Figures Lie, Liars Figure

On a cat-calendar page for December 17, 2010, let a pin-up of Bugs stand for the winsome calico Matilda, of London, England:

The text underneath Matilda Eye-Candy says this:

“In late 2008, the economic crisis prompted U.S. consumers to scale back on holiday spending.  In one survey, 43% of the sample planned to spend less on their friends, while only 23% said they would skimp on gifts for their pets.”

So without one more word to crack wise from me, I wonder what those figures bring up for you.  As Mike Myers would say, in his “Coo-aw-fee Too-wauk”-with-Linda-Richman character: “I’ll give you a taw-pic.  Too-wawk amongst yih-selves.”

While you’re discussing, here’s a commercial break for the weather report.

I snapped this yesterday when it was 28 f., humidity 90%.  You can see the flag flapping in the breeze.

Those figures don’t lie.  They say:

catrun

Friends marched in the Fayetteville Mardi Gras parade.

Not me.  I was:  Huddled at home with Bugs.

OK.  We’re back.  Here’s what came up for me, when I first contemplated Matilda Eye-Candy plus figures:

I was “fih-klempt.”

Look it up, under “farklempt,” here.

“Like buh-duh,” I thoo-awt.  Then I re-thoo-awt.

Maybe the amount of money you spend isn’t the point.  (You probably didn’t hear that here first.)  I have in mind birthday presents I got this year from friends.

I’d have to guess at what they spent.  But there’s no guessing about the value proportional to the amount of my appreciation.  These gifts came with a story.  The story spoke to the joy of what we mean to each other – in other words, to the preciousness of our connection.  These gifts are soul-candy.  Need I add, then, that the amount of money spent was irrelevant to their value.

Friendship between humans contemplates this kind of understanding.

But when it comes to Bugs, if I were to cut back on what, say, I was feeding him, I do believe he would mind.

Mind?  I’m guessing he’d starve to death, rather than tolerate that kind of insult.

So what was the pin-up’s point, again, about the money-spent-on-human-friends-as-opposed-to-“pets”?  I think I can say, without demeaning Bugs’s Bugness in any way, that the ability of human-friends to understand the symbolism of things is a little more sophisticated than his.

Another thing.  The study’s sample is suspect.  Did it include people who “own” “pets” but who wouldn’t even think of giving them holiday gifts?

I’m just saying.


Bugs loves this homemade gift.  He mauls it to every inch of its being.

He will not even look at this expensive store-bought gift.

Trust Bugs to instruct on traditional values.

Note to self:  You really must be getting old.  Have you forgotten the ordeal that was the Cat-Toy Yard Sale?

Self to Note:  One word:  PTSD.

Note to Baffled Readers: Go here.

Thank you to Stephan Pollard for the Mardi Gras pics.  That boy knows a good time when he sees it!

About nadbugs

Anita loves cats. This must be because she, too, has had nine lives. She’s been dancing since she could walk, she was a commercial artist and advertising producer, she earned a third-degree black belt in Aikido, she is a drummer with the Afrique Aya Dance Company, she is an attorney, and she’s a meditator and a devoted student of Nonviolent Communication. She also spent one lifetime sidelined with a devastating back injury in 1992. Since then – FELDENKRAIS METHOD® to the rescue. The FELDENKRAIS METHOD is all about dreaming concretely – thinking intelligently and independently by way of a gracious and kind physicality. The work affords all who study it a process by which to reach, with movement, into the mind and the heart, to make nine lives into one whole being.
This entry was posted in Empathy, Philosophy-Psychology, Things Cats, Humans Do, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Figures Lie, Liars Figure

  1. Christine Haller says:

    Soul-candy…want it…need it. Deep, dark chocolate type…not cotton candy.

    Here’s to you, you Godiva-candy lady, and friend. Yum, yum.

  2. lifewith4cats says:

    I enjoyed the commercial break. you crack me up.
    Thats a cute looking homeade owl. I love it. His eyes look like pinapple slices.
    Did you give him a name? Mc Linty pinapple maybe?
    or, Hoot fluzz cake eater?
    Has buggs got interested in hootie? I bet bugs would love to give hootie a big hug with his back claws.

    • nadbugs says:

      BUSTED AGAIN, 4Cats. The friend who gave Hootie to me suggested that I keep it away from Bugs. I may have promised her I’d do that.

      I just couldn’t pull it off. And of course it would take you, 4Cats, who know this life so well, to know better. As you intuited, as you knew — heck, maybe you caused this, I could blame you for this, there’s a creative idea — Bugs was all over Hootie from the moment I brought him in the door.

      I do think a picture of the gory result might well have to be included in my next post. Even though it might cause some distress in the friend who gave me Hootie. Something about begging forgiveness when friends don’t do what they promise. . . .

  3. lifewith4cats says:

    There has been more than one occasion, that my mom will buy or give me a gift and I exclaim, “ooh little-girl will Love this!” I think my mom gets fire cracker angry but doesnt tell me so. Like the sheepskin rug she got from a specialty sheepskin-only store. It’s Littlegirls.
    hhmm It just now occurs, Maybe thats why she buys my hubby a lot more stuff than me? But hey, my mom is a fan of ‘frilly’ and so are cats…. not me.

    Poor Poor eviscerated Hootie. I can’t wait for next post.

  4. anniecat1 says:

    That’s a really beautiful (well, handsome) picture of Bugs!

    I occasionally buy expensive gifts for the animals. The cats ignore their toys unless it’s 3 in the morning and they can manage to wake me out of my slumber by being obnoxious with the toys, and Argos destroys his, sometimes in an afternoon. I always swear never again…

    They’re much happier with the boxes and wrapping paper from gifts given (or received from) friends!

    That being said, my friends and I tend to swap gifts more of the “soul candy” variety that you speak of. I’d far rather have something that is meaningful to my relationship with that person than something pricy. I’d actually be fairly uncomfortable if someone presented me with an expensive gift.

  5. Pingback: All Things Must Pass | catself

Leave a Reply

