Six Years Now

Every Thanksgiving I thank my lucky stars.  It’s been six years, over the Thanksgiving weekend, that Bugsy gamboled into my life and changed it forever.

thanksgiving 001-cropBugs looks back.

Five years ago I started this blog. (It only took me one year to start.)

thanksgiving 002-cropBarney wonders what was the hold-up?

Four years ago I noticed that Thanksgiving tends to be a time of remembrance for loss, as well as for gain.

thanksgiving 004-cropNever mind that, where’s my treat?

Three years ago I noticed that Thanksgiving tends to be a time of thanksgiving. I like what I wrote back then:  Bugsy “makes me feel love wash through me like I was transparent.”  Still true, if not more so.

Two years ago I failed to notice the anniversary altogether. The bar exam must have stunned all sense out of me.

Last year’s post I wrote amidst snow and the boys fighting.

thanksgiving 006Boys not fighting.

And this year, six years since Bugsy’s arrival, I am starting to put my injured foot down and to wean myself off the crutches. Remember me sleeping with a box over my uncast broken foot, scared to death that Bugs would jump on it? Recently I put the box away, feeling confident enough without it.

This morning Bugs was pissy that I hadn’t yet got around to making his breakfast – by 5:30 a.m. He jumped on my injured foot.

I rejoice to report that I was fine. Scared and freaked out – but fine.

Things are looking up.

catrun

About nadbugs

Anita loves cats. This must be because she, too, has had nine lives. She’s been dancing since she could walk, she was a commercial artist and advertising producer, she earned a third-degree black belt in Aikido, she is a drummer with the Afrique Aya Dance Company, she is an attorney, and she’s a meditator and a devoted student of Nonviolent Communication. She also spent one lifetime sidelined with a devastating back injury in 1992. Since then – FELDENKRAIS METHOD® to the rescue. The FELDENKRAIS METHOD is all about dreaming concretely – thinking intelligently and independently by way of a gracious and kind physicality. The work affords all who study it a process by which to reach, with movement, into the mind and the heart, to make nine lives into one whole being.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Six Years Now

  1. Deziz World says:

    Glad you be okay. And weez glad da boys awe not fightin’. It’s always nice when everypawdy gets along. A very happy and blest Gotchaday to Bugsy and you.

    Luv ya’

    Dezi and Lexi

  2. Happy to hear things are looking up!

  3. Karen Lucas says:

    OMG, right on your foot? So very glad that all is well

  4. Summer says:

    It’s been quite a ride the past six years, hasn’t it? I’m glad you are okay!

  5. kimmo,spiveroo,stewie and smeezer(our real names have been changed to protect the guilty) says:

    Bugs you little devil….waiting until the cast/ foot was clear!!!! That’s why we love you.
    So so glad your foot is ok. Maybe that was the test!
    xxoo from us all

  6. Connie says:

    Happy gotcha day, happy blogoversary, and happy thanksgiving

  7. Happy everything! MOL I am glad your foot is healing and the boys get along …… mostly!!

  8. Happy belated Catsgivng 🙂 Good to hear you are on the mend.

Leave a Reply

