Help Please For Maximus

Excellent readers, my dear friend’s cat Maximus has just been diagnosed with anemia and feline leukemia. Can anybody help?

Here’s Max around two years ago, at six months.

max2max-pine2Here is what I wrote about him then.

Here’s what my friend writes:

“I took Max to our vet and had a complete blood panel and found out he has anemia and feline leukemia. There were suggested and expensive interventions available that would make him feel better awhile. However, I brought him home to die where he’s happy rather than hooked up to expensive interventions that won’t save his life anyway. It’s sad and a hard decision but that’s what I can afford to do and seems most humane ultimately. He’s a great guy and I’ll truly miss him. If someone knows of a herbal sedative/pain reliever for cats that would be nice. For the most part he sits around very peacefully. I coax him to eat a few bites of food every few hours. However he does have pain at times and yowls in a most frightening manner. Your concern is appreciated.”

Any ideas, please?

catrun

 

About nadbugs

Anita loves cats. This must be because she, too, has had nine lives. She’s been dancing since she could walk, she was a commercial artist and advertising producer, she earned a third-degree black belt in Aikido, she is a drummer with the Afrique Aya Dance Company, she is an attorney, and she’s a meditator and a devoted student of Nonviolent Communication. She also spent one lifetime sidelined with a devastating back injury in 1992. Since then – FELDENKRAIS METHOD® to the rescue. The FELDENKRAIS METHOD is all about dreaming concretely – thinking intelligently and independently by way of a gracious and kind physicality. The work affords all who study it a process by which to reach, with movement, into the mind and the heart, to make nine lives into one whole being.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Help Please For Maximus

  1. dezizworld says:

    OMC Meez so sowwy. Meez wishes me knew sumfin’ tu help. Meez will purray.

    Luv ya’

    Dezi

  2. I don’t have any either but I do have prayers and positive wishes that I can send. I am sure there are others with more knowledge that might be able to help xoxo

  3. Sparkle says:

    How sad. 😦 We don’t know of any herbal pain relievers for us kitties. She can’t get anything from the vet? If he is not curable, I don’t really see why a regular pain reliever would be any worse than something herbal.

  4. Anne Daigle says:

    As I posted the other day, the vet gave my cat , Buckwheat, an injection of 1/4 cc B12 and 1/4 cc Cortisone. when he was sick with the FLV diagnosis. He rallied. I continued the injections once every three weeks for 3 years. He was comfortable until i noticed that he seemed out of sorts ( after 3 years). At that time we put him to sleep. But he looked good during the 3 years, ate , played outside and had a good life.

  5. kittiesblue says:

    Wish we knew what to do for Maximus. What a beautiful and probably very sweet kitty. We will do what we do best…purr, and Mom will pray. We have found there are miracle healing powers in both of those things. Have a terrific weekend. XO, Lily Olivia, Mauricio, Misty May, Giulietta, Fiona, Astrid, Lisbeth and Calista Jo

  6. Oh I am so sorry. I wish I knew something that would help. I am sorry to say I don’t. Our hearts go out

  7. Oh that’s terrible. Is it not possible to get a low dose painkiller from the vet? If help is need to afford this whee are sure there are people out there on the blogosphere who would be happy to donate

    Nacho, Noah, Buddy & Basil
    xxxx

  8. kimmo,spiveroo,stewie and smeezer(our real names have been changed to protect the guilty) says:

    He could try homeopathy.

  9. Connie says:

    since you are looking at end of life issues, and you have decided against treatment, then I kindly suggest you look at end of life options. There are no good pain management options for cats.. there are some, but they are short term only. Anemia is very hard on the body because it reduces the number of red blood cells carrying oxygen to the body to help is survive.

    please, have another conversation with your vet about this, and discuss humane options.. for either end of life care, or end of life options..

  10. Annie Barrett, with inside cats Baby, Panda, Squirt, Bell, & Max, outside cats Bitty, Fancy, Puddin, & Misti says:

    So sorry for your ultimate loss, earlier this year My older golden had went down rapidly, unsuspecting I took him to our vet, whom after 30 yrs of practice, told me it was probably a tumor, I didn’t want to see him suffer but didn’t want to end his life prematurely, she said some can be removed with little difficulty, Surgery that afternoon showed a large cancerous growth in his stomach wall, not wanting to see my friend suffer, I had her put him down while he was under.
    Out of love, you will know when it is time to let your friend go. May God ease his pain and yours.

  11. I came across this interview the other day on everything you need to know about feline anemia… http://www.blogtalkradio.com/askthecatdoctor/2013/10/11/ask-the-cat-doctor-about-feline-anemia

Leave a comment