Up To His Old Tricks

What with the cooler weather and all —

Bugs is feeling his oats.

I was in the other room when I heard him squalling more passionately than usual.  I rushed in, to find him launched three-quarters of the way up the door, scrabbling for purchase with his poor clipped claws.  To make it safely back to the floor, he had to do a half-gainer with double twist.  So I took pity on him and put Nelson’s Column closer.

Here’s a shot to put this in context. 

Note that Nelson’s Column is about knob-high.

From thence, our Bugs made short work of hopping up.  Yes, to the top of the door.  Yes, he’s done this once or twice before.  Even without Nelson’s Column.  When his claws truly were talons of terror.

Hmm.  Kind of forgot — it is a mighty long way down there.

You do realize I’m doing this without a safety-net . . . .

I want you to build me a second floor and I want you to do it now.

About nadbugs

Anita loves cats. This must be because she, too, has had nine lives. She’s been dancing since she could walk, she was a commercial artist and advertising producer, she earned a third-degree black belt in Aikido, she is a drummer with the Afrique Aya Dance Company, she is an attorney, and she’s a meditator and a devoted student of Nonviolent Communication. She also spent one lifetime sidelined with a devastating back injury in 1992. Since then – FELDENKRAIS METHOD® to the rescue. The FELDENKRAIS METHOD is all about dreaming concretely – thinking intelligently and independently by way of a gracious and kind physicality. The work affords all who study it a process by which to reach, with movement, into the mind and the heart, to make nine lives into one whole being.
This entry was posted in Pictures, Things Cats, Humans Do, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Up To His Old Tricks

  1. MelanieJ says:

    Bugs does like his door perch, doesn’t he? And such a reproachful look, that you haven’t built him a second floor yet! (typed while Miss C is glaring at me balefully and swishing her tail. What did I do? Couldn’t tell you.)

  2. typist for JhaJha, the Petite Panther says:

    Great shots! Very thoughtful of you to put Nelson’s knob-high column conveniently closer. Bugs must be challenged without those talons of terror.
    JhaJha of course had to try leaping atop doors after seeing Bugs’ first attempt a while back. He is a great motivator and instigator and role model over here.

  3. littlemiao says:

    Oh, whoa! I bet that’s the highest spot in the house. Kitties always manage to find the highest place in the house, if they are so inclined. Perhaps Bugs can help you draft plans for the second floor. It goes without question that you will build it for him in time for the holidays. 😉 I especially love the last photo, with his amazing whiskers and bright beautiful eyes. I like seeing him from this angle. He is a handsome cat.

    I still can’t picture him jumping down.

    • nadbugs says:

      It sure is the highest spot, LM, you got that right! And Bugs is in fact the forepawson on the construction project. I shudder to think what will happen if when I get the specs wrong. Anti-home-improvement gal that I am. Say LM, if you think Bugs is handsome, that’s praise indeed, coming from you the artiste with the GORGEOUS miaoling shots. As for him jumping down, he extends his paw and kind of walks his way down one leg-length and then jumps the rest of the way. I encourage him to hit ground on the folded futon right under that last pic, for a soft landing. See a shot of the extended-paw thing at the “once or twice” link in the post.

  4. I’m a fan of bifold doors, myself – they’re comfy for naps… It’s great that you’re getting another floor, Bugs. You should think about having some bifolds installed up there.

  5. My Bengal has a door he loves. He jumps from the arm of the couch, about a foot lower than the doorknob. Of course he’s full grown and a pretty big boy. I think he likes that door best because the way down from the door is an easy leap to the middle of the couch, about 7 feet but a soft landing.

  6. Wazeau says:

    Awesome balancing act! My cats wouldn’t know it was possible to get on top of a door – mine are only open long enough for me to get in or out of them! Sass and Neko have to remain content with the cat towers.

  7. That’s quite a feat to get up there!! I think he needs a high perch, like I saw on My Cat From Hell. Apparently some cats are tree dwellers and like to be up high. At least that’s what Jackson Galaxy says, MOL.

  8. Bugs, your human should put some perches on the back of the door so you can scoot on up any old time. Tell her we said so!

    • nadbugs says:

      Great idea, Lounger. Unfortunately (a) there’s no space back there (this cabin is tiny) and (b) I called in every favor in the land to get my friend’s hubby to install the shelves in the Bugs’s living room. If I had my way, I’d have a Catio and that San Diego house combined. But Bugs must make do with this humble hovel cabin instead. Poor Bugs.

  9. minlit says:

    That is such a face. He has been here before!

    • minlit says:

      further to above! Our neighbour refers to Mojo as ‘the social worker’ – her theory is that he spends time where ever he is needed. Think that’s true of a lot of cats. They straddle multiple planes.
      But not helicopters.

      • nadbugs says:

        So true. I have the feeling they’re beings from another planet. (Hey. Notice how there’s only one letter’s difference between “planes” and “planet”? No more need be said.)

  10. Eleanor says:

    That last photo has just become my favourite cat picture of all time! The angle, the expression…everything…Love it!

    • nadbugs says:

      Oh Eleanor. Reeeelly? Even more than your pictures? Golly!

      • Eleanor says:

        Oh, I get most of my nice ones while they’re sleeping (as you’ve probably noticed). I have lots of time to play around getting the angle and light right. It’s much more of an accomplishment (in my humble opinion) to get such a brilliant ‘action shot’. I feel like I can really see Bugs’ personality in that look – and those are some impressive whiskers, too!

  11. wordsfallfrommyeyes says:

    Very very obviously savoured moments 🙂 I love your pages. I don’t know how some people do little animations on their pages though – very clever – like that cat running. Great page!

  12. orientallily001 says:

    My, you do like way up high places, don’t you? Bet you can see almost the entire world from up there, huh? purrs
    Nerissa from Nerissa’s Life

  13. Pingback: Trainers Blog » Blog Archive » Catself – Featured Blogger

Leave a comment