Stewie Is Better

Friends, I’m so happy to tell you that my friend Kim’s cat Stewie continues to improve. Vitamin B-12 seems to have done the trick, thanks to our reader Mel’s recommendation. Kim believes the B-12 has been the decisive factor (along with a little bit of raw milk).

For what’s been happening with Stewie, read here and here.

Kim tells me that since the B-12, Stewie’s got stronger and has put on much-needed weight and muscle. The neurological involvement that caused loss of control of her tail is subsiding, which means she can move around with more balance and ease. She still shows some seizure activity, but it’s quieting down now.

B-12 really does seem to be an all-around miracle. It’s reported to support adrenal function, maintain a healthy nervous system, and aid in the production of DNA, RNA, and neurotransmitters. It assists in development and maintenance of red blood cells, nerve cells, and normal myelination (production of the fatty sheaths that cover and protect nerve endings). It’s needed for proper digestion and absorption of food, metabolism of carbohydrates and fats, and to prevent anemia.  To use it in treating inflammatory bowel disease, read here and here.  For neurological conditions, read here.

So always remembering to include a consult with a vet, B-12 looks like an important tool in the treatment arsenal.

Kim began by treating Stewie with B-12 subcutaneous injections. Now she’s administering orally, using this product.  It’s flavorless, which she tells me is hard to find.

I myself have started taking B-12 too. My version is raspberry-flavored, unfortunately, but it’s over quickly.

Hearing this news, Barney can sleep more easily.

waterfall2 001-cropBugs is glad because Stewie looks like Bugs. Bugs needs all cats to be happy and well.

waterfall3 004-cropEspecially cats who look like him.

catrun

About nadbugs

Anita loves cats. This must be because she, too, has had nine lives. She’s been dancing since she could walk, she was a commercial artist and advertising producer, she earned a third-degree black belt in Aikido, she is a drummer with the Afrique Aya Dance Company, she is an attorney, and she’s a meditator and a devoted student of Nonviolent Communication. She also spent one lifetime sidelined with a devastating back injury in 1992. Since then – FELDENKRAIS METHOD® to the rescue. The FELDENKRAIS METHOD is all about dreaming concretely – thinking intelligently and independently by way of a gracious and kind physicality. The work affords all who study it a process by which to reach, with movement, into the mind and the heart, to make nine lives into one whole being.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Stewie Is Better

  1. Awesome news. I grew up with a mom swore by vit. B12 shots.

  2. Sparkle says:

    I am so glad to hear that Stewie is doing better!

  3. Brilliant news! Sounds like I could use that B too.

  4. Your kitty (such a beautiful kitty!) reminds Mommy of Angel brandi.
    😉

  5. Connie says:

    I’m so glad that worked for them!

  6. Basil says:

    Brilliant news!!

  7. kimmo,spiveroo,stewie and smeezer(our real names have been changed to protect the guilty) says:

    harhar and yay!

  8. Anne d says:

    My cat, Buckwheat, was sick and diagnosed with feline leukemia and was given only a few weeks to live, but as a last resort, the vet gave him a shot of Cortisone and B12. He rallied and I continued the injections every 3 weeks. He lived 3 more years comfortably.

    My mother in her late 80’s was always cold, kept the heaters on way high . We started her on monthly B12 shots and this improved big time.

    About 40 years ago before anti-viral drugs, the treatment for shingles was 9 days of B12 injections.

    Good stuff.

  9. Carolyn says:

    That is such good news!! I have to take B12 for a neuroimmune condition and I think it is sadly underused, as people (at least in the UK) are not routinely tested for vitamin B deficiency and so many are well below optimum levels – also in Vit D3!

    Re the divorce/remarriage thing. Hmmm! I dunno! It would be nice to start reconciliation talks, but now Scotland wants to divorce. I am starting to take it personally!! 😉

  10. How do you do? I am pleased to meet you. I saw your superb comment at Austin’s blog in the UK. I echo your sentiment!

  11. Cats & Co says:

    I know I missed out on a lot (I’m reading up on everything!) but I’m glad he’s doing ok. 🙂

Leave a Reply

