtday, dear Anita!

    Be happy you became 64, many people do not reach this age! And you know what one says: the best is to come! (With two gorgeous cats as yours, the contrary would be surprising! 🙂 )

  7. Basil says:

    Happy birthday!

  8. CATachresis says:

    I hope you had a wonderful day! 64 is no age … well … it IS an age! I have to confess that I will attain the big six oh later this year if I’m spared 🙂 I hooted over hootie 😀 xx

  9. Mr Puddy says:

    Happy Birthday Dear Anita
    I hope you have a pawsome 64 : )
    You Rock !
    Purrs

  10. lahgitana says:

    In the spirit of The Beatles, the only way to sing happy birthday! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ztoSUhbNntQ

    Sing along!

  11. Happy Birthday! Mommy’s 60th is next week! She can’t believe it, either. Question: am I supposed to feed her or is she supposed to feed me?
    QUINN

  12. A huge happy birthday to you. Our mommy turns 64 in two days on the 7th. We are going to do our best not to leave her any pukey presents on her day. She says, “Pisces” rule.” Purrs and hugs, Lily Olivia, Mauricio, Misty May, Giulietta, Fiona, Astrid, Lisbeth and Calista Josette

  13. Happy Birthday most dear one! I can say with much conviction that I DEFINITELY still need you!! Love the photo of you drumming…pawty on.

  14. HAPPY HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU!!! Ohhh I so know how you feel about listening to that song and thinking that was sooooooooooo old!! My husband is 63 and I am still in my 50s…….you ROCK FURIEND!!

  15. Wazeau says:

    Hope you had a fabulous birthday!

  16. Oh happy happy birthday! I hope it was/is wonderful! And that cupcake sounds like the perfect one to celebrate with, yum!

  17. FaRADaY: *deep breath*
    Haaaaaaaaaaapppy BIIIIIIIIRFDAY toooooo YOOOOOOOOOOOOOOWL!
    *deep breath*
    HAAAAAAAAPPPY BIIIIIIRF-mmmpf!

    Maxwell: *Holds paw over Faraday’s mouth*
    You’re welcome.

    Allie: We wish you the most wonderful birthday EVER! With NO screeching from Faraday.
    (*wiggles pink toenails in hello to grey tuxie brother Bugs*)

  18. Chancy the Gardener says:

    Happy Birthday!! Have a super, duper time today. Hugs, Mumsy and Chancy

  19. Rock On, Anita, Rock ON!

  20. CATachresis says:

    Thesaurus !!!!! 😀 I shall use it!! ….. and credit Nadbugs of course 🙂

  21. mbavaresco says:

    Happy Birthday ANITA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

