Lucky

arctic2 001-crop. . . and I do mean lucky.  Power’s still on, it’s 12.5 degrees F. outside, and we’re fine.  Unlike so many others less fortunate — about 30,000 lost power, I heard.

arctic2 011arctic2 014

Here’s Barney, at peace with himself in a snowy world.

arctic2 003Here’s Bugsy, characteristically perhaps not so much at peace? but beautiful still.

arctic2 008I was thinking about how our animal companions depend on us, are so much in our hands.  About how much good, or ill, our hands can do.  About how it can come down to just plain luck, whose hands are at work.  Our friend Teresa put her good Tellington Touch hands on Bugs the other day.  Lucky.

arctic3 004-cropI was thinking how lucky to see, in Nelson Mandela Madiba, what one good pair of hands can do in a crisis.

I was thinking about whose hands Barney found himself in, before he was picked up wandering around outside.  Those must have been good hands.  How could they have let him go?  I was thinking about how lucky I am, that Barney’s foster mom kept him the six months it took for me to show up.  To say to myself, that’s my boy.  There’s a cat I can learn from.

These days, now it’s so cold, he’s created this early-morning ritual.  Burrowing under the covers.  Purring loudly.

arctic1 001-cropI always thought I would never be lucky in love.

Never so glad to be so wrong.

arctic2 025-crop

catrun

About nadbugs

Anita loves cats. This must be because she, too, has had nine lives. She’s been dancing since she could walk, she was a commercial artist and advertising producer, she earned a third-degree black belt in Aikido, she is a drummer with the Afrique Aya Dance Company, she is an attorney, and she’s a meditator and a devoted student of Nonviolent Communication. She also spent one lifetime sidelined with a devastating back injury in 1992. Since then – FELDENKRAIS METHOD® to the rescue. The FELDENKRAIS METHOD is all about dreaming concretely – thinking intelligently and independently by way of a gracious and kind physicality. The work affords all who study it a process by which to reach, with movement, into the mind and the heart, to make nine lives into one whole being.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Lucky

  1. John Major says:

    I virtually never comment on blogs, but this is so beautiful. Thank you.
    John in Vancouver

  2. Glad you didn’t lose power! Yes, of course you are ALL lucky 🙂

  3. Charles Huss says:

    Great post. I feel guilty that it is 80 degrees here.

  4. 12.5??? Try -2!!!
    Blankies are us!!

  5. Counting blessings is always lucky. Barney is super sweet and lucky!

  6. Sparkle says:

    You are lucky indeed!

  7. Carolyn says:

    Glad you are still with us!! Those pictures are beautiful. I am not sure if lucky is the word, but it’s good enough! We’ve had a major storm surge over here (high tide and a conjunction of fronts). Some people lost their houses to the sea on the other side of the country! But we’re still here! x

  8. WE are lucky to have your blog to read!

  9. Kitties Blue says:

    Lisbeth agrees that burrowing under the covers is best on a cold day, and 12.5 F is really cold. That nasty weather is supposed to arrive her tomorrow morning. We hope the weather guessers are wrong. Stay snuggly and warm. We think both you and the kitties are lucky to have found each other. Purrs and hugs, Lily Olivia, Mauricio, Misty May, Giulietta, Fiona, Astrid, Lisbeth and Calista Jo

  10. Mags Corner says:

    Wow! That is one huge icicle. You are lucky for sure…stay safe warm and cozy. I enjoyed the pictures and this post. Hugs and nose kisses

  11. I’ve been told my cats were lucky to end up in my care, I’m with you that I feel I am lucky to share my life with them. Glad you’ve still got power to go with your snow and ice!

  12. Connie says:

    I hope your power continues to remain on..

  13. kimmo,spiveroo,stewie and smeezer(our real names have been changed to protect the guilty) says:

    Darling girl….tears of gratitude.

  14. Pingback: Spring Fever in January | catself

Leave a Reply

