To Those Hit Harder

To all of us who are safe and well, I dedicate this post.  I offer up my totally manageable, totally bearable, totally slight brush with the recent terrible weather disasters.  I hope we all appreciate our well-being – and that we may connect, with empathy, with others who have been utterly devastated.

I stow things I want to keep, and don’t have the space for at home, in small storage unit.  Yesterday I took a look at the damage done by the floods.

Keep in mind the manager of the facility.  He and his wife live on the site.  They’re sure they saved their wedding dress of forty years ago, because it was sealed in a plastic tub.  They are pretty sure they lost everything else.  They’re so busy helping the rest of us, though, they don’t know for sure yet.

They moved here from Biloxi, after being wiped out by Katrina.  They had flood coverage there. Which the insurance company denied them.  Because the damage wasn’t caused by a flood.  It was caused by a tidal wave.

Keep in mind that in this storm here, the manager and his wife were barely evacuated in time.  They had to wade through waist-deep water to safety.

Keep in mind that the small bridge over the small creek, on the approach-road to the facility, was knocked eight inches off its moorings.  City crews worked 24 hours to repair it.

It rained yesterday.  It’s raining again today.  Harder.

I had the brilliant idea – if I say so myself – to use every available car as a drying unit.

It worked great.

Except I could not save these.  Wartime letters from my father to his family.

Here is Bugs, very wary of my grandmother’s shawl.  It weighed one ton soaking wet.  To be frank, it stank.

I don’t know how Bugs’s sensitive sniffer could stand it – But here he is, up close and personal.

Right after I took that snap, I banished the mess to the Hell Room.

Like I said.  Raining again.  Please refer to earlier pics.  Same old.

About nadbugs

Anita loves cats. This must be because she, too, has had nine lives. She’s been dancing since she could walk, she was a commercial artist and advertising producer, she earned a third-degree black belt in Aikido, she is a drummer with the Afrique Aya Dance Company, she is an attorney, and she’s a meditator and a devoted student of Nonviolent Communication. She also spent one lifetime sidelined with a devastating back injury in 1992. Since then – FELDENKRAIS METHOD® to the rescue. The FELDENKRAIS METHOD is all about dreaming concretely – thinking intelligently and independently by way of a gracious and kind physicality. The work affords all who study it a process by which to reach, with movement, into the mind and the heart, to make nine lives into one whole being.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to To Those Hit Harder

  1. Good God. Rain and tornadoes. One of my co-worker’s Mom lives in Tuscaloosa…this weather is incredible.
    Keep safe!

  2. Wazeau says:

    Keep safe please, and hopefully dry.

  3. Dakota says:

    so glad you are safe….my heart breaks for those less fortunate. I am deeply sorry about your Father’s letters….

    I pray for the rain ending soon for all of you!

    BTW this is Caren from Cat Chat…u may not recognize me with my Sheltie in the photo

    • nadbugs says:

      Keep praying, dear Caren. Last I heard it was supposed to end two days from today — and possibly rain again this coming Saturday. When we have an outdoor event. When it’s usually so hot we broil. Things out of joint.

      My dad’s letters were a loss, thank you very much for your condolences. Just a taste of what this kind of thing is like.

      Figured out the Sheltie was Dakota was YOU. x0x0x0!

  4. melody says:

    Im so sorry for what you are going through. I pray the rain will stop. This morning I went to church here in pleasant grove, alabama. It was to say the least very emotional. But on the happy side there were very few people with injuries. Those of us at church this morning really are truely Blessed. God is Good!!!!

    Bugs you are as cute as ever. We just love visiting you. I love the close up pics of your cute little nose.

    • nadbugs says:

      Friends, I left a long comment on Melody’s blog. Click on her name to see what she and her community went through. It’s utterly chilling. You’d have no idea, given Melody’s low-key tone here.

  5. Im glad the most important things didnt wash away. You and Bugs. ditto what Dakota said.

  6. Catsparella says:

    I’m so sorry to hear all of this news..I hope that you and Bugs are able to stay safe and dry, and wish this horrible weather around the country would just end. Enough, Mother Nature!

    p.s. Thank you for stopping by to wish my Charlie a happy birthday!

    • nadbugs says:

      Yes. So true, as to the “enough.” And it was a pleasure dropping by your place, as always. We keep our spirits up enjoying each other, don’t we.

  7. Dawn says:

    Blessings to all! Having been through a flood and a hurricane, I know how hard it can be to let go of things from our past that we have treasured. But we get to keep the memories and the love always. I am thankful that you and your loved ones are safe.

  8. nadbugs says:

    Dawn, your words comfort me. The older I get, the truer this seems. But — now that so much is digital — ????

  9. Pingback: The Next Big Thing | catself

  10. Pingback: How Much Is Enough? | catself

  11. Pingback: Snow In July | catself

Leave a comment