The Bean Bugs Has, Is Not The Bean Bugs Wants

Hello beans all, readers of this blog.  Cat Bugs here.  I write to correct a recent misperception.

I know the Bean over here is very proud of her little wall-devices.  She and friends installed these to help meet my climbing needs.

I’m touched — but, frankly, these are attempts merely.  Yesterday I was reminded of why they are adequate but not sufficient.

Bean put the new drum-head in to soak.

I pondered the goat-aroma.

The potent perfume gradually worked its way through the first cranial nerve into my temporal lobe.  It came back to me in a flash:  My ancestral days on the savannah, hunting for wildebeest.

It was a natural hop from that, to mountain-climbing.

How so, you ask?  Where are Alps in West Africa?

You probably don’t know, then, of the Bandiagara Escarpment.  I said Bandiagara.  That’s in Mali.

The Bean over here knows about Bandiagara.  She’s been there.  She even helped produce a video about it.

If you’re short for time, start the first clip at the three-minute-mark.  Then, if you just begin the second clip, you can see what Bean’s lame excuse for climbing the Bandiagara amounts to.  This climb almost killed her.  So you can see why, then, hard as she may try, she’s just not bean enough for me.

I guess the Bean must have missed the connection between the Bandiagara and me.  I guess she hadn’t met me at that point.

So I got on-line to show her.

Beans all, look what I found.  Just look at this vid.  This vid shows what climbing is all about.  The bean in this vid really gets what cats need, in the climbing department.  Notice:  This bean does not use crampons.  You may recall that I discussed and discarded crampons, a while back.

The bean in this video?  This is The One.  The one I have?  Come on.  I am The Bugs.  This bean here is the bean for me.

Caution, Vertigo Advisory:  Watch the following video only when you are very, very internally quiet and calm.  OK.  Are you that way?  Are you sure?  Be on the safe side.  Take an extra-deep breath.  Ready?  Now watch the video at this link.  This is the bean that I, The Bugs, want.

About nadbugs

Anita loves cats. This must be because she, too, has had nine lives. She’s been dancing since she could walk, she was a commercial artist and advertising producer, she earned a third-degree black belt in Aikido, she is a drummer with the Afrique Aya Dance Company, she is an attorney, and she’s a meditator and a devoted student of Nonviolent Communication. She also spent one lifetime sidelined with a devastating back injury in 1992. Since then – FELDENKRAIS METHOD® to the rescue. The FELDENKRAIS METHOD is all about dreaming concretely – thinking intelligently and independently by way of a gracious and kind physicality. The work affords all who study it a process by which to reach, with movement, into the mind and the heart, to make nine lives into one whole being.
This entry was posted in Things Cats, Humans Do and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The Bean Bugs Has, Is Not The Bean Bugs Wants

  1. Eleanor says:

    To the Bean: It’s you speaking on the video? It seems strange to hear your voice. I’d kind of given you a voice in my head and it was completely different. The video is wonderful to watch, such culture! There is a lot of African culture here too of course. I’d love to make a video like that.

    To the Bugs: Good to see you there helping to repair the drum. And re. the climbing: remember Bugsy Boy, we beans only have 2 legs!

    • nadbugs says:

      Eleanor, make that video! I’d love to see it. And — as for some beans having only 2 legs — well, the way the bean in the climbing video uses her two arms, I’m not sure that only 2 legs really applies to her. I think that’s why Bugs loves her. And not me. >>Sob.<<

  2. Bugs. you need an entire wall covered in bark, installed at a VERY extreme angle…my Cats complain about having one, too.

  3. Or rather, they complain about NOT having one.

  4. nadbugs says:

    Honey, it looks to me like your gang would complain no matter what. I mean, come on. How could things be better than the catio? The kiddie-pool? Really! I think the thing is, with the cat imagination — it’s infinitely expandable. We can never do enough.

  5. OK Cats says:

    Bugs, you crack us up! We think that you’ve got a pretty sweet deal going on – a nice warm (or cool) safe home, endless foods, stuff to jump on – all cats should have it so rough! And your mom/human tries WAY harder to please you than ours does. We’re too easy on her. Perhaps that needs to change….

  6. Oldcat says:

    Bugs, buddy, you have it all backwards. If you were with that climber, you would be at the bottom watching her climb all the time instead of getting you food and treats.

    With this one, you can climb and she can admire your skill, and dispense the treats. Its all part of the great circle of life.

  7. nadbugs says:

    You may have a point there, Oldcat. I’ve been told before I’m impulsive that way. Good looks and climbing ability, and I’m pretty much putty in their hands.

  8. Bugs,
    I gotta agree with Oldcat here. Sure, we love extreme climbing and OH LORD how we hunger for those wildebeest! But — we also love those meals served on time, and the treats, and the cheerleading when we get any chance to show off our prowess. And we no longer have to endure parasites, larger predators and other non-fun creatures interfering with our ability to sleep whenever we dern-well-please. And, hey, if it makes you feel any better, your bean is soooo much cooler than mine! Ugh!

    Keep the posts coming, man. Love your perspective.

    JhaJha

    • nadbugs says:

      JhaJha, I think our beans like each other more than we like them. We will have to keep our perspective to ourselves. Not bring them into the picture. They’d only mess it up. For sure.

  9. MelanieJ says:

    Ooo, mine don’t want me going off to climb and do adventurous things. They want me on the couch or maybe even lying quietly in bed, thank you very much, because they don’t trust me to Do Things Right. I might hurt myself, and then who would feed them?

    Love the shot of him looking at the screen. Cats and tech. They go together surprisingly well.

    • nadbugs says:

      Yes. Beans cannot be trusted. As Bugs just wrote in the comment above. And I’m so glad you agree that picture of him is hilarious. He really does look like he’s going: Hmm. No, not that link. I don’t think so. No, not that one either. Honestly. I probably ought to try Goodsearch. Google is from hunger.

  10. Pingback: Bugs Considers Another Bean; Bean Likewise Vice Verse | catself

  11. Pingback: Trainers Blog » Blog Archive » Catself – Featured Blogger

Leave a comment