Medical Watch

Hello friends.  Coming to you after Barney’s sutures have been removed and we have been liberated from Base Camp Tenement Prison into the rest of the house hallelujah.  We have some lingering medical issues, about which I would sure appreciate your input, but first, here are some snaps.

Well really first is, I ought to mention that the furnace quit.  I guess we haven’t had enough volatility over here.  I guess we needed a little extra dash of vulnerability.  Just in case we should get uppity.

The furnace quit on Saturday.  Of course.  Needless to say, on a weekend.

But do I complain? not on your nelly.  The good old furnace (and I mean old, it’s probably older than I am and let me tell you, that’s old) got us through the polar vortex and really come on!  I’ll take it! I figure the physical plant was entitled to rest up a little after that mess.  Especially given that post-vortex, the temps were back up to where they should be, by which I mean in the ‘50’s F.  That’s more what I’m talkin’ ‘bout.

And another gratitude needs to be that if the repairs were to have had to be done during the polar vortex, while Barney and I were imprisoned in Base Camp Tenement Prison – I digress to remind you of what life was like in Base Camp Tenement Prison –

tenement-eastside-1Well it just doesn’t bear thinking about.

So I took this series of snaps while we were waiting for Monday.  The cats kept closer than usual because it was cold, ‘50’s or no ‘50’s.

medical1 006-cropThere will be no further posting until Bugs gets his treat.

medical1 012-cropHere you can see Barney’s poodle statement.  Where they shaved him for the IV port.

medical1 016-cropHere’s Bugs at my feet.  Rarely happens like this but as I say, it was cold.

medical1 019-cropAnd here he is ditto.

Now about the medical thing, for those of you who are still with me and who might know something about this.

Barney seems to have colitis and mild stomatitis.  Inflammation in his colon and inflammation in his mouth.

For the colitis, my old vet has prescribed probiotics and more fiber and I’m glad to be thinking I’m getting some results with those plus slippery elm.  Barney’s eating better and I’ll just lightly mention I’m doing detailed poop exams and leave it at that.

But the old vet had pretty much nothing for the stomatitis.  My preferred vet, whom I’m going to consult later today, is going to look for herbs to attend to Barney’s immune system, which she thinks could use the help.  (Barney’s too young for, and doesn’t have, serious dental issues.)

Advice?  Input?  Or, to quote my friend Spiders, cocktail recipes?

catrun

About nadbugs

Anita loves cats. This must be because she, too, has had nine lives. She’s been dancing since she could walk, she was a commercial artist and advertising producer, she earned a third-degree black belt in Aikido, she is a drummer with the Afrique Aya Dance Company, she is an attorney, and she’s a meditator and a devoted student of Nonviolent Communication. She also spent one lifetime sidelined with a devastating back injury in 1992. Since then – FELDENKRAIS METHOD® to the rescue. The FELDENKRAIS METHOD is all about dreaming concretely – thinking intelligently and independently by way of a gracious and kind physicality. The work affords all who study it a process by which to reach, with movement, into the mind and the heart, to make nine lives into one whole being.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Medical Watch

  1. Kitties Blue says:

    Our furnace died in the fall of 2012, and it was ages before we could get a new one. We all snuggled close for a very long time. Do Barney’s problem have anything to do with his swallowing daBird? Mom has no advice as none of us or the angels have had these problems. Good luck with finding the right treatment. Purrs and hugs, Lily Olivia, Mauricio, Misty May, Giulietta, Fiona, Astrid, Lisbeth and Calista Jo

  2. Oh my goodness, I have been missing a lot of reading lately (and posting too but that’s besides the matter) and I completely missed Barney’s surgery! Poor fellow! Sending purrs and prayers now for a full and fast recovery from that and these other issues.

  3. I have no cocktail for this one! I’m also wondering if he’s having a reaction to medication from the surgery. Did he have poop problems before?

    We give Neko plain Greek yoghurt every day, it seems to stave off her gut-troubles. She loves it, which makes it easy. Would Barney give it a go?

  4. Sparkle says:

    Like kitties, my human is a heat seeking creature, and she would probably move into a motel until her furnace got fixed! I hope your preferred vet has some help for Barney – he deserves some relief from stomatitis, especially with his teeth still in good shape.

  5. Carolyn says:

    Stomatitis is something Austin had to be treated for. He has always had mouth problems – gingivitis etc. My vet did a procedure which I didn’t fully understand which included freezing his mouth and removing the lesions! There has been a certain amount of success doing that plus he also gave him a course of antibiotics and a couple of steroid injections! It is something he is constantly being monitored for. I take once every three months for a check up. I hope Barney gets the treatment he needs ok … and you get your furnace fixed! x

  6. Thank COD the boys had you as a purrsonal heating pad…and that the furnace decided to die after the deep freeze. No advice for the stomatitis, I hear most vets advocate extraction, but that sounds awfully extreme to me.

  7. Barney was a rescue of the streets right? It might be worth having him tested for Bartonella, common enough in cats coming off the street or shelters and it leads to life long complications if left untreated. For my (bartonella negative) former feral I got his stomatitis under control with daily Maxiguard gel treatments (zinc, vit. C and taurine with NO chlorhexadine). I say don’t get the spray, get the gel, a little dab along the gums once a day for 2 months did it for my little guy and it is perfectly safe for them to ingest unless they eat the whole bottle at once. Bonus, it is pretty inexpensive (around 13$ or so) and a bottle will last about 4 or 5 months if you keep it refrigerated. I still treat my little guy’s mouth every other day and he just has mild gingivitis now.

    While I agree it sounds like his immune system needs a helping hand no cat is too young for serious dental issues, my 3 year old just lost all of her bottom incisors and one upper as a result of an infection she had as a teeny tiny 4 week old kitten.

    Katnip- I agree! Our vets advocate full extractions as a last resort, it is a very extreme measure and should be avoided until all other options have failed.

  8. IsobelandCat says:

    Nothing like a warm cat in cold weather. Interested in your use of slippery elm. Could you expound please?

    • nadbugs says:

      A great tummy-soother. Cooked up, it makes a mucilaginous gorpy-kind of slithery stuff. Slippery, you know? Also and unlike many herbal remedies, proven safe for cats in modest doses.

      • IsobelandCat says:

        Thanks. Cat used to suffer from spectacular diarrhoea. The Cattery suspected he was intolerant of something in most catfoods, but we never established what. He thought Sensitive Control food was for some other cat, but Sophie Scott suggested arrowroot, so I used to give him that. I was never sure it worked. I shall add slippery elm to my feline pharmacy.
        I wonder now if he had a feline version of coeliac disease. The human version runs in my family.

Leave a Reply

