March Forth!

Nobody should ever forget my birthday. It’s today, March 4th. So if the memory-aide “March Forth!” sounds a little like something a Roman legion commander might bawl at the grunts to get them moving, I can’t help that. March 4th it is.

And also today is about as far away from marching forth as I’d ever care to get. At time of writing, the MidSouth is becoming inundated with freezing water, moving into black ice, sleet, and eventually snow. That’s all she wrote as far as marching forth goes anywhere today.  The cupcake with my good friend Pattie will have to wait.

bliss-cupcake

And as far as the martial flavor goes, I’m extremely pleased to tell you that’s not happening either. Barney greeted me this morning with his customary cuddle under the covers, but with birthday value-added.

arctic1 001-crop

He grabbed my arm in both paws and licked my hand. No claws. Purring all the while.

I was flooded with happiness. I wondered: What if that current looped both ways? What if my happiness fed into Barney’s happiness? And round and round? Wouldn’t that be an incentive to stay happy! I want happy cats!

I think this might be more than a “what if.”

I wonder. If those people whose idea of happiness these days is killing others, in increasingly bizarre and horrible ways, were to experience my kind of happiness, maybe they’d stop?

In that moment with Barney, I was sure of it.

Bugs’s version of “happy birthday” today was: “Where’s my breakfast!” Never mind. I love Bugs too.

mat2 047-crop

 Birthday present in a box.

catrun

About nadbugs

Anita loves cats. This must be because she, too, has had nine lives. She’s been dancing since she could walk, she was a commercial artist and advertising producer, she earned a third-degree black belt in Aikido, she is a drummer with the Afrique Aya Dance Company, she is an attorney, and she’s a meditator and a devoted student of Nonviolent Communication. She also spent one lifetime sidelined with a devastating back injury in 1992. Since then – FELDENKRAIS METHOD® to the rescue. The FELDENKRAIS METHOD is all about dreaming concretely – thinking intelligently and independently by way of a gracious and kind physicality. The work affords all who study it a process by which to reach, with movement, into the mind and the heart, to make nine lives into one whole being.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to March Forth!

  1. Karen Lucas says:

    Happy Birthday and love those kitties and I agree that love could solve all the problems

  2. Marcy Benham says:

    Happy, happy birthday to you, dearest Anita! Sounds like you’re having a fab day so far, thanks to your boys! Love is the best gift of all and IS, in my humble opinion, on a feedback loop so the more we give, the more we receive. May it flow freely both ways for you! XOXO

  3. Herman says:

    Hey Hey Hey…!!! Happy Birthday, my dear friend! Can I offer you an espresso and dark chocolate?
    Mr. Bowie says “Meow!”

  4. Connie says:

    well happiest of birthdays! 🙂

  5. Mumsy's Little Chancy Man says:

    Happy, Happy Birthday! What a sweet Barney to give you such a precious BD gift. Big BD hugs and give the sweeties nose kisses for us.

  6. Summer says:

    I think your kitties have the right ideas about birthdays and happiness! Happy kitty birthday to you!

  7. ♫♫♪ Happy Birthday to you!! ♪♫ That Barney knows how to suck up!! Aww! Just kidding! Have a great day 🙂

  8. kimmo,spiveroo,stewie and smeezer(our real names have been changed to protect the guilty) says:

    We enjoyed our “bat-a-rat” filled with treats TWICE to celebrate our Aunt Anita’s birthday!!! xxx Boo Boo, Stew Stew and Meemzer kitty.

  9. kimmo,spiveroo,stewie and smeezer(our real names have been changed to protect the guilty) says:

    ice in the tree limbs
    slick ice beneath your bare feet
    march forth on one hand

  10. Belated happy birthday! May you have kitty cuddles every day this year 🙂

  11. Marilia says:

    Happy Belated Birthday!

  12. Wazeau says:

    Hope you had a wonderful birthday despite the freezing cold outside… can’t be that bad when your heart is warm 🙂

  13. I LOVE HOW YOU AND BARNEY LOVE EACH OTHER! HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY BARNEY, I”M WISHING YOU MANY, MANY MORE. HANG IN THERE, BUGS, IT’LL BE YOUR TURN NEXT. LUCKY CATS!

Leave a Reply

