Bugs Is Better

Bugs’s hot-spots are healing.  He wants you to know how much he has appreciated all your knowledgeable and kind comments.

allergy-better 010-crop

I’m feeling much better now, thank you.

The two principal agents in Bugs’s recovery appear to have been Vetericyn and cortisone cream. If you need to know right away which I recommend, it’s Vetericyn. And they have not paid me to say this.

For those of you who have urged me to try this product, many many thanks.

The cortisone cream was recommended by my vet. I didn’t like the idea and so I first made some salve from natural ingredients. The salve was delightful (it oughta have been, given the cost of the ingredients!). Unfortunately it did not work, or it may even have made Bugs’s condition worse. On the bright side, I now have a terrific hair-care product for myself – coconut oil and chapparal, excellent.

I then just caved and followed my vet’s advice. The cortisone cream helped immediately.

But then I read a post on Layla’s blog by vet Rich Goldstein. Dr. G. warns against the cortisone cream, on grounds it can cause urinary problems. I can confirm that Bugsy was drinking more water while we were using this stuff.

Dr. G. joins you who recommend Vetericyn. And so pronto I found some, not a quarter of a mile away from my house. Hooray, no shipping and I support local small-business in the bargain.

Vetericyn is touted to be benign as far as side effects are concerned, and it is supposed to have antibacterial, antiviral, and antifungal properties and, in addition, to reduce inflammation, pain, and itching. My observation is, it started working right away. And with no apparent side effects. What a relief. So let the following photo essay serve as a celebration.

For those of you who need more specifics about hot-spot treatment, see more text after the picture-fest.

allergy-better 005

allergy-better 004-crop

Cactus I planted twelve years ago.

allergy-better 002

allergy-better 003

Sunset.  In case you might think it was sunrise.

allergy-better 015-crop

allergy-better 016-crop

See the crossed paws?  Cute, yes?  (Not to mention the healing bald spot.)

Now here are more details about the hot-spots, for those who need to know.

Be Careful

Dr. G.’s post contains a laundry-list of toxic substances with which you might be tempted to treat your animal’s wounds or skin problems. Don’t! Please remember, our animals will lick up whatever we put on them.

Be Very Careful

To my horror, I got “tricked” into using a salve that had zinc oxide. Zinc oxide is on Dr. G.’s sh*t-list.

How this happened was, the salve I used at first (see earlier postturned out to be too difficult to apply to bleeding wounds. As to that salve I had done my due diligence on the ingredients – but I had a sample tester of another salve. I was using this other salve on myself and I liked it real well. Plus it was creamy and easy to apply. The tester, though, was too small to have an ingredients list. At the time I was scared and worried and I forgot to do due diligence. This is the kind of thing that can happen when we are scared and worried.

All thanks, then, to a friend who casually asked, “Do you know what’s in this?”

Thanks also to the internet, which came up with the answer I did not want to hear.

And one more thing — my vet said Zertac would be useless because the allergen pathways are different for respiratory than for dermatitis.

Plan Ahead

I recommend having a first-aid kit on hand. Next time Bugsy gets a wound and I get scared and worried, I won’t have to try to remember stuff. I’ll just grab what I already researched. Vetericyn is now in my kit.

I Like My Vet But

She was going for the steroids.

When Bugsy had his skin trouble last time, I did ask her opinion of Vetericyn. She was kind enough to look at their website, but she came back with that “not enough data to confirm or disconfirm” thing. So I let it go. Wish I hadn’t. I know better now.

After all, you and Cesar Millan and Dr. G. recommend Vetericyn.

If You Must Use The Hydrocortisone Cream

Watch out for the fancy versions with an ingredients-list that takes up the whole panel on the box. You need none of that extra stuff. Plus, lurking in the fine print could be zinc oxide or aloe vera (who knew that was possibly bad for cats!!). I went for the cheapest version, which contained only the hydrocortizone plus mineral oil and white petrolatum.

I repeat, though, steroids do not seem good to me and I really disliked seeing Bugs drink so much.

Best Advice : Early Intervention

I am sure that if I had had Vetericyn on hand, and had I applied it the moment Bugsy got his wounds, this crisis would never have blown up to the scale it did.

Let me just say amen to Dr. G.: “Once a hot spot is detected, it’s important to jump on it early so that it doesn’t progress to a painful, infected mess.” Yup. What happened over here.

And plus, I hate to keep harping on money – but this was a very expensive little frolic. Needlessly so, unfortunately. Not to mention the misery poor old Bugsy went through. He was not a happy cat, let me tell you.

He’s better now.

Yah!!

allergy-better 012

catrun

About nadbugs

Anita loves cats. This must be because she, too, has had nine lives. She’s been dancing since she could walk, she was a commercial artist and advertising producer, she earned a third-degree black belt in Aikido, she is a drummer with the Afrique Aya Dance Company, she is an attorney, and she’s a meditator and a devoted student of Nonviolent Communication. She also spent one lifetime sidelined with a devastating back injury in 1992. Since then – FELDENKRAIS METHOD® to the rescue. The FELDENKRAIS METHOD is all about dreaming concretely – thinking intelligently and independently by way of a gracious and kind physicality. The work affords all who study it a process by which to reach, with movement, into the mind and the heart, to make nine lives into one whole being.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Bugs Is Better

  1. So glad Bugs is feeling better. Thanks for the link. With a wild adventurer like our Odin, we use Vetericyn often.

  2. Sparkle says:

    I’m happy to hear that Bugs is feeling better! Thanks for much for all the info.

  3. So glad to hear Bugs is all healed up and non-itchy!

  4. I’ve never heard of vetericin, but thank you for putting it on my radar! And I’m so glad that Bugsy is feeling better.

  5. Kitties Blue says:

    Bugsy, you sure are looking good now. Mom says she’s going to get some of that Vetericyn to keep on hand. Purrs and hugs, Lily Olivia, Mauricio, Misty May, Giulietta, Fiona, Astrid, Lisbeth and Calista Josette

  6. Herman says:

    Bowie says “Meow!” We’re glad to see Bugs’s feeling better. Take care my friend.

  7. minlit says:

    Yipeeeee! Glad the bugs is back on form.

  8. Thank you for the info about Vetericyn . Maybe I won’t need to put Cody on a round of Predisonal when the next hot spot occurs? (Cody gets them every few months). Thank you! I will definitely ask the vet about it! So glad Bugs is doing well! xoxoxo

  9. Alexandra says:

    Congrats on getting better!

  10. CATachresis says:

    So glad Bugs is better! A steep learning curve for you, but we also have learnt through your trials (always so expensive!) I am so surprised Austin doesn’t get more bumps and scratches being an indoor/outdoor cat. Funnily enough, his worst bump was done indoors when he leapt off the piano knocking a sharpish object on the way which flew up into his face! You can imagine the chills that went through me!!

  11. Aw, glad Bugs is doing better. It’s no fun when our kitties have issues.. We hope it does not happen again, poor fella!

  12. crugenhaller says:

    SOSOSOSOOOO glad to know Mr. Bugs is better!!

  13. We are so happy to hear that Bugs is better. Beautiful cactus blooms!! Sweet pictures, love that kitty pile and the crossed paws. So cute!! Hugs and nose kisses

  14. lahgitana says:

    oh yaaaaaaaaay!

    thank you for sharing your hard-won and expensive experience, girl. we will keep the Vetericyn in mind for our Wandering Boy, which we wish he wouldn’t do, but there’s no way to lock him up without killing his spirit.

  15. Jobi Harris says:

    I am so happy to hear Bugs is better! Thank you for the great information. I will keep it just in case I learn of a cat who needs it.

  16. jimmie chew says:

    :0 so happy B is better!!!!!

  17. So glad to know Bugs is feeling better.

  18. Connie says:

    happy happy joy joy! Isn’t it nice when you can find something that works that doesn’t have horrid side effects! purrs to Bugs!

  19. Pingback: Bugs Expresses Himself | catself

Leave a Reply

