Two Steps Forward . . . .

. . . one step back.

The “forward” part is that I am enjoying the cats even more (if that were possible) than before I noticed Bugsy’s urinary problem. This much I know for sure. Otherwise, like most things with the cats, all bets are off.

Our homeopathic vet describes Bugs as having a heart of gold. Bugsy is a hard worker. Super-accountable. He feels personally responsible for closely supervising OutTV at all times. Also, the vet points out, Bugs is an emotional boy. I wrote about this recently. (And re-reading the post I linked to from two years ago, I note with deep regret that as long ago as that, Bugs was showing signs that all may not have been well in the urinary department.)

The homeo vet made much of Bugs having lost his voice when Fang died.

Now, after time has gone by in which an increased dose of the vet’s remedy has worked, Bugs seems to have grown back into himself. He’s feisty, energetic, playful, and just generally present. A “blue” vibe to him, which I thought I picked up in the past, seems to have gone away.

With this changed perspective, my love and respect for Bugs has grown greatly (as if that were possible).

bigger5 012-crop

Thank you.  It’s nice to be appreciated.

More “forward”: I have started doing hands-on FELDENKRAIS® work with horses. I cannot tell you how exciting this is for me. I’m planning a separate blog-post on this, but for now let me just say that the horses seem to enjoy the work and I am in heaven. I have adored horses ever since little girls are supposed to and I have never grown out of it. For me to connect with such magnificent beings in this exquisitely intimate way is a lifelong dream answered.

So the success with the horses has given me confidence to lay hands on the cats too. I have not thought of doing this since we ended work with a Tellington Touch practitioner in May 2014.

I have found the cats are harder to work with than the horses. I’ve had to use some clicker- and treat-training to get them to sit still enough. But it’s working! It’s so exciting to see how quickly they learn to stay within hands-reach. And how, with the FELDENKRAIS work, they become so soft and buttery.

Oh lord, I think to myself, what a wonderful world. Brought to you by Louis Armstrong, through Keb’ Mo’.

bigger1 001

Bugs upside-down asleep.

The “one step back,” though, is that Bugs’s urine still shows positive for white blood cells and he is still spraying.

The vet explained he had originally thought the spraying was likely a behavioral expression of Bugsy’s super-responsible character. There are new cats in the neighborhood and Bugs probably felt it necessary to defend the house from those nefarious characters.

bigger2 003

Menaced like this, you might spray too!

But the vet says the persistence of the symptoms, despite Bugsy showing improvement overall in his emotional state, means it’s time for another remedy more-specifically targeted to the spray situation.

We shall see.

Otherwise, the great good news is that Bugs is peeing well in the box and there is no sign of crystals or blood. The vet said with that picture, blockage is a non-issue.

bigger3 001-crop

Family portrait.

Here’s a funny thing. Sometimes Bugs sprays right in front of me. Sometimes, though, he does it when I’m not in the room. I know something’s up when I find Barney near Bugsy’s favorite spray-spots doing that shoveling thing that cats do in the litter box. That’s Barney. Also a very responsible cat. Cleaning up.

bigger4 001-crop

Somebody’s got to do it around here.

catrun

About nadbugs

Anita loves cats. This must be because she, too, has had nine lives. She’s been dancing since she could walk, she was a commercial artist and advertising producer, she earned a third-degree black belt in Aikido, she is a drummer with the Afrique Aya Dance Company, she is an attorney, and she’s a meditator and a devoted student of Nonviolent Communication. She also spent one lifetime sidelined with a devastating back injury in 1992. Since then – FELDENKRAIS METHOD® to the rescue. The FELDENKRAIS METHOD is all about dreaming concretely – thinking intelligently and independently by way of a gracious and kind physicality. The work affords all who study it a process by which to reach, with movement, into the mind and the heart, to make nine lives into one whole being.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Two Steps Forward . . . .

  1. Herman says:

    Hang in there, my friends. I’m sure things will work out. Mr. Bowie says “Meow!”

  2. Carolyn says:

    At least it’s going in the right direction 😀 good luck with the horses. I was horse mad as a kid, but living in the suburbs I didn’t get to ride much!! xx

  3. Anne Daigle says:

    Two very responsible cats!! Love it!!

  4. Summer says:

    I’m glad Bugs is doing better – I hope you solve the spray issue! I’m also really interested in hearing more about your FELDENKRAIS work – it sounds fascinating!

  5. Pingback: New Year’s Medical Edition | catself

Leave a Reply

