Necessity is (a) Mother . . .

. . . of a challenge these days.  This is not all a bad thing.

catio-box 001

Thanks to the surgery, this is how I’m sleeping these nights. With my bruised and battered foot under a box. Necessity demanded that I invent this solution. My now-screwed-together foot is just wrapped, not in a cast. My blood ran cold picturing what would happen if Bugs, in one of his nocturnal frenzies, leaped onto my uncasted foot. Hence the box.

Good thing, too. Last night Bugs, in one of his nocturnal frenzies, leaped onto, but for the box, what would have been my foot. Thank you, Necessity.

Thanks to Bugs’ recent escape, Necessity further impressed on my landlord that another layer of doors should be interposed between Bugs and the great outdoors. I can’t show you the new Catio in all its glory, because my arms and back can only take the bare necessities of pegging around on crutches, and this does not include fighting my way out the front door and down two steps unless absolutely essential.

So here is what the new Catio looks like from the inside.

catio1 001-cropBugs ponders the extra barrier.

catio1 002-cropBarney wonders what all the fuss is about.

catio-barnes 001Decides it’s really not all that interesting.

catio-bugs 001Bugs follows suit.

In other wildlife news apart from Mr. Packrat’s recent visit, one night rains caused this:

catio-frog 001

Probably a Fowler’s toad, like last time.

And this is not news, but I am still so proud of this —

milkweed2 001My wonderful swamp milkweed plant.

It was like Grand Central Station this summer. I could not believe the numbers of fauna this little flora supported. This is a native species that has been decimated by habitat loss. I really understood the seriousness of the situation, when I noted with amazement the swarms of insects and pollinators who materialized on the property to enjoy these fragrantly generous blossoms.

Including stressed and threatened Monarch butterflies. This is a Monarch caterpillar.

milkweed 001Loss of the milkweed plant is specifically identified as one of the principal threats to these amazing creatures.  At one point I had four or five Monarch caterpillars on the plant. They totally devoured every scrap of leaf and bud. And welcome to it.

But as I said, this is no longer news. It is now cold enough for this:

catio-mashup 001Cat Mash-up.

Except when Bugsy does this.

catio-bugsnose 001

Solo.catrun

About nadbugs

Anita loves cats. This must be because she, too, has had nine lives. She’s been dancing since she could walk, she was a commercial artist and advertising producer, she earned a third-degree black belt in Aikido, she is a drummer with the Afrique Aya Dance Company, she is an attorney, and she’s a meditator and a devoted student of Nonviolent Communication. She also spent one lifetime sidelined with a devastating back injury in 1992. Since then – FELDENKRAIS METHOD® to the rescue. The FELDENKRAIS METHOD is all about dreaming concretely – thinking intelligently and independently by way of a gracious and kind physicality. The work affords all who study it a process by which to reach, with movement, into the mind and the heart, to make nine lives into one whole being.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Necessity is (a) Mother . . .

  1. Herman says:

    The new Catio looks beautiful. Wishing you a quick recovery! Mr. Bowie says “Meow!”

  2. Summer says:

    I wish we had a catio like yours! I think that box idea was pretty smart for a human!

  3. The catio looks super! And obviously much needed. I hope you are not indisposed for too much longer! It sounds very frustrating!! But at least you have flora and fauna to entertain you! 🙂

  4. Deziz World says:

    Meow a catio and a landlord dat be good wiff all dat. You awe blest. And good fur you and da box. Weez ouched and can’t even see it. And weez not wanna eever, so weez glad fur da box. MOL Have a gweat day.

    Luv ya’

    Dezi and Lexi

  5. Connie says:

    clever.. but I toss and turn so much in my sleep I’m sure I would have knocked that off two minutes into being asleep.. (and I love the catio)

  6. Anne Daigle says:

    Love the catio. I have milkweed planted as an ornamental, but I do not think it is the right kind. The only time I saw caterpillars on it was right before a freeze. I picked them off , put them and some leaves in a jar. No joy–the cold lasted too long for them. I wish my two would snuggle like Bugs and Barney.

  7. Pingback: Six Years Now | catself

  8. Pingback: The Catio | catself

Leave a Reply

