For Gus

It is with a very heavy heart that I hear a feline friend is now ill and perhaps nearing the end of his long life. Admire Gus, here.

Note the heart-shaped mark, with his paws placed just so.

Ever since I first set eyes on Gus, I felt a strong affinity for him. It didn’t matter that he lives in Southern California and that I’ve never actually met him. The draw was real. I felt it back in August 2011. I found a post I wrote back then. At that time I thought I could relate to Gus so strongly because — like me with my own species but not, in my case, due to my tail — Gus had problems communicating with other cats because his tail was messed up. Read about it here.

His guardian is very knowledgeable about cats. He explained about Gus, here:

“The straight up tail is a definite sign of peace among cats – it’s like a handshake. In effect, Gus is responding to a outstretched hand with his hand inside his coat on a suspicious bulge. No wonder the other cats react badly, and that Gus gets twitchy from everyone reacting badly to him.”

Who could know that one year later, in August 2012, I would meet my Barney?

I think Barney and Gus look a lot alike. I think there’s something a bit eerie about this.

I know I am extremely sad.

Here’s Barney, trying to cheer me up.

gus1 002-cropBe happy, Ma.  This is how you do it.

gus1 003-cropIs your belly this floofy?  I thought not.

gus1 011-cropAh.  The Wand.

gus1 014-cropNow I must sleep.

Barney and Gus. Our boys, whom we love.

Coda: Just before I published this, I checked Gus’s blog one more time. He is gone.

In this most touching tribute, his human writes this:

“He even fought through his issues in cat communication with the kittens these last few months. They understood him very well and always treated him with respect due his age but never any fear. I think that made him happy.”

I think that makes me happy, too. Happy — as much as possible.

catrun

About nadbugs

Anita loves cats. This must be because she, too, has had nine lives. She’s been dancing since she could walk, she was a commercial artist and advertising producer, she earned a third-degree black belt in Aikido, she is a drummer with the Afrique Aya Dance Company, she is an attorney, and she’s a meditator and a devoted student of Nonviolent Communication. She also spent one lifetime sidelined with a devastating back injury in 1992. Since then – FELDENKRAIS METHOD® to the rescue. The FELDENKRAIS METHOD is all about dreaming concretely – thinking intelligently and independently by way of a gracious and kind physicality. The work affords all who study it a process by which to reach, with movement, into the mind and the heart, to make nine lives into one whole being.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to For Gus

  1. Herman says:

    A great tribute! Thank you, my friend.

  2. dezizworld says:

    Dat is vewy sweet and Barney is vewy handsum.

    Luv and Hugs and Kitty Kisses 😀

    Dezi

  3. Lovely tribute. Fly free dear Gus. We can feel so deeply for our online friends with two or four legs.

  4. Basil says:

    What a lovely tribute. Sending a hug!!

  5. claudiacas1 says:

    Wow, Gus was indeed a beautiful cat. Barney so wise to comfort you…the light in the tunnel

  6. Connie says:

    so very sad when a journey comes to an end. Fly free dear Gus

  7. What a beautiful touching post to a well deserved friend. We didn’t know Gus but we sure wish we had. ♥

  8. What a bootiful cat and a furry sad loss. There will be one more star in the sky tonight and he will shine brightly with the love of all those who remember him.

    Nacho, Noah, Buddy & Basil
    xxxx

  9. Oldcat says:

    Thank you for the tribute to Gus, Anita. But the real tribute is that you found your own Gus and are giving him a wonderful life with you.

  10. Cats & Co says:

    I know I’m super late. But I’m so sorry to hear about Gus, Anita. 😦

Leave a Reply

