Birthday Box It!

We are finally normal over here.  Which will come as a surprise to those of you who know me, but I guess there is an upside to getting older after all.  I refer, of course, to boxes.  Finally the boys are acting like the rest of the cats you all write about (and in deference to the feelings of Pedro over at MaruCanKissMyFurry. . . , I will not mention Maru) –

The boys are now a boxed set.

bdaybox3-13 022-crop

Bugs takes his place.

bdaybox3-13 002-crop

Barney takes his.

bdaybox3-13 012-crop

Each one to their own — no fighting no biting.

It’s amazing to me how, when I present them with toys they would otherwise disdain, we get so much more mileage with them when the boys are in the boxes.  I wish I had captured the frenzy both boys flew into when I applied some of Kim’s homegrown KatNip to the gigantic pea and offered it to them while they were in their boxes.  Frenzy.  Just the ticket to take these rambustious boys down a tone or two.

So this is the best thing about birthdays – the boxes the gifts come in.

Well but that would actually be “best” from the cat’s point of view.  From the Bean’s point of view the gifts themselves were pretty fabulous.  Here’s one of them:

bdaybox3-13 008-crop

A Bliss flourless brownie topped with creamcheese buttercream.  Friends, I swoon even to recall it.  The buttercream was so smoothalicious I face-planted in it.  And that was before I got to the brownie.  There we had the essence of perfection – a light crispy porcelain-like crust, followed by moist dark chocaholic blast so transcendent that big pharma really should figure out how to put it in a pill.  Would give addiction a whole new name.

And this was before I came down with a monster cold, and so had to postpone my regularly scheduled birthday party with a friend who is hip to this cupcake thing and had already bought mine.  But seriously.  No way was I going to waste the experience when I can’t taste mackerel left in the sun for two hours.  Let alone expose my dear friend to this deadly germ I picked up.  From the kids last week, doubtless. No worries.  I love those birthdays that just go on and on, and we are re-scheduled for this coming Wednesday when, I declare, I shall have recovered (though still hawking and coughing as I write.  Never mind!  I have another Bliss cupcake to look forward to!)

Meanwhile . . . .

bdaybox3-13 018-crop

Spring proceeds apace.  This, unretouched and just like Ma Nature made it, is the green green grass by the side of the road.  Which the chicken just crossed, and who knows why.

And with the weather so balmy and bright, the door’s open again.

bdaybox3-13 019

What is it about cat-shoulders that just slays me every time?

catrun

About nadbugs

Anita loves cats. This must be because she, too, has had nine lives. She’s been dancing since she could walk, she was a commercial artist and advertising producer, she earned a third-degree black belt in Aikido, she is a drummer with the Afrique Aya Dance Company, she is an attorney, and she’s a meditator and a devoted student of Nonviolent Communication. She also spent one lifetime sidelined with a devastating back injury in 1992. Since then – FELDENKRAIS METHOD® to the rescue. The FELDENKRAIS METHOD is all about dreaming concretely – thinking intelligently and independently by way of a gracious and kind physicality. The work affords all who study it a process by which to reach, with movement, into the mind and the heart, to make nine lives into one whole being.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Birthday Box It!

  1. Thank-you for this ray of hope and cheer on a day when yet another blogger friend lost their cat to the bridge. A staggering record number in the past month. Purrs and headbonks to the boys.

  2. you just HAD to go and post that cupcake…didn’t you! lol

  3. lahgitana says:

    I’ll tell anyone who will listen: it’s a birthday SEASON. Yer provin’ my assertion!

    your boys are so compelling–I have to enlarge the pics and drink them in. I DID see that one lone, scraggly feather in the third pic, there in the Cat Fort o’ Fun!

    I will now go have a cookie, tho’ I’d rather have your cupcake thankyouverymuch!

  4. Sparkle says:

    We always want the same box, even when there are more than enough to go around. My human covets that brownie!

  5. Thank Cod you’re on the mend…we think you deserve an extra cupcake–healing takes lots (and LOTS) of calories, you know.

    Boxes–Sylvester pees in them so we haven’t had any of those for a while.
    *sigh*

  6. CATachresis says:

    Drooling here! Your description of the brownie was superb!! That last picture has me all squeee!! Glad you are on the mend Anita. Those bugs are difficult to swat!!!

  7. Aw, so sorry you’ve been sick, especially for your birthday! But two of those brownies, that kind of makes up for it! Love the boys double boxes!

  8. kimmo,spiveroo,stewie and smeezer(our real names have been changed to protect the guilty) says:

    Ok. I said I was cupcaked out- I lied I WANT that cupcake!!!!! And I want to wrap my arms around your boys shoulders and bury my face in their fur. Thank-you for this blog my friend……

  9. Anne d says:

    Get well quick, Bugs. Spring is here—to be enjoyed!

  10. Brian Cary says:

    Latest from Vermont Country Store: Kitty-in-a-Box!

    Date: Mon, 18 Mar 2013 18:37:21 +0000 To: roseivy7@hotmail.com

  11. Well, you did mention Maru 😉
    Purrs

  12. Dianda says:

    That cupcake looks SO delicious! Oh my god.

  13. Wazeau says:

    Happy Birthday and may you soon be able to taste that cupcake which has me wiping drool from the keyboard. The boys are looking awesome too!

  14. Pingback: Boxes Explained | catself

Leave a Reply

