Anniversary / Gratitude Edition

The other day a message popped up from WordPress notifying me that it was four years ago when I registered this blog.

Four years??

That would be enough to graduate from college!

This means, then, that Bugsy came home five years ago over the Thanksgiving holiday.

thx-again2 001-cropBugs

Now, five years later, it’s simply impossible to imagine life without him.

When he first came here, a friend remarked that he had “thug energy.”

Now he’s just a sweetie. This morning when he required my attention, all he did was – well, I don’t quite know how to describe what he did. It was *like* he bit my arm – but he did it in slow motion, with infinite care.

Doesn’t mean I would tolerate that behavior and I “invited” him off the table in no uncertain terms. But what a difference between now and then. I’m of course referring to the “claw-launch” maneuver of former years.

I would also like you to admire these current pictures of peace and harmony between Bugs and brother Barney.

thx2 004-crop

thx1 005-crop

But much as I would enjoy luxuriating in this selective propagandizing, I must tell you, in the interests of transparency, that these pictures are far from the whole story. Lately I have had to mediate more knock-down-drag-out skirmishes than I care to mention.

Actually I don’t care. They are cat-boys and they will do their cat-boy thing. Though fur has flown, no blood has been drawn and no flight Under The Bed by either party has been resorted-to. So they are good cat-boys. I treat the fights as them signalling that I need to be playing with them more, to blow off steam, and so we play at that point and no harm done.

Maybe it’s the change in temperature.

thx3 001

In any case, I love them both dearly.  I am a very, very thankful cat mom.

thx4 002Whoops, there they go, at it again.  Must dash.

catrun

About nadbugs

Anita loves cats. This must be because she, too, has had nine lives. She’s been dancing since she could walk, she was a commercial artist and advertising producer, she earned a third-degree black belt in Aikido, she is a drummer with the Afrique Aya Dance Company, she is an attorney, and she’s a meditator and a devoted student of Nonviolent Communication. She also spent one lifetime sidelined with a devastating back injury in 1992. Since then – FELDENKRAIS METHOD® to the rescue. The FELDENKRAIS METHOD is all about dreaming concretely – thinking intelligently and independently by way of a gracious and kind physicality. The work affords all who study it a process by which to reach, with movement, into the mind and the heart, to make nine lives into one whole being.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Anniversary / Gratitude Edition

  1. Herman says:

    Here’s to another 4 years and more… Mr. Bowie says “Meow!”

  2. Oldcat says:

    Happy Anniversary, Anita! Looks like Bugs has learned a little along the way.

  3. Summer says:

    Happy blogoversary! Binga beats up on Boodie a lot (though I near not as much as she used to before I came to live here). Boodie complains and sometimes even hisses when it gets too rough, but they are pals again moments later. Binga has always been a little wild, and has play aggression.

  4. Mags Corner says:

    Happy Anniversary!! What sweet pictures of your sweeties. Boys will be boys we say and sometimes those tussles just have to be. Hugs and nose kisses

  5. Four years? Four years! Excellent.

    The cooler weather has my gang friskier than normal, too.

  6. Karen Lucas says:

    Have missed seeing your boys; my kitties Jenny and Whiskers just adored each other and slept together and groomed each other and literally every day, they would finish a grooming session and the fighting would begin and would last about 15 minutes and they would talk and chase and hiss and tire themselves out and then would curl up and go to sleep — all play and never hurt each other and this started when they were just kittens and lasted until they died. Congratulations on 4 years!

  7. kimmo,spiveroo,stewie and smeezer(our real names have been changed to protect the guilty) says:

    And I am thankful for the whole family!!!

  8. Happy Blogaversary! The Boys are as cute as ever. So good to see them cuddling!

  9. ConCats on the anniversary 🙂 The human doesn’t like it that me and my buddy Tigger do some intense mutual grooming which involves teeth, claws and loud caterwauls! *sigh*

  10. Concatulations on 4 years! That’s older than I am! I think all boys fight, but I am a special kitty. An only kitty. So it is not as fun to fight with yourself!

  11. Four years? That’s wonderful! Concatulations!

  12. kittiesblue says:

    All of these photos seem to prove that they are indeed good boys. As much as we don’t like snow, that is a beautiful photo. XOCK, Lily Olivia, Mauricio, Misty May, Giulietta, Fiona, Astrid, Lisbeth and Calista Jo

  13. Pingback: Six Years Now | catself

Leave a Reply

